We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at The Douglas House!”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglas House
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another great stay at The Douglas House!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have recently returned from our latest visit to Key West where we, once again, stayed at The Douglas House on Amelia Street. This was our fourth stay at this guest house and, as always, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The grounds of this property are really attractive too, there are several little areas where one can sit quietly and read and the wifi throughout means that checking emails etc is very easy. The pool is always clean and inviting and there are several sun beds for relaxing.

Chris at the front desk helped us with the rental of an electric 'buggy' and with printing labels for a package we needed to return via UPS. Nothing was too much trouble.

The location of Douglas House is perfect. Just steps from the quieter end of Duval with a wine bar and a rum bar just across the street plus La Te Da restaurant just steps away too.

We will be back in Key West and at The Douglas House!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0t24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    226
    78
    36
    19
See reviews for
101
417
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have never felt so comfortable. Room L7 blew us away. Well worth the money. All the staff including the owner were really nice at all times. We booked a week there and ever day was a blessing. We never stay in the same place when we go aboard but we are already making plans on staying for longer next year. Coming from someone who is really critical and likes a fuss that is saying something. Thank you Douglas Inn for making our stay pleasurably. Kriss and J

Room Tip: L7 you will feel like a king and queen. Great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Douglas House for my vacation in Key West! Great spot, right off Duval Street. Very clean, and staff was very courteous! Arrived late due to flight delays and The Douglas House assisted in making sure we got checked into our room okay! Overall a great stay, and would definitely recommend it!! 5 STARS!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed here in the last 12 years, it gets better and better! We love the rooms,
love the grounds and the staff (especially Kris) are absolutely FABULOUS! Watch out-We will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galvi_J34731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrived in Key West with no accommodations. Stopped at the Information center just outside of Key West and the lady assisting us recommended this B&B as one of her favorite. We booked the Triangle Suite #12 based on her recommendation. We arrived at the Douglas House very pleased with it's location and accommodations. The B&B offers spacious rooms, pool and free coffee and tea all day. B&B is located just off the Duval Street. Shopping, restaurants, bars, beaches all with-in easy walking distance. Would stay her again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went to Key West for the first time last week. DH also accommodated 8 of our other friends so we had the opportunity to see their other facilities. DH is comprised of many different dwellings; ours was a one room with bed, mini fridge, MW. Their suites were large and accommodating, with full kitchens, dishwasher, balconies, the whole nine! Very impressive.

We checked in late and we received instructions to retrieve our keys. Very simple process. Bed was stiff (Unit #6) for my fiancee but good for me. TV and bathroom was nice, but small. AC was great! Our unit was right next to the office, so privacy was ehhhh, but the good thing was that not many people walked by it. It worked out fine. Pool area was great! Brand new deck, very pretty and scenic.

Kudos to Chris and his awesome hospitality! He made this trip great for us! From the check-in process, the price of the room, things to do, and he even gave us coupons for some great places to eat and drink! Total pro and an asset to DH. He made it happen.

Close to Southernmost Point, Kermit's Key Lime Pie, beach, everything! But not in the thick of things where the rowdiness is. Corner of Duval... awesome location! We will come back again, for sure. Thank you DH staff for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daoneCRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

If you are looking for that place that happens to be close to everything, look no more! The Douglas House was surrounded with things to see and do; best part, it is all walking distance. Staying here saves you the hassle of having to use your annoying, and mostly always wrong, GPS. Better yet, save that parking money for other fun activities The Florida Keys has to offer!

Our stay at the Keys lasted for a short 2 days in which we were able to do more than your typical tourist. We walked to our Sebago adventure tour, the southernmost point (90miles to Cuba), southernmost beach, Blue Heaven restaurant, Better Than Sex (desserts), and most importantly.. Duval for some well-known night life.

As if the convenient location wouldn’t sell on its own, the staff on location is EXCEPTIONAL! My husband dealt mostly with Chris, who works the front desk. Chris made great suggestions on things to do; even went beyond his job by asking us what we wanted to listen to while my husband and I went for a late afternoon pool dip before our departure :)

After unwillingly facing the fact that our vacation was over, we began to head back home. Five minutes after we left, we received an odd call from Chris. Did he miss us already? Maybe not. But he was calling my husband to tell him he left his Oakley sunglasses on the pool deck, as well as my little hair clip (those things are important to us women) ...THAT ladies and gentlemen, is superb customer service.

Cant wait to be back!
-David & Ivette

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivette0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#41 of 77 in Key West
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#18 of 77 in Key West
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Property: Douglas House
Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing