We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Key West Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
Ranked #45 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to Key West and a stay at this hotel. The hotel is really cute, in a decent location. We stayed in a room with a double bed and private bathroom. The room itself it pretty small, but that didn't bother us as we were only in the room to sleep and change clothing. It was decorated really cute - definitely a tropical atmosphere! Our room exited to the front porch with a little sitting area outside of our door which was a really nice touch! We ended up meeting our next door hotel mates from Boston who were excellent! We miss you, Margaritas! The pool at the hotel is small but warm and a nice place to cool off after a long day of walking around. (Boy, is it hot down there!) The breakfast is also served at the pool area and exceeded my expectations. The only suggestion I could make about the hotel is to have music playing by the pool. That would definitely add a really nice, tropical touch to that area! We were able to rent bikes at the front office for $12/day and that's definitely the best way to get around the island. It seemed like most of the hotel guests rented bikes out. It's the easiest way to get to Duval Street - it took us about 5 minutes on bike and 20 minutes walking. There are more than enough bike racks to lock your bike up on Duval Street. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Typical Key West stile, in quiet area, and still in walking distance to the harbour and city center.
Clean and comfortable rooms, and the gallery-balcon, made a kind of connection between all guests.
Great idea with the common kitchen and BBQ - we had our own BBQ one evening, which was a perfect alternative to just another restaurant.
The breakfast was fine, and served at the poolside.
We would also like to recommend the Italian restaurant Vito's Piazza just a few bloks away - great pizza's, live music and a great alternative to the more crowded and turistic area at Duval Street and harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annraab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Palms Hotel was very clean. The staff was informative and friendly. Our room was clean and neat. The breakfast at the tiki bar was delicious. Fresh fruit and coffee along with muffins bagels and more. Great tropical atmosphere can't beat that. Excellently priced good service. We really enjoyed our stay. We will stay here again. Thanks for a great vacations y'all! The Tymas.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is two old style wooden houses converted to a hotel. It is a slightly higgeldy piggeldy arrangement of varous rooms, they are not very big, but are clean and quaint. It has a nice pool area and provides a very good breakfast choice, which is complimentary. It is quite easy to get to Duval Street and Mallory Square, bit of a walk but not too far. Dan who was on duty during our stay was very helpful, and also sorted out a problem we had with our lighting very swiftly. Parking is a slight problem, but parking can usually be found in one of the streets opposite the hotel, which is free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel was just as advertised very historic atmosphere with modern updates such as heated pool, air conditioning. Staff were all exceptional nice and offered helpful advice and friendly. Breakfast was more than just a continental breakfast but it was not a full breakfast buffet. Street was easy to find, safe and quiet. Loved our upstairs room.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We book 2 rooms (4 people) at the Palms for 3 nights. Perfect location, perfect rooms, made for a perfect experience in Key West. The area was quiet and a short bike ride to Duval Street down Southard Ave., a very nice neighborhood with historic houses. One room (2 double beds) was right on the pool with double French doors, so it was like being at home on the patio. The other room was upstairs, larger and had a refrigerator (king room). Breakfast was fun with all the guests gathering on the pool deck. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom far too small and shower was tiny and a little claustrophobic. Beds were comfortable. NO SAFE in room and NO FRIDGE. There was a heated pool outside the door, and a plentiful supply of towels. Breakfast is continental with lots of fruit, so quiet pleasant. It takes 20 minutes to walk to the main Duval Street. As I said before Hotels in Key West are very expensive in peak season (Dec-June) and this hotel is no exception. We paid $240 per night but I would put a price on a night at about $90
However staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are considering a Key West Trip go in Off peak season, the rates are a lot cheaper and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrygrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $176 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Concierge service is available to plan your Key West adventures and activities. Will you be here for a special event? Let us know and we can make your event even more memorable. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children and pets are welcome. IMPORTANT NOTE: Our front desk is open form 8am -10 pm. If you are going to be arriving after 10pm please contact us to make special arrangements for your arrival. Our after hours late check-in/emergency contact number is: 305.293.9815 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing