We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but sometimes noisy”
Review of Duval Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duval Gardens
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Almost perfect, even if a group decide not to take into account the House rules, and to spent the night in the (really small) pool. No one was there to permit the other guests to sleep. Apart from that the b&b si clean, well decorated and the breakfast pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 507 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had to circle for parking for 4 hours and get in a fight with an old man for a parking spot. Then we got bad looks from the receptionist for not giving the parking spot to the old man. Wouldn't recommmend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doctapep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Duval Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We are so sorry this guests was upset they did not immediately get free onsite parking. We do clearly state both on our website and on all correspondence sent to our guests that onsite parking is on a FIRST COME FIRST SERVE basis. Knowing Key West's limitations in this area, most of our guests are understanding of this policy.

In the event that our on site parking is full, we are happy to point out plenty of nearby free parking, and in addition to this we are able to offer free parking just a few blocks away near our sister property.

Many B & B's in Key West have no parking at all, and require you to find your own paid parking at metered lots or charge upwards of $25.00 per day to park onsite. If we changed our policy to charge for onsite parking in line with other properties, we believe that our guests would be happy with the free alternatives, but we are just not in the business of nickel and diming our customers. We feel this is what sets a bed and breakfast apart form the larger hotels.

For this reason we will gladly continue to offer what parking we have available free of charge, however, in fairness to all our guests we are unable to hold or reserve spaces. We are sorry this guest was not understanding of this policy.

Being located right at the heart of old town Key West on historic Duval St is a wonderful thing, as once you arrive, everything is within walking distance.

We offer a range of accommodation types. Some of our lowest priced standard room accommdoations are smaller than our larger king rooms and suites, however this is reflected in the price of the accommodations, and all our rooms have at a minimum a Queen size bed, good sized private bathroom, and mini refrigerator. In addition we offer a complimentary continental breakfast buffet each monring on our front porch overlooking Duval Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

stayed 7/3/2012 - 7/7/2012 We will definitely come back. Parking was a little of a pain, but only a minor inconvenience in the overall scope of how wonderful the staff and the property was.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKV-RRgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at Duval Gardens from 7-5-12 / 7-11-12 and it was very nice. Breakfast was fresh, sitting on the balcony and enjoying the morning roosters was nice, all in all I give it 5 stars and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose a queen with canopy bed. The room was small, but not uncomfortably small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here from June 25-30th and had a GREAT experience. We stayed in one of the bottom rooms and you never would have known you were right on the street! Duvall street always had a lot going on and we were always going on adventures and LOVED our location. Close to the beach, convenient stores, and all different types of attractions!! The friendliest staff and remarkable cleaning services. We were always gone throughout the day and never failed to have a clean room and fresh towels :) My husband is a GA boy that enjoys his breakfast so the yogurt, bagels, cereal and fruit for breakfast they offered each morning didn't cut it but a denny's is on the next corner! Ha. Come and go as you please and def enjoy a cigar or two on the front porch at night and enjoy yourself! Plenty to see and do while you are there! Pool was very small but enjoyed it to ourselves a few times so it didn't matter. HIGHLY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhmh1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just stayed her in the first week of June 2012; I was pretty happy with the entire experience. The front office staff were very helpful and courteous and the cleaning staff kept the room and bathroom tidy. We opted for one of the smaller queen rooms; there is not a lot of room, but we don't come to Key West for spacious and grand accommodations. I need a bed, bathroom and want to stay cool in my room; all three of these items were achieved. We were on the 2nd floor; no issues there till the last night when the family staying next door did not know how to tell their young daughter to stop running around and screaming until the wee hours of the night. I can not blame the B & B for this, so I won't hit them on it. We did have a fridge in our room, which was a nice touch for keeping beverages cool. The included breakfast is from 8:30 till 10:30 as other reviewers have noted; items were assorted fruits, hard boiled eggs, bread and bagels and two types of cold cereal. Drinks included coffee, tea, milk and OJ. Good enough to get our day started. I needed something Fedex'd to the B & B; they were more than happy to accept the delivery for me and call me on my cell phone as soon as it arrived. Because check out was way before our departing flight left, they gladly held our luggage for us until we had to leave for the airport. I felt the price per night was acceptable, and I would easily stay here again during future returns to the island. Additional items worthy of mentioning:
-Not much parking; 4 or 5 spots and they're 1st come 1st served.
-You don't need a car in Key West anyway; rent a bike or scooter! There is a bike and scooter rental business 50 ft away; they gave us a break for multiple day rentals.
-The room doors lock behind you; don't forget your key.
-There is a CVS pharmacy right around the corner which is very convenient.
-Walking distance to the entire Duval Street experience, the Lighthouse Museum, Hemingway's House, the Southern Most Point and the Butterfly House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bower007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were only in our room a few minutes when we could our next door neighbor's bedroom extracurriular activities and on the other side were 4 partying guys that partied until the wee morning hours. We found little white bugs on our belongings and ants in the shower as well as the breakfast area. There is no coffee until 8:30 so you can not enjoy the morning with a cup of cofffee. We were not told that the doors locked behind you and my sister-in-law had to call for help to unlock the door. The owner came and was very rude and said that she did not know that we were together and that groups were not welcomed there and we were not to come back. If you really want a nice, quiet place to stay just look at any street off of Duval and there are nice places; especially ones with a larger pool and nicer facilities.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms. The walls are very thin and good luck not getting a room with a window ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyslass, Manager at Duval Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

We did have a group in May, one of whom locked themselves out of a room.
We responded immediately and came to let them back in (At no charge and within less than 15 minutes). This group had circumvented our group booking policy which allows for no more than 4 rooms to stay with us as part of any one group, in order to hold a birthday party, which I was unaware of until coming to let them into the room after hours. In addition to having more than 4 rooms, it appeared they had invited non guests up onto our property to drink and party with them (Which probably led to the lockout)

Since we had had complaints from other guests about their noise, I did explain to them while letting them back into their room, the reason we had a policy not allowing groups unless it was a whole house booking, was to preserve the ambience for all our guests to enjoy, and mentioned that we had received complaints from other guests about them. (Not the other way round as this reviewer would have you believe). I kindly asked them to keep down the noise and explained It is a private property open to registered guests only.

I am sorry this person took exception to being asked to keep the noise down, and to us explaining that our property is only for our registered guests. I am sorry they felt my mentioning it while I let them back into the room they had locked themselves out of as rude. I really did try to do this as tactfully as possible. It can be quite intimidating late at night to be confronted by a large group of people, loud and drinking who don't want to be told no. Some people just feel rules don't apply to them. As to their other comments, they are unfounded and untrue.

We do however stand by our group policy of no more than 4 rooms unless booking the entire house, so that all who stay with us can experience the ambience we strive to provide.

We are sure most of our guests appreciate and understand this policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,699 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duval Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duval Gardens

Address: 1012 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $165 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duval Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topical Bed & Breakfast on Duval Street, in the heart of Old Town Key West. All rooms with romantic canopy netted beds, private bathrooms and Mini refrigerators. Queen and King rooms available. Enjoy breakfast on the front porch every morning. Walking distance to beaches, shopping nightlife and museums. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duval Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing