We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place - We loved it.”
Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #63 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a great place - We loved it.”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I know there are mixed reviews on this hotel but my husband and myself loved it. It had the key west charm, beautiful gardens, clean rooms, a beautiful pool. The price had to be the best on the Island. John was friendly and informative. It was mostly adults and the rooftop patio was nice. We didn't spend a large amount of time at the hotel but the time we did stay it was great. A taxi from the Bull and Whistle on Duval costs you about 7 bucks. You are walking distance to the Southern most point. Again it was great. If there was one negative thing to post it would be that the shower head didn't allow enough water through and some hooks for drying towels and bathing suits would have been nice. When we go back to the keys we will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanneatl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    215
    142
    61
    62
See reviews for
116
257
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We are a family from the UK and stayed at the motel in April 2010 for 2 nights. The room was very clean and they had a lovely rooftop terrace. The staff were very kind and helpful, particularly John on reception. Pool was nice, and our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Our room was clean and comfortable but very basic. We are walkers, so the distance (1.5 miles to Mallory Square) didn't bother us. A taxi is less than $10, however.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JazzieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We called it rustic charm. Besides we didn't go there to spend our time in the room. In our opinion the complaints stated here are off base; the motel represents itself accurately if you read their information. The staff were friendly and helpful. And, we walked from one side of Key West to the other from the motel, never using any other transportation. If you want the amenities, pony up and stay somewhere much more expensive. We would stay here again. I was disappointed not to have wifi access in our room, but the motel explicitly states that such may be the case.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjlsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway and were treated very poorly. We tried to check-in but the hotel front door was locked. We were rudely greeted with "I'll be right there!" Once checked in, the room was dirty and they do not provide shampoo, soap etc as this is an extra fee. The locaton is not walking distance to the famous Duval Street. We walked a total of 13 miles the entire weekend and would recommend staying closer to Duval Street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

it does not take much to please us, just clean and quiet and this place is far from that. discusting bathroom etc ...the location is great but after that, forget it ,would never return. good luck :):)

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid-MN-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalenapie, management team at El Patio Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Thank you for your review. I will have to respectfully disagree with comment that our establishment is a 'filthy dump'. Although there may be an occasional oversight by staff, or something may need to be fixed, I will submit that we are very fortunate to have exceptional employees who are honest, hard working and professional. We always hope that if guests have any issues with their rooms or with our personnel, that they come to us while staying @ our establishment to report it so that we have the opportunity to 'right the ship', as they say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I really don't understand what all of these people are complaining about. My boyfriend and I stayed for an entire week at the El Patio and had the time of our lives. The rooms were very clean, the towels and shampoo/conditioner/soap and toilet paper were all well stocked (and if we needed anything, the employees were more than happy to assist us.) The check in process went very smoothly and the nice man and lady behind the counter even gave us a map and some ideas of places to visit while we were there. We were never yelled at or rushed to pay for the room (they gave us the entire day to come back and pay them, and even said "no hurry, just whenever it's convienant for you".) The roof top lounge was one of the best parts! Now, the rooms were a little small (but honestly, who goes to key west for vacation and sits in their room to watch television? seriously people...get out and do something!) It was also a short walk to Duvall Street (maybe a mile). THIS PLACE IS FANTASTIC!! (it seems to me, that alot of the negative reviews are coming from people who just can not be satisfied with anything and need something to complain about.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P-ashley-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalenapie, management team at El Patio Motel, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
This is a guest who really "gets" El Patio Motel. I very much appreciate the refreshing perspective. In this economy, especially, it's nice to know that so many people can still appreciate the charm of simplicity! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#33 of 77 in Key West
1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Property: El Patio Motel
Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing