We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2007

After a few days in Miami and Fort Lauderdale, my friends and I decided to drive down to the Keys and thought it would be best to find a place to stay when we got there rather than making a reservation in advance. We checked a out a few places including Island House. Some had no room for us and others were just dumpy. Then we called Alexander's Guesthouse. Laura at the front desk was friendly and very helpful. When we arrived, we were greeted by her who showed us around. The hotel is beautiful, very chic and just wonderful. Before deciding to stay, we wanted to see the room that was available and it only took a second for us to decide. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and smelled wonderful!. The hotel has a large pool and jacuzzi as well as several deck areas. Wonderful breakfast every morning and even a cocktail party every evening. The guests were very nice the overall experience was fantastic. The guests are not all male so if you are looking for an all male, rowdy, bathhouse feel, Island House might be your place. But if you're looking for a quiet place to relax please give Alexander's a call. You will not be disappointed!. Thank you Laura and the rest of the the staff for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OperaFan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2006

This was our first trip to Key West, and although Key West let us down, Alexander's Guesthouse certainly didn't. They really go out of their way to make this an exceptional B&B and it shows. Our room was clean, fresh and nicely appointed; the pool/hot tub area is nicely arranged and landscaped; the staff were all exceedingly helpful and friendly; and the breakfast was wonderful (much more than just standard fare). Also, we had our own car and never had a problem finding parking near the B&B.

We stayed in one of the suites (room 16), but the next night we moved upstairs to the apartment (room 17), which was much more to our liking. It is definitely worth a splurge, with a nice big living room and relaxing front porch.

Alexander's is in a good central location, within easy walking distance of many nice restaurants. We can recommend Seven Fishes and Cafe Marquesa for a nice dinner, Louie's Backyard for a nice dinner on the water (the food is so-so but it's one of the few nice restaurants right on the water), and Sarabeth's for lunch (it also looked like they served a nice breakfast, but the breakfast at Alexander's was so nice we never felt the need to look elsewhere).

Our one complaint is that several nights we were awakened in the middle of the night by various noises. One night it was a drunk guest being obnoxious in the hot tub at 3 in the morning; another night it was a loud alarm from the establishment across the street; and another night it was the garbage truck at the store next door. It's the only thing that kept our stay from being perfect.

But overall, if you're looking for a first-class, relaxing gay B&B in Key West, I'd recommend Alexander's Guesthouse. We aren't likely to go to Key West again, but it we ever did, we'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank davidbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed there 3 nights in Sept 06, our second time at Alexander's.

We saw that a former guest had reported on Trip Advisor that Alexander's was working on the pool in August. We emailed to make sure these remodeling projects would be completed prior to our arrival, and were assured that they would be. Imagine our surprise to arrive and find them still working on the pool, as well as hammering away, replacing the deck right outside our door.

The flip side is that the staff was very apologetic, and tried to make up for the shortcomings.. after all, September is the slow season, and this work has to be done sometime.

Alexander's gave us a great discount on the room, to the point where we ended up staying an extra day. They also gave us day-passes to Island House across the street to use their pool.

Overall, the staff was very accomodating, clean rooms, and nice property... but we were also on vacation, and would have stayed elsewhere had we known about the remodeling projects and associated noise. Discounted room-rate was nice, but irrelevant when on a relaxing vacation. We could not enjoy the property as advertised.

We would consider staying here again, but wish that they had been honest in the first place about the remodeling projects being undertaken.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank ChrisFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

If you're looking for a calm, relaxing, and thoroughly enjoyable experience this is simply the place for you. The service varied from okay to extraordinary depending on who was there at the time, but overall I'd go with good. The Breakfast was nice and the free happy hour every evening was an opportunity when most of the guests gathered around the pool for light convo and stiff cocktails =). The room we had was large, updated, and very clean. Though my partner and I didn't spend much time during the day at Alexander's, we felt it was a pleasant refuge from our day/night of activity...and WILL stay here again the next time we find ourselves on the key.

*Before booking I'd make sure the pool will be in working order if that's important to you. They are currently planning on correcting the recent pool renovation and thus may alter it's availability.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TulsaNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We drove down to Key West and began to call around to different locations to find a place to stay. We were referred to Alexanders Guest House on Fleming St. When we called, imagine our suprise when we got a great rate of $57.50 per night! The property, is currently re-doing their pool and hotub (hence the discount!). However, you will get a day pass for the Island House which is right across the street (a very lovely establishment - exclusive to gay men only). Alexander's is a beautiful house, which has been divided up into spacious rooms. We were in the main house, which has 4 rooms on the second floor. The room was done in all white, with hardwood floors and tile in the bathroom. There were high ceilings - lots of windows, a window air conditioner and ceiling fan. Oh yeah, and we had a good sized refrigerator in the room also! The television was a little on the small side - but it was a flat panel. The staff is extremely friendly and there is a free happy hour on the back patio as well as a large continental breakfast in the morning with all types of fruit, pastry, cereal, etc. The second night we stayed we were moved to a room directly off of the patio - out by the pool. The room was a little bigger, but the television was not as nice. All in all it was a great stay and the property definately deserves your consideration!! A note - the property is about 5 blocks away from Duval Street - so unless you love to walk - you may want a rental car.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Crewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pennsylvania
14
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stumbled across Alexander's through research on the internet, looking for reccomended "luxury" accomodations in Key West. We were thrilled to find that Alexander's surpassed even the most complimentary reviews. Our room overlooking the beautiful pool and courtyard was pristine. The staff were exceptional, providing outstanding suggestions for dining and entertainment, and simply being friendly, accomodating and lovely hosts and hostesses. We plan to return next year for a longer stay and have reccomdended Alexander's to our most discerning friends for their next vacation.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Alexander's Guest House made our trip to Key West the most fabulous vacation we have ever had. The staff went above and beyond to seamlessly arrange anything we needed from sunset cruises to bicycles to dinner reservations to that off the beaten path recommendation of something to do.

We didn't have to lift a finger and we got to finally relax by just sitting on the front porch and watching the world go by to floating in the pool or visiting with the other guests at the friendly happy hour in the evening.

We made great friends and can't wait to go back to a place we felt trully at home!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,808 reviews
1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St, 1118 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $257 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing