We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location & nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location & nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and modern but had te key west feel still. It's just a few blocks from all the stores and bars. Only 2 complaints. 1) We paid extra for a room with a porch and while we had porch access it wasn't private. 2) You could hear every noise from outside all night long. If you're a light sleeper you probably want to request a room that's not facing the street.
All things considered a nice stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKohio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    119
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
15
285
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed here when we were attending a wedding in Key West. The room was very clean and comfortable. It is the perfect location for everything you want to do. Just off Duval Street, but away from the crowds.
Happy Hour and breakfast was served by Eli. He is a great host. He really added to our enjoyment of our stay. Always a smile, always accommodating.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marisol-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Cypress House for 4 nights in November. We had a queen room, number 11, and our friends had room 15. Our room was on the first floor, had a porch with 2 chairs and a table, high ceilings, nice décor, large refrigerator, flat screen TV, comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom with a nice walk in shower. A hair dryer, soap, and shampoo were, also, provided. The street noise, noise from rooms above, and the stairs going to the second level would bothersome to many because it can be loud, however, did not bother us. Our friend's room was on the second floor and had a smaller refrigerator and a pedestal sink but similar in size and décor, although, I did prefer our room.

The breakfast was decent, although, I would have preferred some fresh cut fruit instead of just a few apples and oranges in a dish and some flavored bagels or english muffins. The daily 5 to 6 happy hour was very good and included a complimentary specialty drink and appetizer(s) - margaritas, rum punch, sangria, chips/guacamole/salsa, cheese/crackers, baked brie, conch fritters, etc. There is a beautiful covered and non-covered area with tables and chairs to use for breakfast, happy hour, or relaxing.

The pool is very nice, heated, and refreshing. A couple rafts and noodles are available, as well, as pool/beach towels.

The location is outstanding . . . close to everything. Parking is a bit of a challenge, however, we managed to find a free spot everyday after spending the day at the beach and then walked everywhere at night.

We found the price about $50 per night high; however, we would consider staying here again and would recommend the Cypress House to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were fortunate enough to come upon a last minute availability at the Cypress House during our recent trip to Key West. The room, which was the former office, had just been converted to a new room. It was tastefully decorated and included access to the front porch. The location was phenomenal to Duval Street, Mallory Square, Seaport Boardwalk and Simonton Beach area, all within walking distance. It is a bit noisy with all of the street traffic as we faced directly on Caroline. The pool and patio area is well maintained and a breakfast and social hour with appetizers is provided every day. The staff will do whatever they can to assist you with your needs. Special thanks to Richard and Dennis who made our stay magical! Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 5 nights there in July. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful including sending several personal faxes for me. The room was very clean and spacious. It also had a nice second floor patio deck but it rained 3 of the days I was there so I didn't use it. The breakfast in the morning was more than the usual continental breakfasts offered by others and early evenings had light snacks to get you to your evening meal. Great location one block from Duval St. All in all a very nice experience and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeyecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel was easy to find on Caroline street in the old town of Key West. This is very convenient to Duval, Mallory Square, and other shopping and restaurants. We were met with friendly staff who gave us coupons and a flyer to “Fantasy Fest”. The staff accommodated our request to park our motorcycles close to our room. There was a nice pool in the “courtyard” along with a cabana. We arrived early and our room was ready in 15 minutes of our arrival. Our room was very nice with wooden floors, a king bed, and a modern bathroom with a huge walk in shower. We had a flat screen TV. Later during the evening, we discovered we did not have the access code to the WiFi and the front Office was closed at 9:00 p.m. Be sure to ask the clerk for the internet passcode at check-in. There were no vending machines on the premises. There was an ice machine located by the pool area. We did not have the appetizers in the cabana at 5:00 pm but instead headed for the shops. The hotel clerk mentioned “Upper Crust” as a good place to find thin crust pizza. We ate there and it was delicious! Although the bed was comfortable, we did not sleep well during our 1 night stay. The people upstairs were walking the floor all night. The window air conditioner was not efficient to cool rooms with high ceilings. This is a nice place, but for $200, we’ll stay somewhere else the next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which allowed us to park our motorcycles closeby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. After seeing pics on trip advisor we requested the "library room" it was huge and had so much character. We traveled down on the Key West Express from Ft Myers which made this location perfect. It is on Caroline near where the boat docks and only 2 blocks from Duval where everything is going on. It was very close to our favorite night/day spot (Irish Kevin's). The rooms were very clean, beds were super comfy and the daily happy hour was a great bonus. Eli provided amazing service at the happy hour such a great guy! If you need anything all you have to do is ask. I also love the fact it is an adult only B & B so you don't have to worry about any kids running around while you relax by the pool. I can't wait for our next trip to the Keys, definetly staying here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront  Resort Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Property: Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress House Hotel is a historic, 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town, Key West, near Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife. You can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Sloppy Joe's, the beaches and other attractions. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895, which stand on a quarter acre of tropical gardens. The hotel is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped garden area that includes a 40 foot heated lap pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing