We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Latte Around!”
Review of Original Coffee & Tea House - CLOSED

Original Coffee & Tea House
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Favorite old local spot where friends come to meet and strangers become friends.Relaxing atmosphere, tucked just off Duval Street.Get in & out quickly on your way to the beach, or stay and relax with the regulars. American Coffee, Espresso, Cuban Coffees, Fresh Baked Goods, Fresh Fruit Smoothies (no mixes here), Fresh Bagels and Pastries, Ices Teas,Iced Coffee with Coffee Ice Cubes, Sandwiches.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Latte Around!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Just a half block off Duval, on Southard, "Bean" took care of us when we stopped in on a break from walking around, to have a nice cup of joe & read a little. My husband enjoyed a mug of the French roast & I had a decaf soy latte. She offered an extra shot when the soy ran out, & I gotta say, it was one fabulous cup of coffee! Probably would have been even w/o the extra shot. Since I have become a bit of a decaf person, I am usually wary of my decaf lattes tasting watery, but such was pleasantly not the case. Planning to return most definitely, & will probably purchase a bag of beans for the trip home. Thanks, Bean, great work!

Helpful?
Thank carinigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had coffee here EVERYDAY during our stay in KW”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Awesome and authentic local coffee shop just off Duval on Southard. We came here everyday of our week long vacation in KW. Great iced brew really hits the spot in the afternoon! Staff is very helpful and sweet too.....thanks Michael and Heather for your advice on places to visit and restaurants too. We didn't go to Starbucks at all our entire trip -- this place is soooooo much better!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Firegrrlmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Life is good. Pasteries and coffee”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I enjoy going to the Coffee and Tea House. They have one or two fresh baked pasteries each day. Owner and staff frendly. Nice place to hang out. Air conditioned- try having a coffee in KW during these hot times without air condition.

This coffee shop is only about 50 feet off of Duval.

They have had to move a few times during the last two or three years. Their current location is the best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delectable Coffee and Pastries”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stopped by after searching for a decent coffeehouse in the Duval Street area. Found it here - local atmosphere (no other tourists that I could see, but a local cop and some moms hanging out with their kids); really decent drip coffee (mine had fruity overtones and didn't need milk or sugar); and, at the recommendation of other reviewers, the homemade coffee cake (moist, good portion size, paired well with the coffee).

This is very much a local business right off the main drag; I would urge those looking for coffee, pastries (and ice cream), and a very "Key West" atmosphere to patronize this business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quiet spot just off Duval”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice oasis just a half block from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. Friendly attentive service, and good coffee too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Coffee & Tea House also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing