We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden jam in Key West”
Review of Atlantis House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis House
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

we stayed there 1/3~7 2014 when we were down in Key West for the family wedding. 1st impression upon arrival was great. Cap. Steve picked up us from the airport. gave us good tips where to go and eat. We stayed at Garden Suite, it was so nicely decorated. when we were there, the weather was very bad (cold and rainy). We really felt staying with Steve Kayla really made our time down there. Kayla makes the best key lime pie, much better than what we had in the restaurants.

The attention to the details in the room was amazing. We travel worldwide and have been to exotic villas in southeast Asia, Pacific. Atlantis House top our experiences. The bed was so comfortable, Ralph Lauren sheet, I couldn't believe they use the luxury sheet for the guest house. They brought back the organic bath towels from Turkey and offer these for the guest room. Certainly enjoy it. The little garden outside of the rooms are very zen. We enjoy sitting out there sipping coffee in the morning.

it'll definitely be our first pick if we return to Key West. we will also try to charter Cap. Steve boat out for a fishing trip and have lobster dinner. All those we didn't get to do due to busy family schedule.

Thank you Steve and Kayla for such wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! And thank you for noticing and appreciating all the little details. One of Kayla's many talents is interior design. It was always her intention for the guest rooms to have a soothing zen atmosphere. She is so pleased to know that you enjoyed the Garden Suite and all it's little "extras". Weather permitting, your next visit will involve a boat trip and a lobster dinner! And you'll be happy to hear that we always finish it off with a slice of Kayla's Key Lime Pie! We look forward to having you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for Atlantis House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 410 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here from 2/19/14 - 2/22/14 and I have to shout out a great big THANK YOU to Steve and Kayla (and I musn't forget Nemo) for making our trip to Key West to celebrate our 32nd Anniversary better than we could have hoped for. They are the most gracious of hosts, starting with picking us up at the airport, to the fresh flowers in our room and Kayla's yummy Key Lime pie! We've been to Key West before and were looking for someplace a little off the grid and Atlantis House is just that. A short 10-minute bike ride on the terrific bikes they provided to us and we were right in the heart of Duval street and the pier. But what a difference that 10 minutes away from the hustle and bustle makes each night, to come back home after a day of fun in town, to the fabulous Zen oasis they have created in their little corner of the world. Fabulous outdoor patio with bubbling fountains and chaise lounges and sofa, softly lit at night. We stayed in the Master Suite and it is huge - easily the size of 2 or more typical Key West hotel rooms, for far less than we would have spent elsewhere. My photos don't do it justice, since the bed is full of comfy throw pillows and these were taken after a restful night's sleep. Peaceful, quiet, and relaxing with so many extra-special touches (those Turkish towels are amazing).....comfy bed, awesome shower and a jacuzzi tub which we didn't get to use, but it is certainly big enough for two. Then, fishing with Captain Steve, to catch some grouper and a mutton snapper that Kayla cooked up for lunch for us before we headed back home. I mean seriously, I don't know where else you get that kind of special attention anywhere else in Key West. So, so happy I stumbled onto this place on Trip Advisor when looking for that special place to stay and we will be back. Thanks again. It is now several days later and we are back to the grind of work, and we still can't stop talking about what an amazing trip it was, thanks to Steve and Kayla.

Room Tip: Only two guest rooms to choose from, so we can only comment on the Master Suite which was absolutely...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GABruceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Wow! What a nice review, thank you so much for taking the time to write one. When we read reviews like this one it makes us feel so grateful for having the wonderful guests that we are lucky enough to host. Sounds like you made the most of your stay and enjoyed the room, bikes, gardens, fishing trip and Key West in general. We are so pleased to have been a part of that! There really is nothing like having the freshest grouper sandwich on the island (made with the grouper that you just caught!) followed by some refreshing Key Lime Pie surrounded by lush tropical gardens and water fountains. We, including Nemo of course, hope to have you as our guests again! Happy 32nd Anniversary again with wishes of many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent three nights at the Atlantis House and thoroughly enjoyed it. Capt. Steve was very friendly and accomodating.

The welcome piece of key lime pie was delicious! We stayed in the Garden Room, and enjoyed the kitchenette with its own sink, microwave, and mini refrigerator. The bathroom was also huge and easy to use. The outdoor deck was beautifully done and our only regret was that we spent so little time enjoying it.

What we enjoyed most were the complimentary beach bikes. We left our car parked at the Atlantis House and didn't turn-on the ignition again until we left! We walked around Key West the first day, but quickly discovered you could cover a lot more ground with the bicycles. All of the roads, even the famous Duval St., are bike friendly. We probably crossed the key from North to South about six times. It only took us about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace to reach the North end, as Key West is only two miles top to bottom. Locals and tourists alike enjoy biking around the key. We even utilized the LED lights on the bikes at night when we returned after dinner. Perfect!

The Atlantis House does charge extra for breakfast, but with the bicycles we were able to find breakfast served elsewhere around Key West. The closest breakfast place we could find (there may be one closer) was about one mile away, so utilizing the bikes saves you a lot of time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderLust M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your detailed and wonderful review! Over the years, we have added many options and offerings to make staying at the Atlantis House as much like "home" as possible. When our guests take advantage of all we have to offer, it makes us feel as if we have fulfilled that intention. We are proud say that we are the only guesthouse that offers complimentary bicycles (a $30-40/day value) which are truly the best way to see Key West in "island style" allowing you to take in sights, sounds and also the delights of over 260 fantastic restaurants all of which are within 2 miles and many that also deliver breakfast, lunch and dinner right to your suite. Since The Atlantis House is not a B&B, we offer a lovely and filling Continental breakfast for an additional fee for those guests that would rather not venture out for breakfast, but again, you can always order in! Sandy's Café, a locals favorite that is only 1/2 mile from the property, is open 24 hours and will deliver a scrumptious pressed Cuban breakfast sandwich and piping hot Café con Leche within minutes! Hope to see you again and to have you as our guests in your future visits to Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We enjoyed very much our stay and the warm welcome at the Atlantis House. We have been on the island many times before and this was one of our best experiences. The Master Suite is beautiful and arranged with good taste. The location is not close to most activitities to do on the island but if you like to walk or bike not a real problem and taxis are plenty and not expensive. We recommend this place to everyone who wants a quiet and pleasant environment in Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry-Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and elegance of the Master Suite, even if it was for just one night! We pride ourselves in having created an atmosphere of peace and tranquility at the Atlantis House, as much of the Old Town area is raucous and bustling with visitors, bars and barkers! At times, it's so quiet at our property that it's hard to believe that we are a mere 2 miles from anywhere you would want to be on the island. Since Key West is only 6 square miles, it's quite easy to explore on foot or on our complimentary bicycles (a $30-40/day value) but there are many things to do nearby. We are within a short walking distance to all public access beaches, the Key West Garden Club and Historic West Martello, The Marine Park, White Street strolling/fishing Pier, Salute restaurant and the Indigenous Park/Bird Sanctuary. In addition, Atlantis House offers a variety of boating excursions, optional fresh catch dinners and deep relaxation massage but those all require more than a one night stay to arrange. Hopefully your next visit will be longer and we can show you more of what The Atlantis House has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a wonderful little gem that exceeded our expectations! We stayed there January 31-Feb 3 and wished we could have stayed longer. We thought we were checking into a suite in a house with a garden view. How delightful to find our "Garden Suite" was really our own little, 3 room, "cottage-like" abode with a private entrance a beautiful, tropical garden right outside our door. The suite was immaculate, beautiful, and comfortable with high quality furnishings and linens. From the first contact before we arrived and throughout our stay, Capt. Steve was very responsive and helpful. He pick us up at the airport and since we arrived at lunchtime, before the suite was ready, he dropped us off at Salute Restaurant just a few blocks away. How convenient to have a great restaurant so close by - we ate there 3 times in 3 days! We used the bicycles to ride to the grocery store, beverage store, Higgs Beach, Smathers Beach, and around town. We also appreciated the cooler, beach chairs, and beach umbrellas that we could use. Although Kayla was out of town, Capt. Steve treated us to a slice of her delicious key lime pie before we departed. We highly recommend the Atlantis House to any couple looking for a romantic get-away and quiet oasis in Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review. Our goal is to make every guest feel at home and as cozy and comfortable as possible so that their experience can be a relaxed, laid back, convenient and memorable one. Whether we are picking you up at the airport or making restaurant recommendations, it's all about making your vacation all that you hoped it would be. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Garden suite as much as you did as well as the garden area just outside the door. We feel that providing the bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs, umbrella and coolers takes the worry out of spending a day at the beach! We're happy that you took advantage of all that! It was a pleasure having you as our guests and look forward to hosting you again in a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Master Suite at the Atlantis House from January 27-30. It is a very large suite with a great tub and shower, I also enjoyed doing my hair and makeup in the area with a large seat and great lighting in the bathroom. They have the room set up with speakers to play music from the television or if you want to hook in your ipod/iphone. The backyard deck is a little slice of oasis with beautiful landscaping and great seating. We were lucky enough to have a slice of Kayla's key lime pie which truly was the best on the island (and believe me, we ate it at every restaurant). Although we were unable to meet Kayla during our stay, Captain Steve was more than a gracious host. I highly recommend using the bikes available to get around town as everything is relatively close but still far enough away from the craziness of Duval St. Another couple celebrating a birthday was staying in the Garden Suite at the same time and they were simply lovely to meet also!

We booked Captain Steve for an eco-tour boat ride and it was by far the favorite part of our vacation. The water was beautiful and Boca Grande is worth the trip, seashells galore!

We felt as though we were staying with a friend who really cared about our Key West experience, I would definitely recommend the Atlantis House for accomodations in Key West.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks so much for your taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Master suite. We do our best to provide our guests with as much of the comforts of home as possible! We also try to provide the little extras that make the Master suite so special. The makeup vanity takes advantage of the great natural lighting from the huge skylight above and of course with 17 ft. vaulted ceilings, good speakers make the sound quality of the TV/music really grand! In the tropics you don't want to miss any outdoor time and the deck area is the perfect spot to relax, soak in the sun or nap away a lazy afternoon. But of course the best thing to do by far in Key West is to get out on or in the water the eco-trip to Boca Grande is a great way to do both especially given Capt. Steve's love of sharing his knowledge of mariculture and Key West history. We hope that we'll see you again for a future visit and rest assured Kayla will be here next time waiting with a slice of her amazing Key Lime Pie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Captain Steve and Kayla have outdone themselves with this masterpiece of a pristine of a home with stunning garden directly across the street from the Atlantic Ocean. Our Garden Room was a romantic masterpiece. The backyard garden, where we relaxed and talked into the wee hours was landscaping out of BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS, in fact, I can state unequivocally, that is the way we felt about the whole package deal. Beyond all of that, Steve and Kayla are the best inn-keepers and we welcome you to contact us should you visit Northern California and Wine Country in the summer of 2014. We'd love to hang out again. We'll email you some recommendations on where and how to travel to and through San Francisco into Wine Country and back soonest. Otherwise, we're all for doing a house swap. Thank you again for a magical experience. Krista and I will continue to recommend the Atlantis House to all friends, family and associates traveling to Key West. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantishouse, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! It was so much fun meeting and spending time with you. We have always prided ourselves on not only making our guests feel at home but in presenting our very best to them whether it's with Steve's special touches in the tropical garden or Kayla's exotic eye for interior design, so we truly appreciate that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise! Don't be surprised if we look you up when we come to Northern California so we can pick up where we left off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
166 reviews
1.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,162 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Address: 1401 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $243 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Atlantis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing