We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked last minute as we rolled into town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We rolled into town with no reservation for a place to stay. We used our tripadvisor app and were surprised to find an availability. Room was clean and comfortable. The only two draw backs were street noise and the porch lights stayed on all night which made the room too bright for me. I sleep better in dark quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lghatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 502 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Cypress house Bed and Breakfast. It is a lovely historic property and the staff are magnificent. We had reserved a King Room with a porch and by their own price list we paid more for a room with a porch. When we arrived, we were told that the porch was not really private and that anyone could use it...and anyone did...including at night when they rolled out of the bars. We also, coincidentally, had the room in front of the kitchen...at 7am we really needed no wake up call.
Despite the fact that this is a lovely property, the noise from others using the porch, street noise and the kitchen were really disappointing. If those things don't bother you, it is well located, close to Duval Street and in the historic district within walking distance to all that Key West has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a porch. Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deb6827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, Guest Relations Manager at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi Deb6827,

Thank you for writing! Yes, you are correct that the King Rooms with a porch in the Grand Conch Mansion are meant to be private porches. This was a communication error on our part and it has been corrected. I am happy to hear that you did like our staff and thought the hotel was lovely. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Traveled to Key West for the New Years celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay (12/30 - 01/02). I have visited Key West several times and have been lucky enough to spend NYE in town before. My spouse and I were meeting another couple and had booked this hotel back in October. At that time, we had explored many other lodging options such as condos, houses, boats, and other hotels, without much luck with availability. Cypress House was the only well-located, well-appointed, affordable hotel that we all agreed upon. Given my past experience in KW, I figured location was a big factor. Cypress House is VERY well located just two blocks off of Duval street, three blocks from the marina, and ~5 blocks from Mallory Square. While close to the party, the hotel did not get any of this noise. We requested a historic king room with porch. We were in room #21, a large ground floor room facing Caroline Street. Rooms were pretty standard - large living area at entrance with small table and 2 chairs. kitchenette area with sink, dorm fridge (not stocked), cabinet with minimal utensils, coffee maker with teas and coffee, large closet with luggage rack. Carpeted living area and tile bathroom. Bathroom was also standard - pedestal sink and tub with shower. Everything was very clean, plenty of towels and housekeeping came each of the 3 days we were there . The only thing I would note is the shampoo, lotion and soap were very small containers. We brought our own, so it wasn't an issue. We did not take advantage of the pool or breakfast during our stay. However, our friends mentioned that the pool was small and all chairs were "reserved" with towels by 8am. Despite the fact that we didn't take full advantage of the amenities, I will say that our favorite part of our room was the porch. There is a small table, 2 chairs and an ottoman for relaxing and perfectly located for people watching! From the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was kind and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying at the Cypress House in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Cypress House in Key West, and we absolutely loved it. Our room was nice, just what you need for Key West. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants and activities. They hit the mark every time. They also have a happy hour every evening with food and drink. The pool is small, but nice. Perfect for lounging and cooling off. The inn is close to Duval Street and Mallory Square, so you're within walking distance of everything. We just absolutely loved the charm of the place. When we come back we hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyTodd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We paid for a deluxe room with veranda. It was indeed a nice large sized room with decent sized bathroom. Good location on a quiet avenue yet only a 2- 5 minute walk the port area and Duval Steet. Only problem was noisy air conditioning in the room. If you want to be near the thick of it, then I would certainly recommend this hotel. Personally I found Duval Street very touristy with lots of cheap tacky shops but can't judge the hotel on this. Staff were very helpful and gave us ideas of places to visit by car. Although breakfast is included you must try Pepe's just up the road for breakfast. It's a must-do shack cafe experience. Pepe's is very busy, so expect to wait but they do serve a great Bloody Mary and breakfast menu choices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were delighted to visit Key West December 27, 2012 - January 5, 2013. We enjoyed our extended stay in Room No. Eight in the CYPRESS HOUSE attic. This rustic historic property is beautifully appointed and conveniently located to Duval Street, beaches and attractions. We found our large room to be extremely clean and the private bath small, but adequate.

The ownership of the property has transferred recently. There is new management. Having no previous point of comparison, we found the continental breakfast less than ordinary and the daily cocktail hour less than average. Yogurt, bagels, limited bar service and minimum appetizers are the new standard and not what seasoned travelers expect with a five-star price tag. Internet access was less than adequate and unreliable throughout our stay.

The new management also seems new to the trade. It's the details that are lacking. For instance, the house was beautifully decorated for the Christmas Season when we arrived and undressed by Noon January 2. The holiday doesn't end until January 7. No big deal, but holiday travelers want the season to last as long as possible. The lap pool is heated. However, a maintenance issue with the heater wasn't addressed until days after we arrived. Meanwhile, guests were told the heater was new and to allow several days for warm swimming.

It is the cleaning staff and Eli, a longtime employee of the previous owner, who really makes a visitor's stay worthwhile. Always helpful, our room/bath were completely cleaned daily in a timely fashion and Eli always seemed to appear to offer help or suggestions regarding our stay.

We encourage you to visit the CYPRESS HOUSE when you frequent Key West. After all, we didn't go there to dine, drink, swim or surf the web. We went to experience the island and the CYPRESS HOUSE provides the ambiance in spades.

We would encourage the new owners to give attention to the management team. They're nice guys, but in way over their heads. Give Eli a well deserved try and see the CYPRESS HOUSE flourish with rave reviews by returning guests!

Room Tip: Despite the stairs, the attic rooms afford a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Belkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

10 years ago followed by 2 years ago we stayed at the Cypress. The memories of 10 years ago were relived nothing had changed.. Two years ago we had two small dogs that were welcome and were part of the family of rest of owners dog and cats.

The breakfast was home made, delicious and different every day. The happy hour an open bar with all kinds of snacks, enough to make a meal. and the best part the variety of people we got to know.

In checking with the place Today nothing is forever. New owners, no home made breakfast just bagels and muffins, no pets, no open bar at happy hour,

Therefore will not stay there

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank derfberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your review, derfberger!

We are very happy to have the Cypress House in our collection of boutique hotels. This past year we have made several welcomed changes, but we understand that change can be difficult. Some past guests have embraced them, others have not. For breakfast, we do indeed have a different frittata daily along with fresh fruit, homemade baked goods and steaming coffee and tea. The outdated happy hour has been replaced with a fresh, new Liming At Cypress House where we serve several appetizers, and a nightly cocktail special, just enough to whet your appetite for a delicious dinner at one of the great restaurants in town.

For those guests who would like to travel with their pets, we do have pet-friendly rooms at our sister property, the Chelsea House. Thanks, again, for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $300 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing