We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Curry House!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love The Curry House!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well, this was our third trip back to the Curry House and I miss it allready! We stayed from October 2-8th and again had a wonderful stay. Curry House is a small, intimate home away from home. Classic Key West charm. On the quiet end of Fleming but close enough to Duval or the Blight so that you can walk or ride your bike. The Curry house only has 9 rooms so at times you feel like you have the house to yourself even when you don't. In the entire time we stayed there, there was only one other couple in the pool. The rest of the time we had the pool to ourselves. Each room has their own refrigerator, so you can keep food, drinks etc.. very convenient.
The continental breakfast each morning was plentiful and you can sit around the pool to eat. Bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee and fruit and yougurt are there for the taking!!
When talking about the Curry House you have to also mention Lois (and Romona!!). Lois is a great innkeeper. Makes you feel at home and very comfortable. Look forward to seeing Lois as well as Key West!!
I had to think about posting this report a few times. Not sure I want everyone to know about our "hidden gem"! Want to be able to go back when we want!!

Room Tip: we have stayed in three different type rooms and my favorite is either 1 or 2. Second floor with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NP116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    79
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
22
209
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent time at Curry House and Lois the house manager is delightful and helpful. The house is close to Old Town and far enough away that you don't have night time noise. A short walk up Fleming to Duval leads you to La Concha where you can watch the sunset from the roof.

Room Tip: Unless you are adventurous ask for the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSH51150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in the Curry House over Labor Day Weekend 2013 and had the best time. Breakfast was great every morning by the pool and Lois was the best Inn Keeper ever. The rooms are perfect. Our room was on the third floor and had an amazing balcony with a view of the pool, a small refrigerator to keep our beverages cool and a cozy bathroom. The location was perfect to walk to places like Dantes Pool and Hogs Breath and we never need a bike or a car with such a wonderful location.
The pool area is wonderful and makes a great place to meet up with friends all hours of the day and night.
I would recomend the Curry House to all friends and family. It is a perfect location, great size and the staff is very warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a bit more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It was good to seeing you guys! Have a good winter and we will see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Let me preface by saying the Curry House is a great value with a fantastic location. My family & I have loved it so much that we have recommended this B&B to other friends/family for several years. However, our recent trip wasn't so pleasant. We decided to rent all 9 rooms for a very special event. We knew we were not supposed to "use" the kitchen refrigerator for understandable reasons (the health code says they are an operating restaurant) not all of us knew the particulars... but some of our party stored food there anyway for a small reception. One of the Innkeepers decided to berate me, my best friend & my sister in law the next morning. We were made to feel very uncomfortable, unwelcome & embarrassed. I was told that she contacted the owner who promptly told her to call the Police! Seriously??!! She did not. Furthermore, I was informed that the sister B&B was called to "warn" them of our overflow guests that were staying there & to "watch out" for them. I have never been treated so unprofessionally by anyone respectable & I am saddened by the deterioration of this beautiful KW B &B & the behavior of the long time Innkeeper who has been there.The other new staff employees were cordial and always polite. Needless to be said None of us will ever return. :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bancrofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Owner at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Group reservations can be a challenge for innkeepers because the anonymity of a crowd can breed bad behavior. We took a reservation for the whole house from this reviewer since she was a repeat customer, knew the house rules from previous stays, and promised that her guests would not be a problem. Before arriving she asked if they would be able to use the kitchen, and was told NO because of health department restrictions on our commercial kitchen. Each of our guestrooms has its own refrigerator and we provide paper plates, napkins, etc. for the convenience of our guests. During their stay we found that many of these guests had a complete disregard for our rules, including bringing in unregistered guests to party and "crash" in the rooms. The worst, however, was their use of our kitchen. To do so, they needed to scale the LOCKED kitchen gate- the one with the sign posted " Do Not Enter Employees Only". They contaminated both refrigerators with leftovers and pizza boxes while helping themselves to our dishes, silverware, and some of our breakfast food. Health department laws are in place to protect our guests and ourselves. An outbreak of something like E-coli, Staph, or Norwalk virus would be catastrophic to our guests and our inn. Needless to say, this irresponsible group has disappointed us. It makes us appreciate even more the wonderful groups we have had in the past who leave us with smiles, hugs, and plans to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at The Curry House.Breakfast outside beside the pool with my friends was delicious.Lois was the best,looking after us like we were family.There was such a cosy ,homely feeling to the place,it was so hard to say good bye.The situation was also very good,within walking distance to the boats and just around the corner from an organic little restaurant.
If ever I get the chance to be in Key West again I would certainly love to stay at the Curry House.
My room #9 was at the very top ,up 2 flights of stairs.I think next time I shall choose to stay on the second floor in a room with a balcony if it is available,especially the balcony looking out on the pool with the back garden.I have many happy memories from my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soul747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
I look forward to my "study groups" every year. They alwasy bring "good energy"! Come see us again when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The curry house is only surpassed by the lady of the house, Lois. From the moment of our arrival to the great buffet breakfast and all of the welcoming attention in between, she had a comforting way of letting you know that you belonged. We had a short weekend and staying at the curry house with Lois was worth the trip.

We'll definitely be going back!
Donald and Julio

Room Tip: Room #5 was spacious, quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaldandJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Squiggles and I will miss you. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Curry House on Flemming in Key West, Florida is a bed and breakfast with a lot to offer. It is about nine rooms, has a pool and the rooms have TVs. Some rooms share a hallway bath. It is quiet, clean and the management is very effecient. Breakfast is quite nice with lots of choices. Coffee and tea are available at 7:30 AM. There is a sitting area adjacent the small kitchen area that joins the poarch next to the pool. Our stay was quite pleasant and the manager, Lois, was very hospitable and gracious is seeing that all was well. Since we visit Key West several times a year we prefer the bed and breakfast style accommodation over the typical hotel or motel and this was our first stay at Curry House but it won't be our last. Only a few things may need a bit of brushing up but this is Key West. There are a lot of tourists coming and going so its a busy place. Also cruise ships flood the lower Duval St area when they call, so you may want to head to the opposite end. Its getting to be a traffic jam around Front St and Duval and the Conch Train seems to have a lot of favoritism. Curry House is an easy walk to most attractions and the waterfront, so my wife and I highly recomment this quaint little bead and breakfast for your next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a private bath if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Garden House
Garden House
#59 of 77 in Key West
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.5 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 806 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Curry House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Old Town home built by ship builders on Green Turtle Cay in the Bahamas, shipped to Key West, and assembled in 1889! Perfect location - 3 blocks from Duval Street and 3 blocks from the Historic Seaport. Quiet, Romantic, Tropical. Nine delightful rooms. Complimentary HOT Country Breakfast and Happy Hour, (during peak season)! Heated pool open 24-hours! 8 rooms have direct access to verandas or wrap-around porches with secluded sitting areas. All rooms - refrigerators, cable television, telephone, and more! Come and enjoy a midwest welcome in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Curry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry House Hotel Key West
Curry House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing