We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel- Key West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #47 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Well the shower is so small I couldnt shave my legs, the room was very small also. The air conditioner is very loud, but it does cut out noise a bit. But, there is practically no parking. Three or four spaces for the hotel, otherwise you park on the street, where there are no spaces. No we just left our car parked the whole time and rode our bikes or walked. The morning breakfast bar was decent, but thepeople who stayed there were not friendly. There was only one area by the pool that got any sun, and one couple occupied it the whole time. Although, it wasnt a terrible experience, we would not stay again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misfit60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    208
    112
    41
    29
See reviews for
114
237
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Old Town Key West is full of very expensive, premium guesthouses that want both arms and a leg for sleeping. Fortunately there is The Palms. The Palms is a well priced downtown hotel with a beautiful pool, decent continental breakfast and safe, clean rooms. To be sure, parking is tight though I don't know why people need a car when The Palms will rent you a bike for the best Key West travel mode! The staff is kind and understanding. There is a variety of room types including, I believe, mini suite/kitchenette. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Around the pool might be a little loud on weekends or holidays - unless of course you are in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waldokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

this is by far the worst experience i have ever had in a 'hotel'

the place needs shutting down, in the kindest word possible. A family of 4 stayed here over the new year period of 2013! we paid £300 pounds a night- and for that money you expect a half decent accommodation.

outside looks like a cute little boutique hotel- what a difference it is on the inside. on the first day we was early for check in yet busting for the loo- the receptionist kindly pointed us towards a community one in the hotel- you walk through the kitchen (which is disgusting) i'm talking yellow fridges that were once white but the grease and the rust have taken it's tole. the smell is indescribable. - like something had died in there is all i could say.

the staff on the upside were lovely, very helpful and pointed out all local attractions for us!

the room is beyond basic. im talking two beds, and a broken tv! the bathroom- well i guess it was cleaned, but with a dirty mop as it smelt stale!

this isn't me being a snob, as i stay in basic hotels all the time for quick stays- this just isn't expectable for the money paid. we spent the whole of our first day trying to check into ANYWHERE else, but over the new year period as expected was completely booked up!!!

breakfast was nice, toast, bagels, fruit, that sort of thing! what gave me pleasure was knowing they was pre-brough as they came straight out of a packet (meaning they didn't toch anything in that filthy kitchen)

if you can stomach a very basic hotel that with a lot of updating would probably be a little gem as its not far from anything- 10 minutes walk max! but if you have a normal standard then find some where else!

Room Tip: any room that is not on this complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLOUDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmskw, General Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Wow! We are sorry to hear that the common kitchen had such a bad affect on your stay. The kitchen is not used for preparing breakfast, but is a feature available for our guests during office hours. Regrettably, even though we do ask guests to clean up after they have used the facilities... many times it is needed to be cleaned by a staff member. I'm not sure how early you stopped by, but sounds like it was before we were able to clean up after the previous evening's use and I can see how it would appear to someone just checking in that it was an employee instead of a guest that left it in such a state. For that, we absolutely apologize. We hope that if you return to Key West that you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have stayed here several times & every time the rooms are always very clean & the breakfast by the pool is light but, very tasty. Not in the middle of all the action, so nice place to relax. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Will come back to The Palms again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, La
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We travel to Key West at least yearly and typically stay at the same water front condo. However, we had flight arrangements so that we needed a place to stay for the first night. We wanted lodging in walking distance to the KW Seafood Festival in Bayview Park. The Palms was 3 blocks away and sounded perfect from their website- which is misleading to say the least. Problem #1: no parking. We were finally able to find street parking but we had no idea it was going to be such a hassle. Problem #2: the shower was a 2'x2' box with no water pressure. I could not get the shampoo out of my hair, nor the soap off my body. We joked that possibly guests were to jump in the small swimming pool to rinse off. The drains also did not drain. We called the front desk and a Hispanic woman came, only to tell us "it was fine, no problem"!!! Problem #3: the rooms are extremely small and quite dated. On the positive side- the bed was comfortable and the room quiet. But The Palms certainly is not worth $300+ a night for a tiny room and even smaller non functioning bathroom. We were glad we only spent one night there.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a bathroom that has a "normal" size shower. Unless you are a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandMPonchatoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmskw, General Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Traveling to Key West during season does provide sticker shock compared to other cities around Florida...... not counting Miami Beach of course. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your short stay with us. While we are priced in the $2-300's this time of year as most smaller guesthouse hotel hybrids are. Other larger same and higher star hotels in the downtown area are in the $4-600's. As listed on our website, we are a historic property (Victorian dated) in a residential neighborhood and do our best to explain to guests what the parking situation is like. All of the guest units have had furniture, bed and bedding (now white triple sheeting without a top comforter), Flat screen TV's and other upgrades in the past 7 years. The water pressure in general in Key West is not the best. Our water source comes from Lake Okeechobee (400 miles away). The change in pressure from the mainland to Key West is drastically different. I am glad to hear that upon the guests concern regarding the water in the shower that the front desk agent came to the room to inspect to ensure that it wasn't an equipment issue with the shower head, but do apologize that it was an issue that is out of our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed in Key West for two nights. It was our first time there, so we did not know what to expect. We heard a lot about loud nights of partying down by Duval Street, so we wanted to avoid that. The Palms was quiet and cozy. The rooms are small but adequate for what you pay. We stayed in Europe, so when we heard the bath room was small, we were expecting "small". My husband is tall and he found the bathroom to be acceptable. The breakfast is the typical continental breakfast - the fruit was fresh and good. For us the stay was pleasant. The thing that we found odd were the room doors. The bottom is a frosted glass so all night you see the lights from the pool area through the glass. Other than that, the room was fine.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor at the back of the hotel. No noise at all back there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel itself is what other people have said; cozy, breezy, Key- Westy. The rooms are all painted coastal colors and have classy, beachy furnishings. That said, the pictures and information presented about the hotel and its rooms are misleading at best. We paid a considerable sum for what was called a "five- bedroom" hotel and we browsed photos that suggested a bottom level and a top level. Upon arriving, we find that there are actually NO discrete rooms, no lower level (just a foyer with stairs to the upper level) and the upper level was attic-style and had ceilings so sharply declined, if you're taller than 5 feet, you only have a few square feet to move around in if you don't want to knock your head against the ceiling. Consequently, lots of unlivable space unless you like to crawl. (There is a lot of photo trickery going on on their website) When we contacted management, they claimed it was open-layout and that what they advertised was "room to sleep five people." STILL NOPE. There was literally ONE full bed and three couches. They weren't even all pull-out couches! We were traveling with family and this was clearly a problem, so when we go to the office to see if we can actually get a five-person bungalow, they said there weren't any availabilities and then proceeded to act like they were doing us a huge favor by offering us a non-adjacent two bedroom room for 15% off to accommodate us. We took this offer because the other one was an arrangement with a bathroom that we would be sharing with other guests. I thought this was a hotel, not a hostel.

Breakfast is free from 8-11, which is a time frame more generous than a lot of places and it was like continental plus. Bagels, english muffins, and toasters with the standard continental fare. Other amenities, however, leave a lot to be desired. There were only two towels in our bathroom but the kicker really is that the bathroom didn't even have a door. Just a translucent sliding panel that doesn't even completely shut. The hotel is advertised as having free WiFi, but it doesn't work unless you are near a window (or outside) near the modem. I didn't get WiFi on the upper level of the room (read: the only livable level of our hotel room) and when I called the front desk they told me to try three of their other networks. When I told them none of them were working, not even the one supposedly closest to me (We stayed in room 20, which is near the pool and the corresponding "PalmsPool2" network), the staff responded that internet was working in the office and that I should try again. They hung up, and when I tried called back I got a message all operators were busy.

The reason this is two stars and not one: the location. It's convenient and with the bikes they rent, hopefully you won't need to spend any time in the windowless (oh did I mention all the light from the windows is obstructed by huge AC units, even in January?) rooms.

TL;DR - I'm sure some guests have had success with this hotel but we were mislead about crucial aspects of our reservation - the number of beds, wifi connectivity, and the size of our room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pywacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmskw, General Manager at The Palms Hotel- Key West, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
The guests that made this booking did so through a 3rd party reservation center 6 weeks prior to arrival.
Nowhere in the listing on our website:
(Bi-Level Attic Suite (max 5 people). Kitchen Downstairs. Bathroom, Bedroom, Living Room Upstairs. Queen Bed and 2 Futons. Limited Headroom)
nor in the confirmation that was sent:
(Suite 20 Bi-Level Attic Suite- Queen bed, Twin futon/ twin sofa, Queen futon) describes the unit as 5 bedroom. I assure the readers that the pictures shown on our website were done with a normal not fisheye or other camera lense. I do wonder though in the reading of the review if the reader confused our room with another property that they may have been looking at with the reservation service and perhaps the wrong unit and property was chosen to begin with.

Inattentive staff concern:
The guest was shown around the property to the 2 units that were available for the duration of her stay as she advised me that she wanted to "add on" to what she already had for guests arriving 2 days later in her stay and that some members of her party were not happy with the suite. We were close to capacity and had limited options.
Gave the guests access to the 2nd room 3 hours prior to check-in time.
WiFi- generally works very well property wide as we have 4 points for guests to attach to, but as we advised the guest Comcast (our service provider) was having issues for a few days.
She need to add a night as her flight was canceled. I offered her other room options since I was aware that she was not thrilled with her suite, but she decided to stay and was given a substantial discount.
A/C in the windows in January.. yes absolutely! There may be a few weeks that they are not used, but that is why guests come here in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#18 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Property: The Palms Hotel- Key West
Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing