We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Douglas House
Ranked #31 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stopped at a travel center about 30 minutes from Key West to book a night's stay in KW. We weren't planning on staying as we travel w/our dog and had been difficult finding a 'dog friendly' hotel online that was not booked. DH accomodated our needs for the 1 night stay. DH is ideally situated less than a block off Duvall St - closer to the Southernmost point end. They also have their own parking lot, however, it is a block away so glad we were traveling light. The suite we rented was way too big for our needs with living room, bedroom, full kitchen and bathroom. The TV in the bedroom was across the room from the bed - double bed - with very lumpy mattress [needed new one for sure] and sheets were probably 150 count if that? Nice, tropical setting and nice pool and spa - typical continental breakfast but there are many restaurants within walking distance to have a hearty breakfast instead. A bit on the noisy side with upstairs neighbors but it is an old house with creaky floors and doors! It was clean and staff was nice. There were many rules you had to agree to at check-in, which seemed a bit overboard but I'm not in innkeeper so guess the felt it necessary to cover all their bases of 'given' and 'common courtesy' rules. We did find several 'dog friendly' restaurants along Duvall, which was nice as well. KW is definitely a place to see but probably will never return.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank txfrekles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 776 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Doulgas House over the Christmas/New Year's break. We had the 'Peach Palm' room, which was small but nice, and a few of the suites we looked at were very nicely decorated and large. The property is spread out over several buildings. The pool area is well maintained and the garden areas are lovely but very small for this size property. If you are a sun worshiper be aware that there is very limited sun and few lounge chairs by the pool. Breakfast is basic but adequate. We have stayed at many inns in Key West and found the staff to be fairly cool and distant compared to other places. The location was a disadvantage for us as we tend to spend time around the wharf, but if you like the far end of Duval St. with its many galleries, LaTeDa, etc. the Douglas House is ideal. We watched the 'Sushi Shoe Drop' on New Year's Eve and we could walk back and forth easily from the Douglas House.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PK&TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed at the Douglas House in December 07. The staff was very accomodating and there is parking one block away. Our room was actually a suite with a living room, eating area and little kitchen area. There was a separate bedroom. We were quite comfortable in the room. The bathroom could have used a little table to put toiletry items. A hair dryer was provided to me upon request. The grounds are nice. All in all, I think we got good value for our money. My only complaint is the continental breakfasts. They were very pedestrian and mediocre. The management recommended Camille's restaurant which was very nice.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Annapearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Douglas House located just about on Duval Street is located near the Southernmost Point of the Keys. (1 block) The accomodations in our one-room suite were nice. Each area was appointed with seating ranging from handmade rattan armchairs to a pull out sofa in the main sitting area. Unfortunately, our sofa bed was not in proper order. When you sit on the sofa you immediately sink to the middle. The armchairs, however were extremely comfortable.

My husband and I stayed at the Douglas House one night. The mattress was pretty well worn. We recommended that they replace the mattress in our suite. Who knows if that will actually happen. Other than the bad mattress and sofa, our stay was delightful. The pool and gardens were meticulously maintained. Although, the spa was not working due to a broken or worn part. We still enjoyed the outdoor amenities.

Douglas House sure does have character. It's an enjoyable and quiet place to stay on a wild and crazy island. If you are looking for a place that sleeps larger groups, check out the Cuban Club on Amelia Street. Beautiful accommodations!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank diverchick27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Booked for one night only so my review needs to be seen in that context! Room was across the street in an attractive building. I feel if bedding quality was improved, the inn would have a more upmarket feel. Location is great & parking a bonus. Small pool is a treat too. Be sure to negotiate on your rate. Staff seem slightly indifferent which is a pity.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed at Douglas House for three days in August. It was a quiet resting place between moments of insanity in Key West. The management showed flexibility in moving our rooms back a few days due to the Key West Ferry's inabilility to deliver us in a hurricane. They also were able to give us an extra room when my 6'4" son balked at sleeping another night on a hide a bed! The rooms we had were spotless, the pool/gardens were tranquil and the staff very professional. Douglas House will be my destination anytime I am in Key West. They are very close to everything on Duval Street with out all the noise. Lovely

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Two Couples traveling together, we had a one night stay in Key West, booked the rooms along the way at a roadside Tourist Center. The price was right, we were a little skeptical of what we would wind up with. We were pleasantly surprised - the Douglas House staff was very helpful & friendly (there are a number of rules that they make you aware of at check-in, additional fees for lost keys, things like that - but then you can't say you didn't know). The rooms were spotless and comfortable, very nicely decorated, lots of space and the garden/pool area was absolutely lovely-beautiful plantings, fountains, fish in a pond. The continental breakfast was fine - coffee, tea, yogurt, toast, muffins - the same as at any other B&B that doesn't have a cooked breakfast. There are so many restaurants & bars within walking distance-as well as the major tourist spots. Wish we had more than one night. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank RAM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duval Gardens
Duval Gardens
#20 of 77 in Key West
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#13 of 77 in Key West
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $164 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing