We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Island House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island House
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“amazing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

before we went I was a little bit reluctant because I thought it might be "too gay". But I have to say it is a beautiful place. Very nice crowd. Nice rooms (some are very small though). nice pool are, nice bar, very friendly staff. and even the "other facilities" are quite nice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    90
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
1
219
126
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and two friends of ours recently spent a long weekend at the Island House. It was an amazing weekend. Our room, a King Room on the second floor overlooking the pool was beautifully appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The grounds were very well maintained and the staff, especially Kaleb and Ralph catered to your every need and made you feel like you were part of the family. There were many moments that we decided to stay at Island House rather than even venturing out because we were so comfortable there. We also enjoyed the fact that the food and drink poolside were very good.

The only downside we had is that none of us are smokers and smoking was allowed around the pool. This was especially bad on Sunday afternoon, and people were literally smoking in the pool and all around the pool. I would recommend a smoking area on the sun deck or somewhere farther away from the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mshura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Such a good fun place. The happy hour is great for meeting people, the lush gardens great weather swimming pool hot tubs sun deck and even a fun room! Friendly people and all in all a great couple of days.. Clothing optional was a new thing for me and great fun.. I WILL be back...

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently stayed at Island House for 5 nights and upon arrival home immediately booked 10 nights for January, 2014. The facilities at Island House are extremely well maintained, housekeeping is immaculate and most importantly, the staff, from front desk, to bar/cafe were welcoming, friendly, helpful and willing to assist me in any way to make my stay enjoyable. I've never been to a resort before where the staff, while highly competent and professional, took a genuine interest in me. I felt like i was with a group of close friends more than just a guest. I liked this feeling. The bar/cafe/pool area is the social hub of the Island House. I sampled breakfasts, lunches and dinners. All were excellent, well priced and generous. Drinks are amazing and don't miss the 5:30-7:00 pm happy hour. Very social. In addition to the regular happenings, Island House sponsors many parties such as Sunday pool party, The White Party, Registration Party for Bone island...which brings in a mix of locals as well as guests. Again, very social and fun. I cannot speak highly enough about the Island House and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are around the outdoor jacuzzi. More festive rooms can be found adjacent to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnbrady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My partner and I have been there often. We have been very busy and have not been in awhile. We had a chance to go down for Sunday nite and was not disappointed. We live in Miami Beach and enjoy the drive down. We hope to get there more often. The staff is Great. We wanted to stay for the White party but had to get back home for work. Next time we plan to stay much longer. Thanks again Island House for another Great visit. We always feel at home there and look forward to going back :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LatinoGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here more times that I can remember. Consistently great quality. Always looking at ways to improve. Staff are the BEST. Food/drink are always top standard. Rooms are spotless and very well appointed. Very popular, so book early. Facilities are great. Always have a blast here. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I just spent 4 days and 5 nights there, went down for my 50th birthday. The staff as very polite and helpful, the house boy cleaned my room every day rather it needed it or not.
The pool area is great and my room was right next to the hot tub so had a great view at night.
The two draw backs, there was 6 pillows on my bed and all but two (more like cusions) were flat as heck, even with all of them piled up they still barely supported my neck at night,
Secondly, I went alone and hardly anyone spoke to me, all were in their couples or groups. like I said the staff was great but the other guests where like school boys, if they didn't know you they did talk to you.
So if your going bring your own pillows and take someone with you.

Room Tip: bring a good pair of walking shoes and flip flops for at the resort. I never did find the free ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lawaynewilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House

Property: Island House
Address: 1129 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine.... a place where everyone is gay.... where it’s easy to make friends.... where you can really be yourself.... where you can enjoy yourself 24 hours a day..... in a secure locked compound, safe from the outside world...... where a friendly and capable all-male staff are on hand to make sure you enjoy your vacation...... in a tropical paradise. Well that place is waiting for you. It’s called Island House in Key West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island House Hotel Key West
Island House Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing