We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great location. Within walking distance to Duval St. Rooms very clean and spacious. Very good continental breakfast choices. Staff was helpful and informative.
Loved the area surrounding the inn. No noise issues to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tylersgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Tylersgigi,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you here as our guests! One of the most wonderful things about the Cypress House is its location and that you can walk to all of the attractions in Key West, but you feel like you're away from thehustle-bustle in a peaceful, authentic Old Town neighborhood. Come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 491 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We absolutely loved this place! My husband and I stayed at the Cypress House for our honeymoon and were beyond please with our stay. Our room was gorgeous (the balcony right off of our room had great views, tall ceilings, modern bathroom, and there was even a beautiful mural on the ceiling which was a nice sight to wake up to each morning). Aside from the room, the hotel offered a lot of other worthwhile things: great staff, hot breakfast, a nice pool, and daily happy hour. The staff members made sure we had everything we needed and any requests we had were fulfilled within minutes (Eli was especially wonderful). They even suggested boat cruises and other activities we were interested in. The pool was refreshing and located next to the tables for both breakfast/happy hour. The breakfast offered each morning was delicious and full of variety (with at least one different hot item daily)…I especially enjoyed the breakfast burritos. The happy hour also changed daily and included small appetizers. For example, during our stay we had a margarita night, wine night, sangria night (all you can drink within the hour) and appetizers such as grilled brie sprinkled with almonds, crab dip, multiple cheeses, veggies, and fried conch fritters, etc. Gathering for both breakfast and happy hour was also a nice way to meet other hotel guests without the feeling of being obligated to do so. The location is also something worth mentioning. Cypress House is located two blocks from the main strip on Duval Street so it was close enough to walk in less than 5 minutes but far enough that our balcony was quiet and peaceful. We stayed in July and are already planning a trip back in February. If you visit Key West, stay here. We will gladly be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony or private courtyard are suggested
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Hi Alicia,

We are THRILLED that you and your husband chose the beautiful and historic Cypress House Hotel for your honeymoon! It was wonderful having you here as our guests. We will pass on your comments to the staff.....Eli is a gem, isn't he? We hope to see you here again in Paradise for your anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I love visiting the keys, and I think my husband and I have found 'our' hotel for future visits. The room was cute and very clean. The pool and location are great, and the staff was excellent! From making the reservation, to check out, the staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly Eli and Christopher.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jcortor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On a whim, we drove to Key West for the day from Miami (3 hours)... while searching for a good value hotel close to Duval Street so we could walk around that evening. Despite many other B&Bs being booked with such short notice, or only having $500+ suites left, Cypress House had room available and at a better price than most other historic properties (less than $200 for a queen-size room with private bath).

THINGS TO LOVE:
- 2 Blocks off Duval Street with central location near Irish Kevin's, Capt. Tony's and various restaurants
- VERY CLEAN and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the guest cottages just off the main house and were very pleased with the quality of the furnishings and decor
- QUIET (not sure about the other reviews that say differently, perhaps that's the main house? We had zero disturbances)
- CHARMING - perfectly preserved/restored Key West bungalow/cigar-style architecture. Very cute
- HAPPY HOUR - really quite cute (and free/included in room rate), pool area is sweet/intimate and guests are mostly very nice.
- PRICE: We paid under $200 for a queen size room (July is off season), King size room was only about $20-$30 more. Comparable rates for this time of year for the quality and location would be around $250+

THINGS YOU MAY NOT LIKE:
- Smallish: Rooms are smaller than big chain hotels - but those hotels are several miles off Duval Street. Rooms here are very typical size for B&Bs in a historic home, but include full private baths, which isn't always typical.
- No on-site parking: But they will give you a discount pass for the parking garage down the street (4 block walk) $10 for overnight, compared to $15-$20 if you paid on your own. Again, this is VERY common for Old Town Key West.
- Continental Breakfast: You can definitely get a more lavish breakfast at some B&Bs, but again, for the price, the expanded continental breakfast (1 hot item, lots of pastries, etc.) is more than sufficient. Besides that, TONS of restaurants on Duval offer breakfast.

Room Tip: We really liked the Guest Cottages in another historic property 2 houses down from the main house. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixiness77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My second trip the the Cypress House (CH), I have seen the reviews from all the moaners who said it was better when Dave had it, No it was different get over yourselves, It still has great rustic charm and lovely staff, happy hour exists without the opinionated droning of Dave! The rooms are not 5 star if you want that don't come....please. It's great for Duval street 2 mins away and all the bars/attractions etc, yet is still nice and quiet with a lovely pool and sheltered drinks area, coffee and cold drinks are available all day free. It's not perfect but for the money great value, cracked sink and all. Know what your going to get, and accept it. The breakfast is great simple ,light and a hot dish available if you want it. I will always stay here and it's so nice I am going to bring my mum she's 76, and will love reading on the peaceful veranda watching the world go by.
I love this place with its fully authentic rustic charm,go on book it now.
All rooms have A/C and TV's new mattresses and all you need to survive!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happysnapper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear HappySnapper 50,

Thank you for your review! I just wanted to let you know that the cracked sink is going to go! By the next time you stay with us, the rooms will all have gotten a fresh face lift. All rooms now do have a private bath and those in the Grand Conch Mansion have honed marble finishes. Historic architectural details paired with classic materials and a modern decor is our way of maintaining the rustic charm that we love as well. We'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, Scott at the desk has always a solution and Eli prepared meals with lots of ideas, simply good (congratulation for the americano italian hot meal )
The room in the ancient colonial style linked by a huge wood stairs was comfortable and cosy.
We d like to go back soon!
Virginia and Alex

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Cypress House embodies the atmosphere of old Key West. We loved the shutters propped out from the windows and our room that was more beautiful than Ernest Heminway's. Our bed was pretty and very comfortable. And Eli's breakfasts were a masterpiece. My favorite was his breakfast burrito. The young men at the front desk, especially Chris, were extremely accommodating and helped me with a very delicate problem. I am just sorry that at times the street was noisey but that goes with the excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MushHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $221 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing