We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visitors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Ranked #17 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Repeat visitors!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I have visited this "find" at least six times in the last four years. Steve, the manager, is very sociable, and makes the trip seem like "coming home again". We meet people who we have met before because of "repeat offenders!". You will find that people keep coming back year after year...we do! We are not ones that participate in the clothing optional pool, however, if you are okay with the human body, go to the pool....we always do. Breakfast and happy hour are fun and everyone always share what they are doing and did the night before. If you don't know the area, come to breakfast or Happy Hour and you will be given answers to your questions, recommendations for dinner, etc. On our recent trip we went to restaurants that we have walked by dozens of times and were delighted. We met new friends and are already planning our trip in November. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    98
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
39
465
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

a wonderful little gem in Key West. Nude pool and deck was key reason in selecting Marrero's. Also great location - Duval street, harbor. Steve was a fantastic host . Happy hour - esp if you are drinkers. and nice breakfast in the morning. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A nice welcome from Steve the owner but the room was dirty dated in fact the whole place was in need of a major re-furb !
Then we were moved to an even smaller room which wasn't even big enough to put a suitcase down in and was equally filthy with thread bare sheets hideous furnishing and came complete with a large animal poo which remained there for the entire stay and the owner doesn't not stay on the premises
I really don't know how any one could actually give this place a good rating ! The best thing about it was the location !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smackawits, Manager at Marrero's Guest Mansion, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are sorry our travelers did not approve of the furniture. However, one person's "hideous furnishings" is another person's "antiques". I talked to the house cat, Stripes, about the mess on the back veranda. He was agast that the client did not know the difference between "animal poo" from the back and "hairball" from the front. "It" did stay on the veranda for the whole 12 hours that this client was in the room. The hairball did disappear the next day, as it should have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have always stayed at either the Weston or the Pier House at the end of Duval and have always been quite pleased. However, once we stayed at Marrero's Guest Mansion, we will reluctantly drag ourselves back to the other two venues if/when Marrero's has no vacancies. Marrero's is a charming old Victorian with comfortable and equally charming rooms. The back yard, tropical pool is secluded from the rest of the world which lends itself to total relaxation. On of our favorite parts of our stay was the daily happy hour from 5 to 6pm. Steve, the amiable host of Marrero's mixes up some tasty drinks and is part of the fun on the sprawling front porch. The happy hour made it easy to meet the other guests who were all very nice and sociable people, some of whom we met up with on Duval and enjoyed more cocktails and laughs. This is truly one of the nicest and sweetest places in KW. Pier House and the Weston, although truly elegant and nice, pale in comparison to this lovely gem. Thanks, Steve for a memorable stay at Marrero's.
My best,
Janice G.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janiceg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Marrero's location was as close as you want to be to the heart of Duval (Key West’s version of “Bourbon Street” with strip clubs replaced by drag shows) and all of the action, but being a half a block off the main drag made it feel like you were in a quite neighborhood bed and breakfast. That is what it is first and foremost, so the rooms aren’t perfect and they aren’t luxurious, but they are accurate to the website. The room we had, number 14, was nice and spacious, not adjacent to any other rooms, and was right by the pool. The “optional pool” is why we chose Marrero's in the first place. There is something about loosing the swimsuit, that makes people more open and friendly. It is a different mind set when it comes to “optional” resorts and inns. We have never failed to find people that are friendly, talkative, provide recommendations, or ask you to join them at dinner if you don’t have plans. The five pm happy hour added to the friendly nature of the inn; it should not be missed. The breakfast was simple, but with all of the great breakfast places like Blue Heaven and La Crêperie a few blocks away it didn’t matter. Steve the innkeeper was a great host and provided recommendations for restaurants and entertainment that were spot on. It will be our first choice when we return to Key West.

Room Tip: Room 14 right off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had been skeptical if we would like staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We had stayed in Key West many times but always at large hotels with many services and benefits. But our good friends loved Marrero's and we trusted them enough to take our first plunge.

And we LOVED IT! We loved our host Steve and his wfie Jackie. We loved the mansion, we loved the buffet beakfast every morning and we especially loved the free happy hour everyday on the front porch.

Besides Steve, the guests who were staying at Marrero's also added to our enjoyment. We met a wide variety of folks from all walks of life. Steve calls his returning guests "repeat offenders" and I guess we will now be in that catagory.

The location is 1/2 block off of Duval St. which is close enough but also far enough where you don't get any of the street noise. We were there over St Patrick's Day weekend and the town was packed and noisy. Of course you would never know it while relaxing on the front porch or at the private clothing optional pool at Marrero's.

And speaking of the pool; it is heated and I would guess that is was well over 80 degrees. This was appreciated durinig our late night swims as the air tempature was only in the 60's. During the day most of the pool is in full sun but there are also shady areas to escape the hot sun. The pool is rather large for the size of the inn. The seating around the pool is limited to around eight lounge chairs.

The breakfast on the front porch consisted of coffee, tea, juices, pastries, bagels, yogurt, cold cereals and probably a few other things I missed. It was a nice start to another beautiful day in paradise. Everyone we met was very social and friendly.

From 5 to 6PM, Steve hosts a happy hour on the front porch. This consists of domestic beer, various red and white wines, and other cocktails and mixed drinks. This is just as social and friendly as the breakfast. Maybe a little friendlier after a drink or two!

We stayed in Room #13 which is on the first floor right behind the living room. The room is huge with two queen beds, two side chairs and a sofa. It also has a small private porch which overlooks an alley. We had no issues with anythiing in our room. Each room also has a small refrigerator.

When we stay again, I think we would prefer a 2nd floor room with a porch overlooking Fleming St. or we would want to stay at the poolside room.

We would highly recommend Marrero's Guest Mansion to our friends.

Room Tip: Room #13 is right hehind the living room. It is large with two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank g1921skiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Being that this was our first visit to Key West, we based our stay at Marrero's on TripAdvisor reviews. Couldn't have been happier. The properties location was quiet and relaxing, yet still only a couple of minutes walk to Duvall Street by foot. Our room was clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was well balanced, and our host Steve, couldn't have been more accomodating. We especially liked the afternoon happy hour where we were able to interact with other guests. The clothing optional pool was a great place to relax, read, or cool off in the afternoon. We definitely plan on returning here on our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #23 which was upstairs at the front of the mansion. This room had two beds separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harleyman1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.7 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Property: Marrero's Guest Mansion
Address: 410 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marrero's Guest Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrero's Guest Mansion is a historic mansion that has been converted into a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served daily from 8:30-10:00 am and Happy Hour is served daily from 4:30-5:30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marrero's Guest Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing