We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky number 13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

An unplanned trip from SoBe to Key West left us looking for a room at 5pm. We weren't able to get a room at the Blue Parrot Inn, so we figured we'd try the Cypress House. Slightly off the Duval main, it seemed quiet and clean enough. Our room was in the back off the pool. It was small, which isn't generally a problem, but it was rather run down, the floor was slanted toward the door and the ceramic was cracked. The bathroom was also quite dated. There was a bar fridge and a warped mirror as well as the standard queen bed (comfortable mattress, satisfactory linens and ridiculously rock-hard pillows), two night stands, a five-drawer high boy and a slipper chair all in a perhaps 11' by 12' room. The real problem was a wall-unit air conditioner whose compressor turned on every five to seven minutes during the night to keep the room at 74 degrees. I was awoken throughout the night, even after I used the decorative bed pillow for my head and one of the rocks, I mean pillows, to cover my other ear as I made every effort to sleep through the train-wreck noise of an air conditioner. Why didn't I open the windows, you ask? Because there were none to open, only the french doors that served as the entrance to the room. Upon checkout, I advised the front desk of the problem and the horrible, sleepless night I had had. Their response? "Oh, we're real sorry about that." Maybe the other rooms are better than this one, but I wouldn't bother trying. And, by the way, this is what $267.63 gets you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Christina,

Thanks so much for your review. We recently became the new owners of Cypress House and are working hard to make dramatic changes. We have removed all of the outdated and run-down furniture from the rooms, including the bathrooms. They no longer feel overcrowded, but are as spacious as they were meant to be in a Grand Conch Mansion. We have already completed floor to ceiling remodels of four rooms and will have all 22 guestrooms renovated by the end of this year, including private bathrooms and new air conditioners for all. The beds now already have new mattresses, comfy pillows & duvets and our housekeepers pride themselves on high standards of cleanliness. Truly, the rooms and grounds are spotless. The historic architecture of the hotel stems from 1888, so perhaps some slightly slanted floors can be excused, for now. The upcoming renovations will correct that. I think your visit with us was during the beginning of our transformation and I do hope that you will come back to see us next year. You will be wonderfully pleased. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Cypress House Hotel : Key West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 487 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

The cypress house is probably one the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed at. The service was great, rooms were very clean, and all of the staff was very friendly. It was so relaxing that it reminded me of home. I could live there the rest of my life and never have anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were very excited to return to the Cypress House, our 10th visit. Upon our entry, we thought it odd they left the gates open, thus apparently allowing anyone to roam the property, which rendered us uneasy of our security. Following our check-in we asked a few question as it was apparent that there were changes due to the sale of the inn to a group. Just one question, as an example, was to whether the happy hour had changed, which seems to be a contended point with most returning guests as I have read. It was explained to us that the mortgage on the property was a "big nut" and that the former inn keeper (a.k.a.: Dave) spent far too much money on such unnecessary things, and now they had "theme" happy hours in their place. Much more cost effective.

Off to our room (#14), looking over the pool. As we walked through the grounds we noticed the very apparent shabbiness of everything. This we chalked up to the fact that the property being sold and money spent on up-keep is normally not expected. That said, the buyers should have been aware of that fact and requested/contracted , as part of the agreement of sale, that the property remain to be maintained for their guests. Related, we found our room very ill-maintained, and in fact our doors were literally falling apart. I left my key in the room and shut the door. After realizing I didn't bother asking the desk person for a spare key I merely pulled the locked door open again. This is but another example of their lack of security much the same as the unlocked gates as mentioned earlier.

Other things were not very guest oriented, as can be expected. The breakfast buffet was poor, as was the pool maintenance. The staff, aside from one or two persons, were not very welcoming or friendly at all, particularly in comparison to the former staff. Even the new furnishing they were bringing in as we were leaving was cheap-looking, very cold and corporate. Unlike the novel furniture befitting the style of the Cypress house historical background.

Regardless of how the new/current property owner viewed their customer service regimens, they need to rethink it. In fact, many of the other guests were returnees and no one was happy with their experience. The over-whelming comments were that we all had to seek another, more friendly and better managed inn to stay for our next visit to Key West.

Following my wife and my disastrous first couple of days, with our shock at how poor the Cypress House had become, we vowed to make the best of our experience in Key West. Thanks to all the other guests that were at the Cypress House during our stay, as well as the memory of what Dave Taylor and his had-picked staff engrained in our previous visits to the Cypress House, for which we are grateful. They truly treated the in as their personal property and their guests as friends whom they invited into their home.

BTW, in reviewing comments of past, one will clearly see that up until recently, guests were very happy. Recent comments, not so.

Karl & Maggie, PA

Room Tip: Don't bother...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have been coming to Key West 1-2 times a year and missing out on Cypress everytime. We finally get a room on our anniversery and the place is now under new mgmt. We soon found out its not the same. We will notify our friends that there is no more HAPPY HOUR the way Dave spread it out, the new version is chips and punch and the hot portion of breakfast is Spam in a can.

Room Tip: room 8 or the best room is 5
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thanks for your review, Mike. Span-in-a-can sounds funny, but it's not true. We would never serve that, yuk, and offer much better, and tastier, items. We have a different frittata daily along with fresh fruit, baked goods and steaming coffee and tea. Happy Hour has changed a little bit; we still have several delicious appetizers, including chips, beer and a nightly cocktail special. Thanks again for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been traveling to the Keys for 15 years and when in Key West I would try to stay at the Cypress House. After a recent change in ownership, I can say not just from my recent visit,but others there also agreed, it's just not the same. the staff seemed less than eager to be there,with no real care about the returning guests. The happy hour which used ti consist of a dozen liquors,mixers,several types of beer,a cheese tray,a veggie tray, and also a hot dish,now has premade margaritas,and a pizza dip. Not at all what it used to be. If this is the direction they are going fine,but let the returning guests know! Not only have they changed for the worse,their rate has gone up by over 100$ a night on the basic room. I will now start looking for a new bed and breakfast to stay at!

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay in this area.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Hotel : Key West, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Dear LantanaFer,

Thank you so much for writing. We are very happy to be the new owners of Cypress House and we understand that change can be difficult. Some past guests have already welcomed and embraced them, others have not. We have already substantially upgraded the furnishings overall, the mattresses are cozy and inviting and we are currently creating private bathrooms for all guestrooms! We have added hot items to the breakfast menu and are keeping the social hour poolside in the evenings, where the cocktails and food selections change nightly. Dennis, Chris and Kristy are still introducing guests to each other in the evenings, lots of laughter is coming from them and new friendships are forming. We have great plans going forward and we hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Just blocks off Duval, this Historic Old Town Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from all the action and activity on Duval Street. Very large rooms, shared bathroom just down the hall. Includes very good continental breakfast daily and included happy hour daily.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the front rooms and had double doors that opened onto the front porch. Great for...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great location and beautiful setting, but has become a little worn over the years. Needs attention to general decor, bathrooms and most particularly to unfriendly and unhelpful staff. It appears you're doing them a favour by staying there. Apparently the place has recently been sold: there is no host/hostess (urgently needed) and the staff could use a course in customer care. Really hope the new people turn things around as it's intinsically a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrianRussellShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $201 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Cypress House Hotel located in the Old Town area of Key West. Cypress House is a stylish historic, boutique Key West hotel with 22 guest rooms located just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport; you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and all the things you want to do. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property with many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing