We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint retreat”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Douglas House
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Quiet hide-away. We went for a fun, girls weekend. 3 of the 4 girls had never been there. Rooms were quaint and clean. The pool area was secluded and relaxing. Kris from the front desk went above and beyond what anyone from a large hotel would do. We will be back! Thanks, Kris for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SungH368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Douglas House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 765 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Found this place through a reservation service and was really happy with it. Douglas House has a great vibe. The gentlemen at the front desk (father/son maybe?) were very nice and extremely helpful. Really acted more like concierges, giving recommendations and offering to make dinner and sailing reservations.

The grounds are beautiful, good sized pool, lots of sun chairs and orchids in all the palm trees. I think the property might be 2 or 3 different houses linked by the deck area, which created a really open and friendly feel. There were other guests around and everyone seemed happy to chat.

The room was nice, could use a little love - one of the decorative pillows was torn, old shower head and A/C unit that didn't quite cool - but it was clean and comfortable and had a nice patio.

The location is excellent, just a block from Duval and a short walk to the beach. They also have a private parking lot down the street.

I would recommend Douglas House to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had Room 9 (I think). 2 Queen beds, large bathroom, living room, nice patio and tall ceilings to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Condos were very nice! The staff were very pleasant and welcoming! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to others! Next time I am in the Keys, I will definitely return to the Douglas House!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nifer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights recently, staff was very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable, but a little small for 3 people (like most in KW). Some updating might be helpful- such as a few more electrical outlets. Location is convenient to Duval Street, easy walking distance to most attractions. The "heated" pool wasn't very heated during our stay but is probably comfortable during very hot weather (it was cool when we visited- in the high 60's and low 70's). Parking is convenient but not on the premises (a very short block away). I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: A first floor room is fine as long as upstairs guests are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location, near the Southernmost Point. Easy walking distance to Mallory Square and the north side of the island. Stayed 4 days and never needed a scooter or electric car.

Great heated pool and outdoor seating area for late nights or early mornings. Quite area, and parking lot reserved for guests behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storytellerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been going to Key West for many years and have stayed at a lot of different places. The Douglas House is now in our top 2. It is close to Duval St. but it is the quiet (south) end. There is a Circle K a block up (yes they have beer). If you are feeling lazy and don't want to walk, there is a cart rental store also a block up Duval St.

ALL of the staff was friendly and treated us like we were in a 5 star hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms, decided to stay an extra night but the room we were in was already booked. They moved our bags to the new room for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a six night stay. Due to the time of year (spring break) most of the rooms were booked, so I think we had the last one available. Located across from the office, L8 is at the end of upper level of an old home with a large porch. The room was clean but very small and the bed was terrible. We complained and were moved two nights later. Room 15 was a nice large room with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. This room is behind the office off the beautiful secluded garden oasis & pool. One last room change landed us in room 4, a cute little bungalow style room with a private porch. Also a very nice room. All rooms had a mini fridge & microwave, which was very convenient. The only thing which was really lacking...no continental breakfast, just coffee & tea.
Over all it was a nice place to stay and I think we would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#54 of 77 in Key West
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#37 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#42 of 77 in Key West
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $152 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing