We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last updates were NEVER!”
Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Patio Motel
Ranked #59 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Way over priced for what you get. Zero updates and extension cords running all over the place. We had the two bedroom. Only one room had the air conditioner and the bathroom. I would of been better off sleeping in my car. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 620 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just spent two days at El Patio in KeyWest. This motel is a terrific bargain. We had a two room suite-the rooms were huge, clean, not elaborately furnished, but quite comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The motel is straight out of the 1950's, with all the best design factors of that era. We loved the colorful Cuban Tile floors, and original green and maroon tile bathroom. If there was any drawback, it was that the only a/c was in one of the two bedrooms, so you have to keep the intervening door open to keep both rooms cool. The motel has a pleasant roof top deck, if you get tired of watching the antics at sunset at Mallory Sqaure, and, it has a beautiful small pool if you need to cool off before an adventure on nearby Duval St. Will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It's a great motel that takes you back a bit to a simpler time.
We stayed for 2 nights and were greeted warmly when checked in. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite which was a nice surprise.
The courtyard area was lovely with all sorts of greenery and a fountain. Very well kept up
Our rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Fridge in the room to chill drinks was a good plus.
The bathroom was basic but clean as were the bedrooms and decor.
You can tell this is an older motel-- retro really, and it had character.
We didn't use the pool or the rooftop patio so I can't comment on that at all but I heard people using both.

The parking is hit or miss... it's very crowded in that residential area and you have to be crafty with your parking. We got in late one evening after a day trip to Dry Tortuga and had to park down the block. No big deal really and it isn't the fault of El Patio.. it probably should be a compliment that all rooms are booked continuously so parking is there.. but hard to find at times.

It's within walking distance to MM 0 which is a cool tourist stop. Down the street is a quaint Cuban coffee and breakfast place - also within walking distance.

I would definitely recommend this place to people that are looking for a place with character and with prices a bit lower than the cookie cutter motel/hotel chains that charge an arm and a leg just to have a coffee pot in the room
:-)

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which is a 2 bedroom queen suite. First floor - right within the courtyard area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A group of us stayed here for two nights while on a bicycle tour of the Keys. The facility is small and family-owned, enabling it to offer personalized amenities you won't find in the big resorts. And, they allowed us to keep our bikes in our rooms, a feature that's very important to a bicycling person. The rooms feature unique, hand-painted ceramic floor tiles and contain small refrigerators. Most of the rooms surround a central courtyard filled with lush, tropical plants and a small fountain. If you open the windows you can relax and/or fall asleep to the soft sound of falling waters. There is a swimming pool so artfully surrounded by vegetation that you feel as if it's your own private backyard. Both the rooms and the grounds are impressively clean and immaculately maintained. The motel is located within easy walking distance of Duvall Street and all of the major Key West attractions. Although no coffee or coffee brewers are available, the staff will cheerfully direct you caffeine addicts (such as myself) to a stand just a couple of blocks away touting its "World' Greatest Cuban Coffee." I found the coffee so good there I had to walk back for a second cup! My only frustration with El Patio was that the hall lights along the interior courtyard were left on all night. This was probably done for some safety law, but the lights seeping in through the uncurtained window blinds and under the doorway prevented the room from getting very dark, making me feel as if I was in some far northern country like Alaska where it's always twilight. We both had very restless nights. It would be great if these lights could be dimmed at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjoining the Courtyard if you want botanical ambiance, or for one tucked back in a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had been to Key West many times and the room rates are now out of control in most places. The El Patio was good for what we needed, one night to hook up with friends who were staying at the pricey Southernmost House, but only 4 blocks away on a quiet residential street. It had a nice pool and parking( a big plus in Key West). The room was not great, but we only slept there and spent the time with our friends. Since we go down there from our home in Fort Lauderdale it met our need .

Room Tip: Does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My experience was much like Julie C - I literally found El Patio by trying to find the best deal online from Montana...kind of liked the location and the gardens looked nice. We were really happy there. Really nice people run it and they'll do anything to help. The El Patio also rents bikes and we rode them everywhere - I thought the location was nice, in the newer area of Key West and it's pretty quiet, yet close to the beach and old town. We found the rooms very suitable...we were tired from all the bicycle riding and playing all day. I love Key West. Not spending a fortune on a room meant you could go to the nicer restaurants too...we rode our bikes at night too!! (they come with little flashing lights on the front and back)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stumbled on El Patio online and made reservations because it was the most reasonably priced place to stay in the area in which we wanted to be. We arrived and had received an upgrade to a 2-room suite for some reason (not complaining). The location was perfect - two blocks from the ocean, four blocks from the southern most point and just a few blocks away from Duval. Close to everything, but far enough away to be quiet. If you expect 4- and 5-star amenities, don't stay here. We didn't travel to Key West to stay in a hotel room. The room was clean, smelled clean and was perfect for our purposes. The rooftop patio was a bonus - the first thing we did in the morning and the last thing we did at night. The staff was very accomodating (but we're pretty low maintenance) and friendly. The only downside for me was no coffee in the morning, but we found some great Cuban coffee to walk to just a few blocks away. Oops - and no hair dryer; but that's not really a downside, that is lack of planning on my part.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#32 of 77 in Key West
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean House
Caribbean House
#55 of 77 in Key West
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Address: 800 Washington St, Key West, FL 33040-4799
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $142 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing