We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as described”
Review of Duval Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duval Gardens
Ranked #20 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here only 1 night, but the hotel is absolutely as described in the reviews, you can trust the pictures as well. The lady (I suppode the owner) was very kind with us, our room was clean (except the light and its bulbs in the bathroom). The breakfast was lacking meat, but ootherwise everything was tasty and fresh, we really enjoyed it. The location is perfect, everything is very close, within walking distance. Very nice stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatTheFrakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 507 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

The only downside to this stay is that we were only able to stay one night! What a charming place! We were meeting family in Key West during spring break. As such, choices were limited since it is VERY busy during this time of year. We were lucky to find Duval Gardens. Right on Duval st, south of Truman, the `quiet side' of Duval. we were greeted by the hostess, Christina, who was very gracious. She showed us our room, which was a very charming king bed room right by the pool. The room was very clean, and had everything my wife and I needed. Parking, while limited, wasn`t an issue since i quickly found a space around the corner from the Inn. There is a 24 hour 7-11 across the street as well. The location was Perfect! within walking distance to everything on Duval st. Plenty of good restaurants, shopping, bars, and bars, and bars! This is a true bed and breakfast. They serve a delicious FULL breakfast buffet every morning. I do mean full. Most places give you a continental breakfast only. Here , we had eggs, bacon, sausage,fresh fruits etc, all very good. Would I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY! Without hesitation. We plan to come back during the summer months, off season, when the rates are about half of they were during peak season.

Room Tip: rooms by the pool are the closest to the front terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jm7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just spent a week at Duval Gardens and had a wonderful time. This is a fantastic bed and breakfast with the perfect location. Close, but not too close to the party...and walking distance to EVERYTHING! Very friendly and helpful staff...clean rooms...great continental breakfast buffet every morning...nice pool to cool off in if the beach isn't your thing (or even if it is!). If you're looking to stay in Key West, make a point to check this place out. I will guarantee you that if you stay here you will not be disappointed. I can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: I loved our double queen room in the back corner of the establishment. Had our own little sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great Location and service. Breakfast was uninspiring and late in coming. Convenient to all of old Key West and it's many attractions. Comfortable rooms. Limited parking however street parking was safe and plentiful. Great people watching porch. Small pool to cool off in.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the back and lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had 2 wonderful nights at this colonial style guest house, first impression....fabulous, charming staff, good breakfast, really comfortable rooms, and a great place to sit and watch the world go by, will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: All rooms from what we saw we're pretty much the same, and we're beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Mixed feelings 1) about Key West. 2) about Duval Gardens
First, Key West. Faint echos of Hemmingway's Key West are drowned out by the noise, crowds and congestion. This is a "party hearty" destination...the soul is lost except in the Custom House Museum.
Second, Duval Gardens. PROS: Friendly, helpful staff, perfect location (a bit noisy but park your car and walk anywhere you want to go), clean, good continental breakfast. Good bed, good bath.
CONS: Outrageously priced for the small and rather odd rooms. Place a bit worn, could use some attention.

Room Tip: Just keep your air conditioner fan on to create "white noise" to drown out the party revel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEWART V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Duval Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed our excellent location, great staff, breakfast on the porch and clean rooms with good beds. Thank you for mentioning them all in your reviews. I am sorry you had mixed reviews. It seems mainly because of Key West in General and the price.

You did stay with us in March which is the peak of high season and Spring Break which while Key West does not get too may spring breakers in general compared to some other Florida destinations, and we do not accommodate them at the Duval Gardens, they will be here on the island in March which does change our island vibe somewhat. This is the busiest time of year and the most expensive time of year to visit Key West. Everyone wants to escape the wintry north in favor of our tropical climate. (who can blame them). While our rates are very competitive for the area, with nearby hotels being $100.00 per night more, I am sure they seem very high especially compared to the rest of Florida.

We thank you again for staying with us, and hope to see you again in maybe in the off season when things are a little calmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

second time staying here...couldn't wait to come back...stayed 9 days in feb/march...pulled the car into the parking lot (limited spots), and left it....right on duval st, so you can watch some of the activity day or night, fairly quiet, but you do have the neighborhood roosters for a wake up call.. Christina and patricia are very helpful and easy to talk to....very close to just about everything (except any of the big box stores)...hooked up w/my brother and his wife who stayed at a different location in town during the latter part of our visit...had a great time...their first time in KW, so we hit quite a few places during their stay.....and we will return.....

Room Tip: just book early to be sure they have rooms....when we checked in, Christina said all of the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sloppyjoepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Duval Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you. We love it when our guests come back to visit again.

We all have that love hate relations ship with our island roosters. They are probably the most photographed thing on the island, and some are quite handsome, but they can seem noisy if your not used to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duval Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Gardens

Address: 1012 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $166 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duval Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topical Bed & Breakfast on Duval Street, in the heart of Old Town Key West. All rooms with romantic canopy netted beds, private bathrooms and Mini refrigerators. Queen and King rooms available. Enjoy breakfast on the front porch every morning. Walking distance to beaches, shopping nightlife and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duval Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing