We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you want the lively end of town...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a recently renovated hotel in a central location for Duval Street and the nightlife of Key West. The staff were welcoming and friendly to us on arrival and at first glance we thought the property looked very attractive and characterful.

However, we were then shown to our room which was not in the main house but in a small outhouse at the back of the pool area, which was the smallest room we had stayed on throughout our holiday trip around the Keys. Whilst it was clean and modern, there were no coffee making facilities, no mini bar, a noisy A/C unit, and poor lighting. The safe was too small for the modern traveller's needs with all our laptops, tablets, phones and mobiles.

Whatsmore, we were awoken on the first night of our stay by a drunken local who attempted to break into our gated area at the back of the swimming pool and the sound of smashing glass very close by at 230am was rather disconcerting, though of course no fault of the hotel itself. We were later told that the guy was arrested by local police but of course we were understandably nervous on our second night's stay.

Breakfast was adequate and freshly served, and really the staff and their welcoming service were the best aspect of this hotel. If we were to return to Cypress House again, we would insist on staying in the main building which looked far more characterful and we suspect had larger rooms than the small swimming pool outhouse we were placed in.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main house and not in the swimming pool outhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike280473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 510 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I loved it! We booked the trip for our 2nd anniversary and could not be more pleased with our stay. Their parent company made a mistake an overbooked us so we were moved to this property over a different one and if we ever go back to Key West, we will stay here again. The pool area was nice and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast each morning was great and the liming in the afternoon(happy hour) was a nice touch(especially since I read it had been canceled). Our room was huge and the bed was comfy.

One complaint I've seen about the street noise is true, BUT I only say that because I do not live in a city, I live a mile into a neighborhood so I have no clue what loud is for a city. If it gives you an idea, we were able to cross the street pretty much anytime without regard to traffic because the "busy street" others are complaining about had no cars in it!

I really have no complaints. We loved our stay and would recommend the property to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msterli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the moment we arrivied at Cypress House we knew we were in good hands. Scott at the front desk was awesome helping us get checked in and giving tips about parking and other information. The room was lovely, modern and antique combined, and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony and it was great a night to sit out on the balcony. The complimentary drinks by the pool daily was also a nice treat that we weren't expecting and the daily breakfast was delicious and something different everyday. We would definatly stay there again next time we're in Key West.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

GREAT location, only takes minutes to walk to Duval street or the pier. The staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and updated. The only negative was that our room was on the second floor and the stairs are quite steep with no elevator. The free breakfast could use some help, same for the free snack of the day - however, something is better than nothing. The pool is small, but clean and refreshing. Loved the house kitty who suns all day down by the pool :-) If you want to be down by the "happening" bars, this is a great spot to stay, you'll be close enough to stumble home but won't have to deal with any of the Duval street noise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best place ever! The staff is the best. The room was spotless. So private and quiet.It is so close to everything, you don't need a car, we walked everywhere. Walk out your room and go just a block or two and you will be at Duval Street or the harbors, Mallory square, so much entertainment everywhere..But our inn was the best! Its decorated with beautiful tropical plants, our own locked private gate.We had a nice private deck with pretty patio furniture.The room itself was very pretty, not a speck of dust anywhere. The morning breakfast was perfect,the staff work so hard to make your stay perfect. We couldn't have imagined a better place. We love it there and are planning already to come back. We will only stay at the Cypress House in room 25! Thank You staff! John and Maureen McGraw from Ohio. April 5 through 9th. 2013

Room Tip: Room 25 is very private and quiet. Its very pretty. Perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Cypress House is a wonderful B&B located just a few steps from Duval Street. It was quiet and peaceful. We spent two days the last week of March at the Cypress House and never heard a bit of noise from the street. The staff (Scott and Dennis) were wonderful and very accommodating. We had a package shipped ahead of time and it was waiting in our room when we arrived. Our King with a Porch was large with a delightful porch and sitting area where we enjoyed our morning coffee/breakfast and evening wine. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We had a King with a Porch room number 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REWRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed two nights @ the Cypress House on a trip down from Ft. Myers Beach. (we took the Key West Express)
The location of the C.H. is absolutely ideal, and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a Queen room (#13) which was very small but cutely decorated and remodeled, and it was very private, which was great. Room #13 has it's own gated deck adjacent to the pool area, but the fence is 6 feet high and solid, so we felt nicely isolated in our own little corner of the property. Breakfast was tasty, the service was friendly, although we were a bit underwhelmed by the "happy hour".........no big deal, we went in with no expectations for that.
One minor hiccup that we had was our smoke detector was chirping at us the first night in the room. We had to call maintenance at 11pm when we returned from Duval Street and they arrived very efficiently to change out the battery. Unfortunately, it continued to chirp intermittently for the rest of the night which was a little frustrating. I told Dennis about it in the morning, and he had a new one installed for us by that evening. It was nobody's fault, and was just a quirky problem that the staff took care of.
We rented bikes for the duration of our stay in Key West, which was ABSOLUTELY the best way to get around. They are more efficient than walking, so you can cover all the ground you need to cover to see everything, but there are no parking challenges that you would encounter with a car. We also rented an electric car for a half-day, which was kind of fun, but logistically it was a pain in the butt due to parking. Back to the Cypress House, they did a nice job and were priced similarly to other options we explored, and like I said originally their location is SO perfect.
If we return to Key West, we would not hesitate to stay at the Cypress House again.

Room Tip: Room 13, although VERY small was nice and private with it's own private fenced/gated deck which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $220 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing