We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #63 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Delray Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Where do I begin.

A week before New Years (2014) my wife and I decided to go to Key West to celebrate the New Year. No rooms were available anywhere from Dec.26th to Jan 1st.. We had gone to Key West 6 years ago, without a reservation, only to find out it was the "Lobster Fest" and the only rooms available were at El Patio. At that time we found El Patio "tired" but acceptable. On a whim I called them and they had one room available with a queen bed, from Dec. 27th through the 1st. I booked it.

Low and behold, 6 years later the place was exactly the same. Room key on a fob, 2 inch thick mattress, linoleun tile floor, worn wicker furniture, noisy window air conditioner, and an old 19" television. I guess the reason I am so upset was because 6 years ago I paid $90+ daily for the room and this time I was charged $259 for basically the same room and I think the same pillows.
Full payment was required at check in so when I went to the office to cancel my reservation I was told that I could get my money back on Jan. 2nd if they were able to resell my room. The thought of loosing $1,300 if they could not resell the room was enough to keep us there.

I can say however that the room was made-up nicely each day although the floors were not mopped. This would not have normally been a problem but since we had rain for the first three days and did not take off our shoes before entering the room, our shoe prints reminded us that it had rained.

Room Tip: Any room at any other hotel/motel will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    208
    142
    60
    61
See reviews for
115
250
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel had a great location. It was close to the southernmost point, and walking distance to two beaches and to Duvall street. It was safe and very quiet. The neighborhood was a treasure to walk around in. The staff were very nice and provided us with a map for walking. The motel itself was old and needs upgrades, but it was clean and had the basics. The air conditioner, shower, fridge and tv worked fine. The bed was a bit uncomfortable but again the price is very reasonable and the location was great. The parking was tight and difficult to find a spot, otherwise it was a perfect trip. I will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This art deco motel is clean and quiet with a small pool and a sun terrace. The main feature is the location, easy to drive to and park outside, yet just a couple of blocks from Duval St where all the fun is. It is also close to two Key West beaches. Five minutes walk to South Beach for a superb breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The desk person, Sarah was friendly & helpful. The grounds were clean & it was comfortable sitting outside. An old motel & the rooms are in need of some upgrades.The tiled room floor was fairly clean, but old & stained. The beds were hard (more like a box spring than a mattress, but after a long day in KW one could sleep just about anywhere). Limited water pressure in the shower. Wi-Fi not accessible inside the room. Decent location in good neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyPants B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

clean, helpful staff, close to duval, rent a bike, go to local minimart, stockup on beer, save a ton, party at night, recuperate at schoners on the water with the breakfast club in a bloody mary fashion, repeat.......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I booked this motel after reading previous travellers' reviews and I was not disappointed. It's easy to find along Washington Avenue and is within walking distance of the beaches, museums and all the major attractions of Key West. There is a lovely pool and patio if you don't want to go to the beach. The ice machine was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they let me leave two bags on my departure day until I needed to leave, and they gave me instructions for finding a cybercafe. The whole place was immaculately clean. I stayed for 2 nights but would happily go back for longer. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned but very comfortable, with a modern TV, fridge and air-conditioning.

The only thing that stops me from giving it 5 stars was an incident on my departure day, which was probably a one-off. I knew I had to check out at 11. I went into town to an internet cafe around 9.30 and returned at 10.45. I'd left my bags in the room and it must have been obvious that the room was still occupied. When I got back, I found that the cleaner had removed a half bottle of Coke and a full bottle of mineral water that I'd left in the fridge, and poured them away - I found the empty bottles in a trash bag outside. What was worse was that my beach towel was missing. I reported this to reception and at first they refused to believe me. After giving a description of the towel, they went to look for it and found it, apparently in the motel's laundry pile. How a very distinct brightly coloured towel got mixed up with their plain white towels I do not know,,,

Room Tip: I don't think there is much difference between one room and another. I was in Room 9 and that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Numismatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location! Had a GREAT stay! Easy Walk to Duval St. and Higgs Beach. Friendly & welcoming staff. The roof top patio is AWESOME. Free parking. The property is older and dated ... or just charming ... but most important ... SPOTLESSLY clean. Stay here for a weekend for less than one night in a plain brand name hotel room. Room had a fridge, but no coffeemaker. Will bring my own next time. A Key West Treasure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Dreams Inn
Suite Dreams Inn
#27 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#35 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Property: El Patio Motel
Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing