We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay wasn't as "pleasant" as it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Let me preface by saying the Curry House is a great value with a fantastic location. My family & I have loved it so much that we have recommended this B&B to other friends/family for several years. However, our recent trip wasn't so pleasant. We decided to rent all 9 rooms for a very special event. We knew we were not supposed to "use" the kitchen refrigerator for understandable reasons (the health code says they are an operating restaurant) not all of us knew the particulars... but some of our party stored food there anyway for a small reception. One of the Innkeepers decided to berate me, my best friend & my sister in law the next morning. We were made to feel very uncomfortable, unwelcome & embarrassed. I was told that she contacted the owner who promptly told her to call the Police! Seriously??!! She did not. Furthermore, I was informed that the sister B&B was called to "warn" them of our overflow guests that were staying there & to "watch out" for them. I have never been treated so unprofessionally by anyone respectable & I am saddened by the deterioration of this beautiful KW B &B & the behavior of the long time Innkeeper who has been there.The other new staff employees were cordial and always polite. Needless to be said None of us will ever return. :(

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bancrofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Owner at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Group reservations can be a challenge for innkeepers because the anonymity of a crowd can breed bad behavior. We took a reservation for the whole house from this reviewer since she was a repeat customer, knew the house rules from previous stays, and promised that her guests would not be a problem. Before arriving she asked if they would be able to use the kitchen, and was told NO because of health department restrictions on our commercial kitchen. Each of our guestrooms has its own refrigerator and we provide paper plates, napkins, etc. for the convenience of our guests. During their stay we found that many of these guests had a complete disregard for our rules, including bringing in unregistered guests to party and "crash" in the rooms. The worst, however, was their use of our kitchen. To do so, they needed to scale the LOCKED kitchen gate- the one with the sign posted " Do Not Enter Employees Only". They contaminated both refrigerators with leftovers and pizza boxes while helping themselves to our dishes, silverware, and some of our breakfast food. Health department laws are in place to protect our guests and ourselves. An outbreak of something like E-coli, Staph, or Norwalk virus would be catastrophic to our guests and our inn. Needless to say, this irresponsible group has disappointed us. It makes us appreciate even more the wonderful groups we have had in the past who leave us with smiles, hugs, and plans to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 338 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at The Curry House.Breakfast outside beside the pool with my friends was delicious.Lois was the best,looking after us like we were family.There was such a cosy ,homely feeling to the place,it was so hard to say good bye.The situation was also very good,within walking distance to the boats and just around the corner from an organic little restaurant.
If ever I get the chance to be in Key West again I would certainly love to stay at the Curry House.
My room #9 was at the very top ,up 2 flights of stairs.I think next time I shall choose to stay on the second floor in a room with a balcony if it is available,especially the balcony looking out on the pool with the back garden.I have many happy memories from my stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soul747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

I look forward to my "study groups" every year. They alwasy bring "good energy"! Come see us again when you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The curry house is only surpassed by the lady of the house, Lois. From the moment of our arrival to the great buffet breakfast and all of the welcoming attention in between, she had a comforting way of letting you know that you belonged. We had a short weekend and staying at the curry house with Lois was worth the trip.

We'll definitely be going back!
Donald and Julio

Room Tip: Room #5 was spacious, quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonaldandJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurryHouseKeyWest, Manager at Curry House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Squiggles and I will miss you. Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Curry House on Flemming in Key West, Florida is a bed and breakfast with a lot to offer. It is about nine rooms, has a pool and the rooms have TVs. Some rooms share a hallway bath. It is quiet, clean and the management is very effecient. Breakfast is quite nice with lots of choices. Coffee and tea are available at 7:30 AM. There is a sitting area adjacent the small kitchen area that joins the poarch next to the pool. Our stay was quite pleasant and the manager, Lois, was very hospitable and gracious is seeing that all was well. Since we visit Key West several times a year we prefer the bed and breakfast style accommodation over the typical hotel or motel and this was our first stay at Curry House but it won't be our last. Only a few things may need a bit of brushing up but this is Key West. There are a lot of tourists coming and going so its a busy place. Also cruise ships flood the lower Duval St area when they call, so you may want to head to the opposite end. Its getting to be a traffic jam around Front St and Duval and the Conch Train seems to have a lot of favoritism. Curry House is an easy walk to most attractions and the waterfront, so my wife and I highly recomment this quaint little bead and breakfast for your next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a private bath if one is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Curry House is close to the fun spots in Key West, but on a quiet street so you can get your sack time. Our third floor room was great, although it took some time for the A/C to get going. (3rd floor landing? Hot!) Lois and the staff were great. The backyard pool area is great to unwind or take your breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 7 has only 3rd floor king. A/C will need to run full-time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

With so many bed and breakfast options in Key West it can be hard to pick the right one so we're happy that we enjoyed our stay at the Curry House. The location was absolutely perfect and the staff was more than welcoming. We stayed in room 3 on the second floor, had access to the second floor balcony and shared a bathroom with another room. While I was apprehensive about a shared bathroom it did not affect our stay at all and I really didn't mind it. The daily breakfasts were so delicious and nothing like the drab continental food at most B&B's. We will definitely stay here again and look forward to another stay in Key West!

Room Tip: We didn't stay on the 3rd floor, but we did love the second floor and access to the front balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our party of 6 from the uk just left after a great time at the curry inn.
Compared to other places we've stayed at in key west it's a bit smaller than we've been in however the property didnt let us down.
Clean rooms,fresh towel,nice bed,bathroom a bit tight,so what!
Nice veranda to sit out overlooking the smallish pool,set at the right temperature.
Breakfast included with coffee available from 7:30 around the pool.
Lois is a lovely host who is very helpful and knowledgable about where to go,,but she doesn't like fish ;0)
We honestly would stay again.
It's in the perfect spot away from duval,2 short blocks and 200 yds to the harbour in the other direction.
My only negative is you have to find a street parking spot somewhere,good luck!
Great stay,all 6 of us agreed,which takes some doing lol
I've give a very good as opposed to excellent,don't be put off by that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,381 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#48 of 77 in Key West
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
0.4 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curry House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 806 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Curry House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Old Town home built by ship builders on Green Turtle Cay in the Bahamas, shipped to Key West, and assembled in 1889! Perfect location - 3 blocks from Duval Street and 3 blocks from the Historic Seaport. Quiet, Romantic, Tropical. Nine delightful rooms. Complimentary HOT Country Breakfast and Happy Hour, (during peak season)! Heated pool open 24-hours! 8 rooms have direct access to verandas or wrap-around porches with secluded sitting areas. All rooms - refrigerators, cable television, telephone, and more! Come and enjoy a midwest welcome in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Curry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry House Hotel Key West
Curry House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing