We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duval Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duval Gardens
Ranked #30 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was my first time staying at a B&B, so I wasn't sure what to expect. We stayed here with 4 other members of my family (so three rooms total). Christina helped us check-in, she is a great asset to this establishment. Our room was #22, upstairs, with a queen bed, it was a little on the small side. I wish there had been a closet, but I put everything into the drawers. Nice flat screen TV on the wall. The bathroom was ok, we would have loved a mirror over the sink, as my husband found it a little cumbersome to get his contacts in every morning. It took a while at times to get the hot water to come on, and the drain in the shower was clogged, I'm sure it would have been fixed, though, if we had reported it. A sign in the bathroom says if you would like your towels replaced, leave them on the floor, otherwise hang them up - every morning we left our towels hanging up, but when housekeeping came, they took them and gave us fresh towels, so I was confused about the policy on the sign, it didn't seem like they followed it.

With those small critiques out of the way: this B&B is very nicely located, we walked everywhere, which was great. The A/C in the room worked well, we also used the 'fan' function on there as white noise, as people passing by on the street can get noisy, especially late at night. We rented a car for one day to drive to the other keys, we were unable to park it that night because all the spaces (there are 5 or 6 spaces, total, so take note) were taken, however, we were able to park the car at the sister hotel a few blocks away, this is a nice option, they certainly do not have to offer that. We did not partake in the breakfast, since we are late sleepers, but I did like it that breakfast was offered until 10:30, most hotels stop serving at 9-ish. Housekeeping came every day, and our room was always very clean.

Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesneygirl1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    113
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
42
267
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

When we first checked in we were extremely happy. The service when we arrived was very welcoming and our room was beautifully furnished. However, it was very hard to sleep on our first night with the noise surrounding the property. On top of that, we were woken at 4am by a nearby rooster! Things were a little better for the next two nights, but Friday was awful. I actually turned on the loud A/C unit to drown the noise out. This could be such a nice place if they insulated it properly and provided more than a very basic breakfast. We will not be able to return here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Duval Gardens is a very coveniently located B&B. Driving into Key West you only have to make a left turn off US 1 (Truman Avenue) into Duval Street and you have arrived. Walking to Mallory Square takes you roughly 10 minutes which can be strenuous after a long day but on the other hand this part of Duval Street is less busy.
Staff/Owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms were on the smaller side but spotless and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served on the front porch which is available to guests at any time to hang out, read, surf the web or simply watch people passing by. There is limited parking available but they offered us to park our car at their sister property at no charge, which I thought was a nice gesture. Next to the front porch you can find a swimming pool which is tiny but still good enough to cool off a bit if you don't feel to go to the beaches.
For a B&B pricing was suprisingly moderate and even lower than some of the less conveniently located hotels at the southwestern end of Duval street. We will definitely come back on our next trip to Key West, FL!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were looking for an affordable hotel for our short stay in Key West. Duval Gardens, located toward the quiet end of Duval street (the main drag in Key West) turned out to be the perfect place. We selected this place for location and price but found it also friendly, with a wonderful simple breakfast served on the front porch, a small spa (warm) pool, just outside our door, and all decorated for the holiday season. In the evening we took our bottle of wine and enjoyed the scene from the same front porch. There is a bike rental place right next door but everything in Key West is an easy walk from this location. Our room was small and cozy, but quiet and clean. a problem with a sink not draining was fixed after we reported it. All in all, we would definitely go back there on our next trip to Key West.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As part of our Civil Partnership celebrations we chose this hotel (B&B) not really knowing what to expect, but we really can not fault this little piece of heaven! The location was ideal - close enough to the action on Duval Street but quiet and tranquil enough to rest and relax. The room was spotless, the staff and management very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Christina for being such a superstar!!!! The continental breakfast was the perfect way to start the day watching the world go by! If you are going to Key West you will not get any better than this.

Many thanks

Michelle & Celine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG0dwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for Fantasy Fest and it was perfect. Very friendly staff and manager. The room was very nicely appointed and clean. Each morning there was a big continental breakfast set out on the front porch where we could watch people walking on Duval Street. Every place in old town was walkable so we were able to park our car and not use it for the entire time we were there. We would very highly recommned the Duval Gardens!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tycosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here early October this year. She booked it as she knows Key West and it was my first visit. What a find. Up the quieter end of Duval St and perfect if a quiet nights sleep is needed(though you can walk to the busier bar area in minutes). We stayed in the Magnolia room which overlooks the main street and is just perfect for people watching. Comments of pool small, not much parking space? People get into the Key West mood and relax, it's just so so nice here. Staff? All you could need. Will stay again, no doubt!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#37 of 86 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#10 of 86 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#32 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duval Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Gardens

Property: Duval Gardens
Address: 1012 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duval Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topical Bed & Breakfast on Duval Street, in the heart of Old Town Key West. All rooms with romantic canopy netted beds, private bathrooms and Mini refrigerators. Queen and King rooms available. Enjoy breakfast on the front porch every morning. Walking distance to beaches, shopping nightlife and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Duval Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing