We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and pool.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrero's Guest Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Ranked #16 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and pool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the guest mansion because of on the clothing optional pool. The location could not be better, less than a block from Duval street which is the main strip. We had room number 16 which shares a bathroom with room 15. The rooms were clean with air conditioning. The pool was great and heated, it was about 75 degrees outside and raining and the pool was about 90 degrees. It made a rainy day fun. We will defiantly be back. Thanks Steve for a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    93
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
37
453
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amelia58
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want to be near Duval St, this is a perfect location. We took the ferry from Ft Myers and walked to the mansion. It was a bit of a hike with luggage and I would take a cab next time.
Steve, the manager, greeted us with a warm welcome. The rooms are all unique,some large and some small. Ours was small with a large bathroom, room #21. Our friends had room #18 which is one of the haunted rooms. They found 3 pennies on the threshold ( we put there) but no other paranormal experiences.Steve has many stories of sightings of the woman and her 8 children who were evicted from the house by the owner/husband"s first wife in the 1800s.
Breakfast on the porch is very nice as is the complementary happy hour(5-6pm). It is a place worth staying at especially if you party on Duval St.

Room Tip: Room # 18 is supposed to have had sightings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A short but great trip! We stayed in room 21 this time. Last two times we have been in 22. 21 & 22 are the two smallest and most affordable “private” rooms on the property. (15 & 16 are less $ but also share a bath) Room 21 has a larger shower and was easier for my wife to shave in than the sand-up only shower in room 22. Also room 21 has the door to the back deck which is way more convenient to use than trying to go through the house. 22 did have the private veranda but room 21 is at the end so its veranda is semi private as well. Everyone has different needs but we did like 21 better even though the room was cozy! Notice that I didn't mention anything about the size of TV’s or anything like that. It’s a place to sleep and a shower. I would hope the rest of your time would be at the pool or enjoying the island!! There is wifi so you can check email if you must?

As always, a real lively group for the complimentary happy hour on the front porch that goes from 5 to 6 pm. It seems that a more outgoing crowd is attached here but also when you want to be left alone people respect your privacy. All in all seems to always have a very outgoing but respectful group.

We already made reservations for another return trip ( #4) and this time we will be staying in room 14 which is one of two pool side rooms. Room 14 is attached to the house and has access doors to the inside hall or just outside the gate to the pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWBeachCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 3rd stay at Marerro's in mid-January. We love the location and casual atmosphere (this is not a formal, stuffy B&B like you might find in New England). Overall, this is a great value, clean & convenient.... But DO NOT STAY in room 22. The windows are thin tropical flaps of plexi-glass which do nothing to block the sound. I was very frustrated that I could not sleep before 1am since the neighbors seem to gather in their yard each night from 10pm - 1am. I could hear each beer being opened, every word of their conversation (drunks acting stupid etc) - this with the air conditioner running, travel fan next to the bed and ear plugs. We were also awakened in the morning by roosters at 4am. I hope the inn will consider installing better windows to control noise - since they can't do much to control the neighbors or roosters. To be honest, I didn't complain to Steve - as there isn't anything he could have done. I am posting this to warn future guests. Sleep is important - especially when you need to get up early to make a reservation on a fishing boat - or to catch a flight home. On a positive note..the inn is rich in history, Steve is very helpful with info on local dinning and activities, and the room we stayed in had been recently updated with fresh paint and tile work in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms 17 and 18 should be quieter. Also, the large room on the first floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 89DeborahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We loved this B&B! Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night in Key West but I am glad we chose Marrero's. We stayed in room #12 by the pool which was nice and private. The happy hour on the porch and continental breakfast were excellent with lots of choices! The house is beautiful and in a great location just steps from Duval St. Very relaxing, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigail1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I like the owners, I like the location, I love the house. We stayed in rooms 15 and 16 so sharing the bathroom was only a problem when I forgot to unlock the second door...Breakfast was simple but very good. Steve kept telling me to 'slow down, relax you are on vacation' He was right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viperfreak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel don't tell you that guests must be 21+ until AFTER booking a reservation. After booking a reservation, I received a confirmation email that said that guests must be 21+. This was the first time during the booking process that this requirement is even mentioned.

When I asked for a refund, Steve agreed but didn't tell me that he would withhold a $20 cancellation fee from the refund. When I asked him to refund the $20 cancellation fee, he said, "You should accept responsibility for not doing your homework better. The $20 fee will not be refunded."

I will now have to dispute the charge with my credit card company.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smackawits, General Manager at Marrero's Guest Mansion, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
This customer booked with us using our reservation system. Prior to filling out the reservation request form, our policies are on the screen for the customer's review before booking. Our policies state very clearly that 1) we are an all-adult (21+) facility; and 2) deposits taken for reservations within 14 days of arrival are non-refundable. It also states very clearly that reservations cancelled properly will have a $20 cancellation fee deducted from the credit. The adult only requirement is also clearly stated on our website. We thought we were doing this customer a FAVOR that we were not obligated to do, which was to refund his deposit because of HIS error for a reservation he made within 14 days of arrival that included a minor. I find it hard to believe that this individual will not take any responsibility for his own error. $20 is a lot less hurt than the $225 that we were entitled to keep per our stated policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Property: Marrero's Guest Mansion
Address: 410 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marrero's Guest Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrero's Guest Mansion is a historic mansion that has been converted into a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is served daily from 8:30-10:00 am and Happy Hour is served daily from 4:30-5:30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Marrero's Guest Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing