We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true hideaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa's Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Papa's Hideaway
Ranked #44 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A true hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

After lots of research for a 4 night stay in Key West, we settled on Papas Hideaway. The name is perfect as it is at the end of a dead end street . Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street, but a nice walk to get there for the evening. Very close to the Southern Most Point monument. We loved the location as we don't want to be subjected to the bar noise until the wee hours. It has a small quiet courtyard with a heated pool that caught the mid day sun, plus plenty of shade for enjoying the continental breakfast, which was quite sufficient. We had the Deluxe Studio 1, an upstairs room. Not sure why it is a "Deluxe" and studio 2 is not called the same, as they seem to have the same amenities. It is a very large room with a kitchenette, everything except a stove top, but who wants to cook anyway! Althought the room was large it was dark as it had dark (old) carpeting and dark walls. Did love the open porch although could not see anything through the palms. The building is old and in need of a few repairs, it has 2 upstairs rooms and 2 ground floor rooms plus the 2 bedroom cottage, with the pool/courtyard in the middle. Can't comment on the A/C as it was cool enough to sleep with the window open.

Room Tip: Great location if you are looking for quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winterpeg880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    33
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were looking for reasonably-priced accomodations for two couples staying two nights in Key West. That's not easy, particularly in high season. I discovered Papa's Hideaway through Trip Advisor and the positive reviews were helpful, but it was one of the lower priced B&B's and it had availability, which most properties didn't have. That worried me. We booked Papa's cottage--a two bedroom house with a living room, dining room and kitchen. Each bedroom had its own bath, with stand-up shower. The cottage was located next to the heated pool and in a beautifully-landscaped tropical setting. It had a large wrap-around porch with ample seating, a hammock and a dining table and chairs. It overlooked the pool and breakfast terrace, where we could get the complimentary continental breakfast and bring back to our porch. A brick paver walkway led from the house to a private entrance to the property and our car parked just outside the fence.


The cost of the cottage was less than two rooms in the main house, and it offered so much more. OK, the house was old and the furniture very tired, but it was clean and the gorgeous setting made it easy to overlook the fact that this was not a luxury property. All four in our group were very satisfied with our choice of Papa's Hideaway.

Room Tip: For couples or a family, choose the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverine-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Unit #1is nice and large There is also a large, private porch. I also like the ample shelf/storage space in the hallway leading to the bathroom. Andrea and Fred are eager to make sure you have everything you need for a great vacation. We always appreciate their willingness to go above and beyond to accommodate their guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeauZone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Papa's Hideaway for 2 nights in January. We found it a little tough to find as Louisa Street ends and starts again, but once we found it, we loved it! The gardens were well kept and beautiful, the pool was great, heated, and big enough to do short laps, the breakfast is great and lots of food (hard boiled eggs, bagels, various breads and cereals, yogurt, coffee/tea/juice, etc), and rooms are fabulous. Nothing too fancy, but clean, and a good size, and we really liked having a little kitchenette in the room. We also enjoyed the private porch...such a nice touch. We stayed in Studio 2, and the only downfall is a very tiny bathroom. Other than that we would definitely stay there again and highly recommend Papa's Hideway. We found Key West in general to be a little crazy, and it was so nice to come back to what we called our little oasis, Papa's Hideaway.

Room Tip: There is a main building with 2 suites on the lower floor and 2 on the upper floor. Then they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at papa's hideaway 3 nights in january,booking studio and arriving with keys as agreed in outside padlock excellent.Surprised no owners on site,we had one of the guests tell us the do's and dont's...never seen the lady owner till our last full day,and after handing over the rest of the $600 plus it cost all i got was a thank you.Now me being british i just was expecting more of how was your room,etc.......to be fair i think the owners are busy people but just thought a bit of chatting with your guest would of helped!
All in all,clean and lovely place to stay,very relaxing pool lovely,breakfast not like sizzler but hey we in key west.
Would i stay here again....yes most definete!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrino_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place is a really neat small guest house to stay at. We stayed in Studio 4 which had its own patio, and kitchen area. The pool is open 24 hours. Andrea and Fred the owners are really nice as well. Overall a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmckim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I have been coming to Papa's Hideaway for our annual Christmas trip for more years than I can count. It is our gift to each other, and look forward to it so much that we always book our favorite room a year in advance. Fred and Andrea are fantastic innkeepers. Accommodating and very informed when it comes to sharing what new (and traditional) things are happening in the area since the last time we visited. We always enjoy visitng with them while at breakfast to catch up on the past year's family events. The premises are beautiful, well-kept, and so conveniently located that unless we are going to specific locations just beyond walking distance, we never move the car. Just a block off Duval street, and it is still so charmingly quiet! You don't even have to leave if you choose not to - we simply enjoy sitting at the pool with a good book because once you are inside the high fence/gate, it is an oasis. It is such a pleasure to see repeat guests whom we've met over the years, and the extended continental breakfast is great! This B&B is truly a hidden gem, and we certainly look forward to seeing everyone next year. We may book an additional stay for this summer, but at any rate, we know our stay will be awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinomc1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Point Guest House
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#28 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa's Hideaway

Property: Papa's Hideaway
Address: 309 Louisa St, Key West, FL 33040-7513
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Papa's Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papa's Hideaway is a historic Key West Inn with all the charm of Hemingway's day and the convenience of being just a block or so off Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point and South Beach. Yet, Papa’s is an oasis of tranquility, a lush compound on a quiet lane. Feel your tensions release as you bask in the warm tropical sun at poolside. Listen to the trade winds rustling through the palms, blowing all of your cares away.Papa’s Hideaway is the perfect mix of location, atmosphere and value.Come join us and make Papa’s your personal hideaway.All of our rooms are set up for your comfort and convenience:• King-size bed plus a queen sleeper/sofa *all purchased brand new in 2013!• Private bath stocked with towels, shampoo and hairdryer• kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery• Cable TV • Air conditioning • Free WiFi• Each room opens directly to a deck• An iron and ironing board, extra blankets and pillows in each roomYour room is set in a wonderfully lush property with a heated pool. A gas grill is available to all of our guests and plenty of tables and chairs in the gardens for dining outdoors.In our guest services office at Key West Vacation Rentals, 1075 Duval Street, C19, you will find a wealth of information about local restaurants and attractions, as well as maps and brochures. Ask us about anything you are interested in doing. We can arrange for snorkeling, diving, fishing, ghost tours, kayaking, sunset sails, jet skiing, parasailing, Dry Tortugas trip and more!For your convenience, bicycle rentals are available through our office. Let us know when you book your stay and we will arrange to have bicycles delivered to you.We are happy to do whatever we can to make your stay more enjoyable.We hope you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Papa's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papa`s Hideaway Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing