We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2009

They say the third time is the lucky Charm, We must say everytime you stay there is a lucky charm. Yes this was our third stay and we would never ever stay anywhere else in Paradise! From the phone call to Laura to book it until the hugs and kisses to Philppe and Micheal on our departure. We stayed for 5 nights and the staff could not do anymore for us. I am also in the hospitality industry so sometimes I am hard to please, but not with this bunch. They all aim to serve and nothing you ask can be to large of a request. They all know how to "Wow" their guests and with a huge smile. It is the perfect place to get some R and R with your love one. Then you also get to meet some great people there. You guys just get better and better, hats off to all of you and take a bow. We love Alexander's. Thanks again to all of you. BTW, Happy hour is a hoot also. Can't wait to return. Hugs, Willie and Richard

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willrich2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2009

We first stayed at Alexander's last November and I had a major paper to write. No problem! I sat by the pool and wrote for a while, then I swam, then I dried in the sun on the rooftop deck. Then, I enjoyed happy hour and met lots of great people from all over the world - Scotland, Barcelona, America, England, Canada. Mostly gay couples, but a few straight couples that chose Alexander's because they knew it would be fun.

The place is not all about the party though. Alexander's is a true retreat into paradise. If you want to curl up with a book by the pool, you can do it!

The staff is genuine and caring (especially our fellow Canadian Mike!). Bruce the bartender will memorize your name on day 1, and may even bring out the hula hoop. They love their job and it shows.

We just booked our second trip to Alexander's for November this year. Hopefully we'll meet up with some of the same gang from last year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

First impressions mean everything. We were impressed the minute we arrived. Michael and Laura treated us like they had known us forever. Our room (#5) had a semi-private balcony that overlooked the pool. We spent the day on Duval St. and returned at 4:30 for the free Happy Hour which is an excellent time to get to know the other guests and socialize. Garrett was bartending Friday night, his second night there. He was wonderful. Great personality which made the evening very enjoyable. The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. Michael goes out of his way to ensure your stay is enjoyable and always asks how your day/evening was.
Breakfast exceeds the normal continental breakfast. There is a great variety of food including eggs made to order, fresh fruits, breads, muffins, cereal, etc.. Sunday breakfast was french toast with endless Bloody Mary's to get you off to a great start.
Contrary to some other comments, we found the bed very comfortable and the room size adequate for two. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the house and room were spotless. If you are looking for a quiet retreat away from Duval, with an outstanding and personable staff with welcoming accomodations, this is the place for you. KUDOS to Michael, Phillipe, Laura, Garrett, and staff for a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylar01Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

As someone who has traveled across America and throughout Europe, I have never been so impressed with a resort as I was with Alexander's Guesthouse. Alexander's can rightfully boast of a a beautiful setting, superb accommodations, and a resourceful, friendly staff that truly go out of their way to make your stay a remarkable experience. Although some would claim the walk to downtown is a bit long (about 8 blocks), if you're in any kind of reasonable shape it's a pleasant stroll past some fantastic architecture (we like being off the "main drag", so for us this was the perfect location). The warf is even closer, with restaurants, points of interest, and gift shops galore. The people who stayed here during our week (April 2-8) were just as impressive, and they in themselves were a great testiment to the quality of this resort. A nice mix of lesbian, gay, and straight couples from all over the world, they added interst and variety to our stay. I live for a good deal on hotels and resorts while traveling, and am not ashamed to say I love getting the $89 hotel room on the Miracle Mile in downtown Chicago. However, Alexander's is worth every penny. I had never been to Key West, and my partner hadn't been in 20 years: we will return again and again. A special mention must be made for Michael, who seemed to "live to serve". He found us resaurants, snorckeling trips, bicycles, and even the elusive home of the late great Tennessee Williams, just so we could go snap a few pictures! Don't cheat youself: stay at Alexander's. You will agree with us that this is THE place to stay while in the Keys.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skfwmu90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

The final stop on our 3 city South Florida trip was Key West. It was our first time here so we decided on Alexanders Guesthouse after reading the good reviews. We stayed for 5 nights .

The place is very quaint, peaceful and well kept. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the resort a very pleasant place. Breakfast is included as are happy hour cocktails at 4:30. There is a small swimming pool and jacuzzi available.

Location wise, you are at the opposite end of Fleming Street to Duval which is about a 20 minute walk home on a nighttime.

What stopped Alexanders getting a higher review was that in our opinion, as 2 gay men, we expected this resort to be more male orientated but whilst we were there the number of gay women to gay men ratio was about 4 to 1.

We would return to Alexanders again but would probably want to check the guestlist first...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andysteve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had a great experience from the moment we walked in. The rooms were a total surprise, as the photos on the site are not available for all suites. They offer a wonderful free breakfast as well as a FREE cocktail happy hour daily. The staff and owner were extremely kind, professional and helpful. ANY request we had or help we needed for getting around and things to do were granted. The most relaxing stay I can remember!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

My friend and I recently stayed at Alexanders Guesthouse Key West and wanted to share
our appreciation of that great B & B. From the moment we called to make our reservation, we already knew we had called in the right place. We both felt so welcome,
everything was perfect....Room, breakfast, pool, happy hour. We also met some wonderful people. We are already planning on going back next year.
Thanks Laura, Mike, Raul and Philippe for your restaurants recommendations and reservations, you are really the best.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIUMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse

Address: 1118 Fleming St, 1118 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $249 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing