We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Considering how close you are to Duval street, the Cypress House is a peaceful place. The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions on where to go in the city. Enjoyed breakfast by the pool as well as cocktails every evening. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTH0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    135
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
19
323
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I spent 5 days here and was very pleased. The location is only a couple blocks from Duval Street. My room was on the first floor of the main house and was good size and nicely decorated. There was always a good variety for breakfast and different each day. There was a daily cocktail hour, but I was always out and about as I was in KW for Meeting of the Minds.

Room Tip: Caroline street is pretty busy and rooms that face it may have more traffic noise that other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Cypress House - it's lovely to stay in one of the wooden mansions that are so representative of Key West. We stayed in the main house on the top floor. We later found out that it is one of only 2 three-storey "eyebrow" houses - so called because the roof comes over the top windows. Or at least that's what we were told on the Conch Train!

Pros
Room was huge (rm 8) with a super kingsize bed. Bathroom was a good size with a walk in shower. Breakfast was fine - there is a hot option each day, plus bagels, whole fruit, yoghurts and cereal. Staff are really friendly and polite. We tried the "liming" each night which was a nice touch. Location is great - a block from Duval street, but without the noise (or really drunk people). We parked in the nearby garage using one of the hotel's passes (it was about $10/day).

Cons (easy fixes though!)
For us the bed was far too soft, but horses for courses and all that! It would have been good to have some mosquito coils in the outside breakfast area - husband got quite a few bites at breakfast (but he always gets bitten wherever we go!). It would have been nice to have fresh milk at breakfast (i think they had UHT). I'd have preferred a bit more of a modern bathroom, or more traditional - just not in between! The aircon was pretty loud in our room. The only other issue was that the wifi in our room had a very weak signal. I mentioned this as we were checking out, and I think they said they had plans to get some repeaters in to sort the issue.

Overall we had a lovely stay in Key West!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Tucksteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent 5 days here and were extremely pleased. Our guest room was in the main house and was good size, charming and tastefully decorated.
Chris & Scott, managers, were very knowledgeable and you feel like family with all of the employees here. Breakfast is different each day with a good variety. 5 pm snacks are different each day and very tasty. The cocktails change daily--sangria, rum punch, marguerites. This B&B
is very close to Duval St. The outside pool area is nicely tropical and all is well kept.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jck1FortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Level Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've stayed there for two nights.
The location was good, but there was no car park.
We had to look for it after checked in.

The hotel was amusing. There was a small pool and garden, couches, tables and chairs, and a pair of summer beds, so we could relax outside too.

They gave us upgrade room.
The room was small, but clean and modern design.
The bathroom and bed were comfortable.
The air conditioner was weak and too noisy if we turned it up.

The hotel has some additional service. Continental breakfast and evening small cocktail hour were included.
We can have them outside tables. That was nice.
I love the Margarita.
(But I supposed the cocktail service wasn't every day).

About location, we can make the harbour area and a lively Duval Street which is lined with plenty of eateries for a couple of minutes walking.

I am sure this hotel is good for couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
284 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had a large room all to myself with a king bed. It only had a sheet and a comforter. With the AC on, the sheet wasn't enough to keep me warm. But the comforter totally didn't breathe, so when I had that on, I was a sweaty mess.

There was a monstrous shower, capable of hosing down the girthiest humans.

Wasn't a huge fan of the fancy sink, which wasn't great for shaving.

The place did have a general musty smell, which I just chalk up to the fact you're in a tropical environment.

There's a very small pool that I never saw anyone using.

For breakfast, there's cereal, bagels, blueberry muffins, OJ, coffee, fruit and a hot dish of some kind. I pulled an apple from the basket and wanted to spit out my first bite. It was way past its prime.

There's also an evening (5 p.m.?) service of some kind of booze and a little appetizer. But you'll probably be out enjoying the sunset then.

No parking on site, but they can give you a pass to park about a ten minute walk away. That costs you $10/day.

It's not the cheapest place, but the location is very good. You're not too far from all the madness of Duval, but you don't hear it.

In my room, I *did* hear people stomping around upstairs, but it wasn't constant enough to be much of a problem.

Their TVs had no premium channels.

It's kind of hard to justify the price, based on the room, but you're paying for location, and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowmanInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Thank you Cypress house for making my boyfriend's birthday so lovely.

The rooms: We arrived and stayed in room 26, which is a queen room. The room was small but a nice cozy 'love den'. Bathroom was nice, shower a bit tiny. Very quiet, no street noise.

day two we moved to a King room (we had booked a kind room but the first night they were sold out and Queen was the only thing they had) number 4. This was a huge room with a bigger bathroom but still on the small side. In room 4, the shower could fit two people but it was tight. The balcony was over looking the street and it was a great view but we were woken up many times during the night with sounds of garbage trucks, police cars and other general street noise.

So it was a toss-up. I asked my boyfriend would he have rather had the smaller room, with less noise or a bigger room with lots of noise?

The food: For breakfast they had cereals, bagels, toast and a hot dish. Some examples of hot dishes were an egg scramble with cheese, bacon, eggs and potatoes. The next day it was a ham, egg and cheese sandwich.

The rooms are clean, the people friendly and the location can not be beat. We would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing