We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2006 harley ride”
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #43 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Ohio
1 review
“2006 harley ride”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

most memorable experience of my life and my wife's !! we visited in 2006 and they allowed us to park our motorcycle's inside their private yard so we never had a worry in the world about their security . we were treated like family and the guest all seemed like family ! we would wake up to the tropical sound's of bird's and a rooster crowing in the palm tree's ! a cat would come in our room and it acted like a member of the family !! ( we love cat's so we allowed it to come in ) it would jump in bed and purr like it knew us !! we were close to everything walking ! ( but i suggest either renting a bike or even better a gas scooter for a lot more fun ) i'm 66 now and hope to re-visit again some day !! ( it's my fondest memory of all ) sincerely, joe and kathy cearley -from hamilton, ohio

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephdcearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    35
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hubby and I returned to Papa's Hideaway May 1, 2013 to meet up with a gal we met while staying there two years ago and who had returned with a friend. We've been Papa's "veterans" for some years and have enjoyed this charming, quiet accommodation. What a surprise, then, to learn during our two-night stay that the facility had been sold and the present owners (who we loved) we closing on the deal with the new owner(s) the morning of our departure. Since our experience with Papa's went back as far as the previous owners to the ones now selling, we wondered what was likely to change. While there, the property was inspected one last time by a representative of the new owners, a real estate agent and local fire department officials. We were told by the representative (who runs a Key West property management/vacation property company) that immediate plans were to end the poolside breakfast and instead offer vouchers to guests. Our breakfast on the morning of our departure was the last slated to be served before the voucher program commenced the next day. So we did not personally experience the change which took place for guests the following day. Suffice to say, we are hopeful that all that has brought us back to Papa's year-after-year will not radically change with the new ownership/management. But before we book a future stay, we'll inquire first as to those changes of policy, amenities, etc.

Room Tip: No bad rooms in this small, cozy accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a great time on our first trip to Key West. Papa's Hideaway was the perfect place to stay. We stayed in the cottage with another couple. There was plenty of space for all of us. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Plenty of open space for us and also privacy. Loved the wrap around porch that had plenty of out door seating for pre dinner drinks or just to sit and read a book. It was close enough to Duval St. so that we could walk almost anywhere and the beach was a about a block away. Beach chairs were also made available to. Breakfast every morning by the pool, what more could I say. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The stay was very relaxing and fun. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreoliway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I did a ton of research to find affordable, quiet accommodations for a one night stay in Key West. The parking was free and easy right on the street. The grounds were so pretty and inviting. The room was huge! The bed was so comfortable. There was a small kitchen area with a fridge and freezer. The kitchen had plates, cups, utensils, everything you could need. There were a lot of books on a shelf too, which I thought was a nice touch. The bathroom was nicely decorated, but small. It was clean and quiet. We stayed in studio 3. The pictures on the website are not updated (see attached pictures for updated ones). We were able to rent bikes on sit for $10 for 24 hours I believe. Nice bikes too! This is a great place in a quiet location that is close enough to the action and to the Southernmost Point. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent one night at Papa's Hideaway on our recent trip to Key West! Our family of 4 stayed in the Cottage! We LOVED Papa's Hideaway! The Cottage was VERY nice and very large. It was spotless and charming! The grounds were private and tropical…a bit off the "beaten path". The pool was a nice oasis and the breakfast was very enjoyable! The coffee was excellent (and with me, that is saying A LOT!)
You can be sure that I will book well ahead of time..the next time we stay in Key West!

Room Tip: For a family…the Cottage cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michiganartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first stay at Papa's hideaway, great location to the sites that my wife and were interested in visiting. The staff was friendly and very accommodating, they were always ready to give suggestions on places to eat. Our room was studio number 4 very comfortable and possessed the expected amenities. The breakfast was very satisfying and was a great start to the day. The pool was bigger than expected and very enjoyable. The grounds were very lush but a bit over grown. Facility had a bbq grill on site and we used it to heat up left overs on a lazy day. All in all a great place to enjoy the best of both worlds Duvall street night life or a relaxing bottle of wine by the pool.

Room Tip: - If you like dark in the am, studio 4 is the room for you - Shower pressure is very weak so plan a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After lots of research for a 4 night stay in Key West, we settled on Papas Hideaway. The name is perfect as it is at the end of a dead end street . Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street, but a nice walk to get there for the evening. Very close to the Southern Most Point monument. We loved the location as we don't want to be subjected to the bar noise until the wee hours. It has a small quiet courtyard with a heated pool that caught the mid day sun, plus plenty of shade for enjoying the continental breakfast, which was quite sufficient. We had the Deluxe Studio 1, an upstairs room. Not sure why it is a "Deluxe" and studio 2 is not called the same, as they seem to have the same amenities. It is a very large room with a kitchenette, everything except a stove top, but who wants to cook anyway! Althought the room was large it was dark as it had dark (old) carpeting and dark walls. Did love the open porch although could not see anything through the palms. The building is old and in need of a few repairs, it has 2 upstairs rooms and 2 ground floor rooms plus the 2 bedroom cottage, with the pool/courtyard in the middle. Can't comment on the A/C as it was cool enough to sleep with the window open.

Room Tip: Great location if you are looking for quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterpeg880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#32 of 77 in Key West
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Property: Papa's Hideaway
Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing