We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlantis House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
438
11
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain stevemaster suitegarden suitekayla's key lime pieeco tourgreat hostsbikes providedboca grandeour honeymoonfishing tripduval streetgrouperjacuzzi tuba short bike rideguest houseseparate showerthought of everything
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 451 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Atlantis House was everything and MORE than I expected it to be. From the lovely decor of the Garden Suite, to the enchanting allure of the garden all the way to the private ocean front pool and the always accessible bicycles--this vacation proved to be one of the most incredible trips my fiance and I have ever been on together. It had been a long 4 years since we had been able to get away so we were really looking for something special and we ABSOLUTELY found it here. Kayla and Steve couldn't have been more accommodating, they were so lovely and friendly--I don't think there are better hosts on the entire island. We even charted Capt Steve's boat for a day of fishing and afterwards he and his gorgeous wife Kayla cooked our catch (a 28'' grouper). It was the most SPECTACULAR meal of our entire trip--good music was playing, the drinks were flowing, the food was DELICIOUS and the company terrific. We had such an amazing stay we're already planning a couples trip with our friends for sometime in November!!! I can CONFIDENTLY say this is the BEST guesthouse/bed & breakfast on the ENTIRE ISLAND and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an especially romantic and unique place!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sallygirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for the heart warming review and pictures you sent! We truly enjoyed getting to know you better on the Fishing trip and over Dinner. Great catch on the Grouper! Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Capt. Steve and Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have stayed in several bed and breakfast places in Key West and I can rate the Atlantis House as one of, if not the best, small places to stay on the island if you want privacy, comfort, beauty, great hosts, additional offerings and close proximity to the largest beaches. We stayed in their Master Suite that has been decorated with really cool furnishings from the past and present, has high ceilings, great lighting, a kitchenette, a large jacuzzi tub, surround sound for music or TV, plush towels and a small, lush tropical outdoor space created by the host that is only shared by one other suite. There is a very private pool available that was perfect for us because the winds during our visit made the beach an unfriendly place. The hosts, Captain Steve and his wife Kayla, are a treat in themselves and we didn't get to experience Kayla's kitchen creations, but have heard that they are incredible. Check out their Facebook page to see pictures and read about their adventures on the ocean and at their beautiful guest house in Paradise. We will always consider staying there again when we go back to do all the things that remain on our Key West bucket list.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose from and we didn't get to check out the Garden Suite but pictures on their website look beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truej0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

As others have said, this is a wonderful place to say in Key West. We stayed in the Master Suite - a huge room with a high ceiling and a dream bathroom. The furnishings were all of the highest quality - hardly the motel standard junk you'll find in most places. Replacing this motel standard, you get solid beautifully made bed, (super king size), dresser, stools (for the wet bar) and chairs found in various antique stores by one of the owners - Kayla who clearly is a talented designer.

The location is between Higgs and Smathers beaches over at the quiet, south side, of Key West as opposed to the bars and all night riot that marks a good deal of the north end of the west side of the small island. We much prefer living in the quiet and having to travel a bit to the noise when we want it than living within the noise and having to travel to escape it. Give me this location over the constant party that's a mile away at the north end of Duval Street.

Besides the surprising size of the room, the luxury of the bathroom area and the fine furnishings, we were amazed and pleased by the little things which elevate this guesthouse to well above the norm. These little things are, for example, sheets which exceed in quality the costly high thread count sheets we use at home and the huge Turkish bath towels actually sourced by the owners while in Turkey. It includes much better than usual soap, shampoo and conditioner as well as a dozen other small touches none of which alone makes or breaks a guesthouse but which together makes the Atlantis a remarkable experience.

I can't stop without mentioning the gardens which are plain astounding. There are many places to sit or recline in those gardens where you can enjoy the tailored nature and the plantings which, to us from New Mexico, were spectacularly exotic.

We've stayed in other places which technically are the Atlantis Guesthouse's competition but none are a patch on this place. It is THE place to stay in Key West.

Room Tip: The hot tub in the Master Suite could double as a swimming pool.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryadsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon in Atlantis House and we were very satisfield! It is very cozy, clean, delicious breakfast and very well located. Capt. Steve and his wife Kayla are very friendly and attentive, know all about Key West. Snorkeling with Steve is also amazing!
For those who like music it's worth taking a lessons with Steve and his son, professional musicians! Atlantis House combines with Key West. Certainly we´ll try again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruno s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful few days in Key West staying at Atlantis House. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Great value for what we had. Lovely clean room, nice big bathroom and shower and perfect location away from the touristy parts of Key West, but close enough to walk cycle or drive to where one needs to go. Steve and Kayla were the perfect hosts and were very welcoming offering loads of advice on what to do and where to eat.
The property has the use of a small private pool across the road which looks on to the sea which as great. The beaches are very close to - Smathers beach being the better one nearby. Steve offers some great looking trips on his boat - snorkelling, fishing etc which we unfortunately could not take advantage of due to higher than optimum wind conditions but in the future we will look to return and take a boat trip to the nearby reef.
Would certainly recommend anyone to stay here if you do not like the Big resort type of environment.
Also make sure you try the homemade Keylime pie courtesy of Kayla and say Hi to 'Nemo' the dog!
Thanks again Atlantis House for making our trip very special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews