We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eventful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An eventful stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first impression of the Palms was positive, an attractive colonial style home with plenty of character. I parked illegally and asked the guy in reception where he might suggest I park. He told me to leave it where it was in a No Unauthorised Parking bay which I did. He assured me it would be fine, and it was. So far so good. We checked in and Philip, one of the managers mentioned that the room we had booked was quite small. "So give us a larger one", I suggested but was told that there were none available. So up to the 2nd floor and yes, the room was small but bearable. It was clean with a window a/c. The bathroom was also small but functional. We were at the front of the building and enoyed sitting on the porch with a cold beer just watching the activites below. The pool was great but soon filled up with a bunch of about a dozen college folks who started on working their way through their suitcases of beer. Things got a bit boisterous but it was harmless fun. We were pleased NOT to have a poolside room as we expected it would be noisy later. And it was, but not as we expected....... We returned to our room early evening, the room adjacent had a connecting door and it was clear the couple in there were at it like crazy things. We had to endure every last scream and gasp. But this is Key West and we were there for some fun too so we walked to Duvall and partied until midnight ( we had a long drive down) and returned to the Palms. The bed must have had a few three hundred pounders in it before us and it sagged badly in the middle. Also the a/c was right next to my ear so earplugs to the rescue, I thought. About three a.m. the dynamic duo next door decided to have a raging row, so bad that the police were called and, credit to the hotel management, they were finally slung out. Peace at last even though it was 5 a.m. by now. Breakfast by the pool was enjoyable and the conversation focussed on the night's events as others had been affected by the screaming and shouting. I spoke to the manager after breakfast about the disturbing racket. She was most apologetic and gave us a partial refund for the inconvenience. The following night there was another disturbance in the office area which was only mildly disturbing in comparison. The hotel management dealt with these issues as best they could and we were sympathetic to the challenges they faced with dysfunctional guests. We would definitely go back to the Palms, if only for the entertainment!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    223
    121
    41
    33
See reviews for
136
250
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are going to stay there... Don't, whatever you do, let them put you in the "suite". I wasn't expecting a super luxurious place, and I did book at the last minute so I probably deserved what I got. But the suite feels like its situated in grand central station. Everyone has to pass your room on one of three sides to get to their own room. If they wish to avoid negative reviews, they would do better to never book that room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyslorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Palms the second week of May. Quaint B&B in a quiet residential area. We were there for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The pool was clean and inviting. The room was clean and spacious, for us, and the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We use bicycles to travel around town the three days we were there and had a great time, even when we got lost a couple of times. The locals were very helpful to get us back on course. It is a older home but maintained very well. My wife and I do not like to stay at "Cookie Cutter" hotels. We like to experience the local flare and the Palms was great. Thanks to all the staff for providing a great experience for our first trip to Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front rooms by White Street and had no problems with street noise, after bic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingDuo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the absolute best stay. Beautiful old Victorian with charm in quiet area close walk or bike ride to Duvall or anywhere in oldtown. Philip became a new friend. All the staff were wonderful. Love this place. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ddsmithstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit on a girls trip this year. We Live in Fort Lauderdale, The Palms was a great place for us to getaway at a reasonable price in key west. We were even able to bring our dog! Staff was very accommodating, gave a nice break on our stay for being a repeat guest. Hotel offers bike rentals that we used everyday. Everything is so close.
If you are looking for a high end hotel, this isn't the place. But if you want a layed back key west getaway that has some character stay here! Also, there are a ton of good restaurants that deliver to the hotel. We booked the room with a full kitchen, so it was great to stay in some days to eat. The hotel also sets up a nice continental breakfast every morning by the pool.
FYI- there is a bikhram yoga studio and a Pilates studio a block away. As well as a liquor store. All 2 min walk.

Peace, Love & Sandy Feet!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We planned our vacation last minute so were not surprised at having a challenge finding a place. We got one of the only "suite rooms" this place offers. It is a small bedroom with also a room made into a living/ kitchenette. Extreme need of an update, old bedding and furniture. They advertise a queen bed but it was definitely a full size only. No central air but the window units worked well even though it was hard to sleep with how loud they were.

The shower was a very small standup and we are not large people. all the hooks In the bathroom were broken, the small vanity paint was peeling off.

They do allow pets so good for that. Suggest you rent bikes to get around since it is quite a walk and hard to find parking otherwise.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharelaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this the day of travel and could not have been happier with the decision. The Palms Hotel in Key West is perfect for seeing Key West. Not too expensive and not too close to the craziness of Duval Street (but walkable in ~15 minutes). There's a pool for those hot and humid afternoons or sultry nights. And the breakfast (poolside!) is perfect (bagels & pastries, coffee, toaster, hard boiled eggs, fruit, and juice). And my favorite part? The front porch. Perfect for sitting and watching the world go by. Parking is on the street out front or in back--and may not be enough spaces for the number of rooms. This caused me a little angst as I did not want to move the car once I got a spot. But again, this hotel is close enough to walk most anywhere around Duval St, the sunset side of the Key and the 90 miles to Cuba "buoy" within 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Authors Key West Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Property: The Palms Hotel- Key West
Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing