We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be wary of accommodation offered”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #32 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whiteley
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Be wary of accommodation offered”
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Had an overnight trip down to Key West. Stopped at Key West Visitors centre that suggested & reserved a one night stop at Douglas House. Free parking was supplied although at the other end of Amelia Street which was no problem. After paying for our room we were quickly shown the room which was above the Reception. Facilities were good, lounge with self catering facilities, bath/shower/toilet combination, bedroom with two king sized beds and balcony over looking the road. After the quick inspection we returned to our car to fetch our luggage. When we returned and went into the bedroom we noticed a loud motor noise droning in the background which would have been impossible to ignore when trying to sleep. We returned to the Reception to ask if there was another room we could have. We were told no other rooms were available and the motor switched off at 10pm which was acceptable to us as we would be out till about that time.
We returned later that evening and the motor was still running and continued all night. The noise was so bad we moved into the lounge, one of us one the sofa and the other on the floor. We could still hear the noise but it was less. Very little sleep was had by either of us.
As early as possible we had breakfast and left the room to do some sightseeing before leaving Key West for Miami Airport.
On checking out we complained to the gentleman on Reception about the noise and that his colleague had said the motor would switch off. We also stated that we were surprised no-one else had ever complained who stayed in that room. We were informed that the motor never switched off and his colleague knew this. No compensation was offered for our sleepless night, in fact the attitude was 'tough, we're not bothered'.
So if you stay in this B&B make sure you do not stay in the room above the Reception and check your room before paying.
The Continental Breakfast was okay, good choice of yoghurts, muffins, bread and fresh fruit.

  • Liked — The balcony
  • Disliked — Noise from motor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank RoyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    224
    78
    36
    18
See reviews for
100
416
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We read about this hotel & thought we'd give it a try. we really enjoyed our stay. It was very clean, comfortable & homey...We stayed in the room with the loft, and a private balcony overlooking the pond. I will definately stay again.

  • Liked — it was quiet & private
  • Disliked — really not any thing it was great
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

This was our 4th trip to Key West for the boat races week. We always go with about a dozen or so people we know and each of us book different types of accomodations and we change where we stay, so now have seen many and have a pretty good frame of reference to compare property pros and cons. We stayed twice at the Key Lime (larger, and the most expensive) and had nice stays, we also stayed at the Authors Guest house, which was also pretty decent, much cheaper, but further away from the main drag and had louder traffic from the room location we had. The Douglas house is on the Southern end off Duval on Amelia which is a one-way street, making it quieter yet located in the perfect spot if you are looking to be close to action, but not living in it while you sleep or when you want to get away. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful to us, whether it was to get faxes, more ice, set up a pizza delivery, more towels, whatever we needed, just super nice and seemed to be happy with their jobs and helping people. We had the Peach Palm room. Although it does look like the pictures, we were surprised to find that the private balcony was on the ground level. That turned out to be very convenient, though. There is a fridge, microwave, decent tv, the air worked fine and everything was clean, always. There is a small, nice pool with a hot tub connected to it, all very clean and beautiful gardens with little niches to sit for privacy with fountains and flowers or open areas to be social, whatever you prefer. We didn't spend a ton of time there, but would have been glad to. There was no smoking , no pets allowed (although there is a resident kitty!) and from what we could tell, no children from age 2-16, we didn't see any, so I would recommend for those trying to avoid being reminded of the children they left home and would not recommend this as family friendly. My personal opinion is that NO place in Key West in that busy area is appropriate for children anyway. Better to be on the outskirts, stock island or above with children? Continental breakfast and 24 hr coffee was a godsend. We had a double moped, although not needed if you like walking a bunch, we find it the most convenient way to hit the beach, bar or restaurant quickly, but be careful, people! Its not fun if someone is hurt or drinking too much. There is a piano bar right on the corner that I would have liked to go to, but never had a chance and there are lots of shops and galleries nearby and a store to stock up the mini fridge or moped to bring it on the go. We like to try out lots of new places and may try one right on the water next that will probably be a lot more expensive, but I feel very confident to recommend the Douglas House to anyone that is looking for a friendly, good valued gem, understanding its not a 5 star resort. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay! We'll see you again sometime!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Bed was a little hard
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmhsyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curlywilder
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My wife and I just took our Honeymoon here. We stayed in the Christmas Palm (room 3) for 6 nights. It was perfect. A little rustic feeling but a lovely space. the room had a full kitchen adequate enough to cook a meal in. The queen sized bed was above in a loft and we loved this feature. It left plenty of room for a sitting area downstairs. The BEST feature, however, was the enormous private deck that was quite secluded due to the location of the room. I fully recomend this room for a honeymoon.

The pool was great. It was small as many have said, but there was plenty of room to just hang out and even swim around a bit. Being able to move directly into the hot tub was a nice feature as well.

The staff was friendly and cleaned the rooms while you were out. They did not disturb us just to get thier work done. that was great.

We could not ask for a better location. Only a 20 yard walk to Duval St. and a couple of blocks from the Southern Most Point. The Douglas House was at the Southern end of Duval near the many galleries. This meant you did not hear the all night noise of the many bars at the north end of Duval. We walked to bars and Mallory Square in no time(About 15 min).

Overall I would highly recomend staying here. If we return to Key West we plan on staying in the same room.

  • Liked — The seclusion of our room
  • Disliked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank curlywilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in the coconut palm room. I've read that two other reviewers stayed in this room and found it to be different than the pictures shown, but from the pic I saw it was exactly what was advertised. Could be that they updated the pic recently.
The only issues that were somewhat troublesome was having to park our car in a lot a block or so away, and the non fuctioning freezer in our room. Other than that, all was good. It was quiet at night and we were able to get the hot tub to ourselves because no one else was out there!
We especially loved the location and walked everywhere we wanted to go. Mallory square was a little bit of a longer walk so make sure you wear comfy shoes. Skip the free breakfast and walk to camille's for an awesome breakfast!!

  • Liked — location, private balcony
  • Disliked — small pool, tiny shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evenwilderthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The online pictures are very deceiving for the Coconut Palm Suite. The bedroom would have been fine if they didn't try and squeeze a loft above the space. The stair to the loft was more like a ladder and not to mention a total code violation. The loft had no head room, so you had to duck in the space. If you are handicapped, forget about it. No handicapp accessibility ramps or rooms that accommodate.

  • Liked — Nice garden areas in cramped space. Space was utilized well.
  • Disliked — The Loft bedroom, beds were uncomfotable.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Douglas House was nice. We were shown the room to make sure we liked it before they checked us in. Big room with kitchen, sitting area, and bedroom. Nice high ceilings painted pink with ceiling fans. Old time charm. Pool was tiny and the continental breakfast wasn't anything special, but the location was just off Duval Street and about a mile from Mallory Square which made for a nice walk to see the sunset. Grounds were very well kept and the staff was friendly except for one bald guy. Still a nice place to stay. NOTE: The tourist informations center outside Key West was a business that gets fees from hotels for sending people there. There are more hotels than they have on their list.

  • Liked — Nice landscaping, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small pool, low water pressure,
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PelicanBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#19 of 77 in Key West
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#40 of 77 in Key West
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing