We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Duval Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duval Gardens
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here early October this year. She booked it as she knows Key West and it was my first visit. What a find. Up the quieter end of Duval St and perfect if a quiet nights sleep is needed(though you can walk to the busier bar area in minutes). We stayed in the Magnolia room which overlooks the main street and is just perfect for people watching. Comments of pool small, not much parking space? People get into the Key West mood and relax, it's just so so nice here. Staff? All you could need. Will stay again, no doubt!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Duval Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 506 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Duval Gardens from September 26 through October 2 and were very happy that we made this choice. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was in line with our expectations. The location could not be better as you are close enough to walk to everything yet just far enough to be able to get a good night’s sleep. Duval Gardens exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This was a great find, never stay in a hotel when this place is available. Pet friendly, quiet and clean, cold a/c is important after walking in the sun and my 14y/o daughter and yorkie poo puppy were very comfortable and happy with our stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j17nplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was beautiful - newly refurbished with a tropical feel, a netted, 4-poster bed, fulll kitchen and small table with two chairs. The location was perfect. There was a extra added touch in the bathroom for women - a packet of make-up removal and a dark face cloth so the white towels didn't get stained.

Duval Gardens just missed the mark as a B&B. We have been to many B&Bs so we do have a comparison basis. We were not given a tour upon arrival nor were we informed of anything - like when & where breakfast was. We had to ask questions. Although the room was beautiful there were little things that became annoying: only one towel rack in the bathroom and not even a hook to hang a wet towel, your cosmetic bag, etc. The one switch in the bathroom worked both the light AND the noisy fan so you had to listen to the fan any time you were in the bathroom (which can be a while for women who are putting on make-up and fixing their hair). There were no hangers for pants. Although there was a mat outside the door, there was nothing inside the door and when it rained, the inside hardwood floor got wet and dirty from our shoes. We did wipe it up with paper towels but the floor did not get cleaned by housekeeping during our two night stay. The big disappointment was the breakfast. We expect something a little special at a B&B and their breakfast was what you get at a Days Inn or other inexpensive hotel: two containers of cold cereal, a basket of hard boiled eggs, bagels, store bought pastry and a bowl of fruit. It just wasn't a B&B experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Duval Gradens bed and breakfast is a very nice and clean hotel situated in Duval street....very good position as it is central but calm as far from the loudness of Sloppy joe bar and friends....
The rooms are very cleaned and detailed and very comfortable.........the pool is very small but as we were in low season we could enjoy it........The breakfast in the morning is good and fresh.....
The parking is free but it is in first come first serve basis......Bridget and all the people working there were very nice and welcoming....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vale_Picci30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Almost perfect, even if a group decide not to take into account the House rules, and to spent the night in the (really small) pool. No one was there to permit the other guests to sleep. Apart from that the b&b si clean, well decorated and the breakfast pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had to circle for parking for 4 hours and get in a fight with an old man for a parking spot. Then we got bad looks from the receptionist for not giving the parking spot to the old man. Wouldn't recommmend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctapep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Duval Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are so sorry this guests was upset they did not immediately get free onsite parking. We do clearly state both on our website and on all correspondence sent to our guests that onsite parking is on a FIRST COME FIRST SERVE basis. Knowing Key West's limitations in this area, most of our guests are understanding of this policy.

In the event that our on site parking is full, we are happy to point out plenty of nearby free parking, and in addition to this we are able to offer free parking just a few blocks away near our sister property.

Many B & B's in Key West have no parking at all, and require you to find your own paid parking at metered lots or charge upwards of $25.00 per day to park onsite. If we changed our policy to charge for onsite parking in line with other properties, we believe that our guests would be happy with the free alternatives, but we are just not in the business of nickel and diming our customers. We feel this is what sets a bed and breakfast apart form the larger hotels.

For this reason we will gladly continue to offer what parking we have available free of charge, however, in fairness to all our guests we are unable to hold or reserve spaces. We are sorry this guest was not understanding of this policy.

Being located right at the heart of old town Key West on historic Duval St is a wonderful thing, as once you arrive, everything is within walking distance.

We offer a range of accommodation types. Some of our lowest priced standard room accommdoations are smaller than our larger king rooms and suites, however this is reflected in the price of the accommodations, and all our rooms have at a minimum a Queen size bed, good sized private bathroom, and mini refrigerator. In addition we offer a complimentary continental breakfast buffet each monring on our front porch overlooking Duval Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duval Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Gardens

Address: 1012 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $144 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duval Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topical Bed & Breakfast on Duval Street, in the heart of Old Town Key West. All rooms with romantic canopy netted beds, private bathrooms and Mini refrigerators. Queen and King rooms available. Enjoy breakfast on the front porch every morning. Walking distance to beaches, shopping nightlife and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Duval Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing