We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Douglas House - reasonable, good location”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #31 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Douglas House - reasonable, good location”
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I have stayed at the Douglas house twice, both times when I was traveling alone and wanted a quick get away. Given the pricey options in Key West, I have been pleased with the Douglas House for seveal reasons.

1) Like most beach B&B's/hotels, it gets alot of wear and tear, but the owners continually do work. The rooms are clean, although I agree with other reviewers that they could use new pillows and bedding. For what I paid both times, I thought the rooms were priced right.

2) The pool is nice and my rooms have always been just off the pool. There is a hot tub too. There is also a nice garden area to relax in.

3) The Douglas House is located on the quiet end of Duval. This is important to me. I walk up the street and have my fun, but when I come home I want to sleep, not listen to drunks or traffic all night.

4) The staff is friendly, responsive ahd helpful. On one trip, when I first arrived I noticed one of the locks on the room wasn't functioning well. As soon as I told the staff, they had the repair person come fix it immediately.

5) They offer parking.

It is not a 5 star resort, but I know that when I book it. It is a comfortable, friendly place in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    222
    77
    36
    18
See reviews for
98
412
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

First, the staff acts like they are doing you a favor if you stay there....they need to go to charm school. Their attitude is BAD. Room had kitchenette but no plates, no eating utensils. Room service was bad. No wash cloths one day. When told the front desk the response was "wait a minute" and they handed me the towels instead of bringing them to the room... no apologies. Very unfriendly place. Too bad, could be a nice place to stay but definitely not worth the $200+ per night. Stay across Duval street at The Speak Easy. We spent time at the bar and front porch to smoke cigars. These are very friendly people. Rooms look good and are a LOT less expensive. We are definitely staying there next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Yes, it could use sprucing up a bit, but the staff were doing some painting and repairs (quietly) while we were there. We stayed in the Princess Palms room and for the most part it was great. Internet connection was great, as I had to (unfortunately) do some remote work while we were there. Patio area is nice, lush vegetation & koi pond a nice touch. Staff was friendly and helpful the entire trip. Close proximity to Duval street is a plus.
Would visit there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorCycleMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2009

good location.the people that work there should go to charm school.this b&b needs some money spent on it.new sheets and pillow cases for sure.maybe some elbow grease in the bathrooms. definatley not worth 200 a night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2009

I stayed in the Travelers Palm Room. The pix were representative of the room. I agree that the furniture was rustic but everything was clean and neat. It was wonderful having a refrigerator in the room. I only had a shower, not a tub, but that's not a problem for me.

If you're picky about high thread count sheets, you probably ought to stay elsewhere. If you're looking for a good bargain on the quiet end of Duval, it's a great deal for the price.

The only thing I really missed was a heated pool. The weather was great but the pool was COLD!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Staff was generally unfriendly and annoying to deal with, room was missing a light bulb, had old low-quality pilled sheets, bathroom door didn't close (dragged on the floor), bathroom small and awkward and had a pre-fab shower instead of a real tiled shower. Shampoo + conditioner combined in one instead of separate bottles.

The pool was tiny, hot tub as well, old run-down wooden deck had splinters just waiting to happen.

For $200 per night, everything felt cheap and economy, as if they were saving money, pinching pennies, and staff was generally not so nice.

If this had been a motel for $99/night, I would say it's fine. But even for this location, right in the center of downtown Key West, it is just over-priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Felt cheap for the price + not welcoming staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ybroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Very pleased with the douglas house. Was small but cute and cozy. Great location, close to everything. The staff were just the nicest people and very helpful. My only complaints were that the shower leaked water all over the floor and it was a little noisy on weekends. Would stay here again and recomend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papa's Hideaway
Papa's Hideaway
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing