We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We stayed at Marrero's for the first 4 nights of Fantasy Fest and enjoyed it. John was a nice guy, contrary to what people have said in previous reviews. The clothing optional pool was very nice and relaxing, which we thought was one of the best features there, because we enjoy the freedom of being nude. The location cannot be beat, only 1/2 block off Duval St. and walking distance to the bars and shops, unless you need to get things without paying the Duval St. prices or make a quick run to Kmart, then you will need a cab or public transportation, if you don't have a car. The best part is the friendliness of the other guests.

  • Liked — Clothing Optional Pool, Location and Other Guests
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank craigo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    98
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
39
465
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My partner & I love this place!!!!! A must when in Key West!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RDW1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We travel to Key West 2 to 3 times a year and recently had the pleasure of staying at Marrero's Guest Mansion. This is a gem just steps from Duval Street. The inn is well kept and John does a great job making sure that you have a great stay. The clothing optional pool, stocked fridge by the pool and happy hour were a great bonus. We will be back soon!

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — Having to go home
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mvpphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Pool in the back is your own little private escape from KWest. Clothing optional was great, even for a couple of novices. Felt very comfortable opting for droping our bathing suits. Also open all night so made for some fun times on the way in from partying. Stocked beer cooler at the pool came in handy many times as well.

Breakfast was great. i am a light eater at breakfast and the fruit was exceptional.

John is very accomidating without being over-bearing. Knows what to do and where to go and is happy to help out.

Location couldnt be better - close enough to Duvall to party all you want and far enough so you dont hear all the noise.

New club Zoo located just 1/2 block away is a lifestyles club. we went several times but between tropical storm evacuation and being a new club not much happening.. will definately check back in there though, nice club.

Happy hour is a nice touch - long enough to get aquanted with others staying in the house and not too long that it gets in the way. Had time for drinks and then a walk off to malory square to watch the sunset.

Will definately book again and have referred several friends.

  • Liked — Clothing optional pool
  • Disliked — some of the rooms are a little small but fine for a few days.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pghrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailing
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at Marrero's for 5 nights. The place is great. The location could not be better. We stayed in room 20 and was very pleased with the room. The house is clean and well kept, the pool very comfortable.

  • Liked — This is a comfortable place with unobtrusive staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhill
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

What a great time! We have stayed at a few other places in Key West, but nothing compares. John was great in helping us schedule anything we wanted to do along with his restaurant reviews. Breakfast was a plus along with the happy hour.

The pool was great, the water was warm and it was open all night! I would not look any further if your coming down to Key West to have a fun time.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank medic7810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Marrero's Guest House has had wonderul reviews, so one would expect a wonderful experience, no? We don't have many complaints... it's a very nice bed and breakfast with a lot of great amenities, but you must follow the rules.
Our first morning there, I had gone out for a run and came upon Alisa, the housekeeper, hurridly getting breakfast together. I understand rushed... but the comment of "Have at it" as she left the breakfast area left a lot to be desired.
John is great - he's not a bubbly personality, but he fulfills every request. Just follow his rules.
I was honestly a little surprised at the allowance of poolside nudity, compared to the rest of the house rules. Sorry, I can't be comfortable / frontal male nudity and female nudity, as well. Guess my Bible Belt upbringing is showing too much. Of course, all this is awkward if your 23 year old daughter is with you.
One last comment. We checked in w/ a small cooler. WeE were advised to leave it outside on the balcony which we did. We were also told the ice machine didn't make enough ice to fill it. On out departure morning, we filled the tiny rooom ice bucket twice to get some ice for the cooler before leaving. Alsia commented to my daughter: "I know what you're doing ...you're filling that damn ice chest"
Well, yes, we were gettting a small amount of ice to put in, but should we have been the recipient of profanity?
The amenities were very good at Marrero's, but the over-riding rules were a bit of a let down.

Helpful?
2 Thank Beachsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.7 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Property: Marrero's Guest Mansion
Address: 410 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marrero's Guest Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrero's Guest Mansion is a historic mansion that has been converted into a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served daily from 8:30-10:00 am and Happy Hour is served daily from 4:30-5:30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marrero's Guest Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing