We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A friendly oasis”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We're a straight couple but we like quality and Alexander's is rated #1 for a reason. Our gay friends who have been or know of the place said it's great and, as the Web site says, "straight friendly." So we booked it for the second half of our 10-day Key West vacation. Wonderful place, friendly people, great breakfasts by the pool/bar and at happy hour (free to guests, very nice drinks) you meet interesting people from all over the world. The location is out of the way, about 7 blocks from the hustle and bustle of Duval St., which is nice because it's quiet and frankly after visiting the great Key West restaurants a walk back is good. After checking out we left our luggage and had a final walk around and lunch at the great Onlywood. Our plane was delayed so instead of sitting around sweaty at the airport we lounged in the breeze of Alexander's front porch after graciously being welcomed to use the pool shower and to change. So nice. Only one caveat, and a minor one: We stayed in Room 14, which is beautiful, away from the main house, opens right into the hot tub/pool area, and is very nicely appointed and comfy. But it's under another room with wooden floors, and if you're a light sleeper be careful, when someone above comes in at 2-3 a.m. or rises early, the thud thud thud resonates. No fault of theirs, they're just walking; we heard no voices or TV noise or partying or anything else (well, there was partying at the bar and pool but we partook there too!), just those heels/footfalls. We still plan to go back and Alexander's still rates a high 5, just a very minor caveat for those bothered by neighbor noise. Could be none of the other rooms experience it but you might check about an upper room IF you're a light sleeper! Beautiful place, beautiful people. Still trying to figure out, however, whether Andrew liked or hated my new hat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jokeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    57
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
691
85
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a birthday celebration with friends who had stayed and raved about it. From check in with Laura & John to Anges preparing expresso to go for our trip back to Fort Lauderdale, this was total relaxation. Clean, well maintained, and located in a quiet area, we could ride bikes in morning to explore and walk to shopes and dining. Happy hour daily, breakfast by the pool each morning. Multiple sun decks for privacy and evening hot tub dips were perfect touches to a perfect stay. Our room had porch with bamboo all around. Very tranquil. Will recommend and look forward to return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelicanwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wonderful visit. Stunning room. Room 15!!! Staff very professional. Wonderful relaxing
H20 products in bathroom. All well done nice items for sale in lobby. Breakfast well done. One suggestion for happy hour. Include beer. Why offer wine and specialty cocktails and I cannot have a beer without a 3.00 up charge. Not nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cccccdhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

So nice, so accomodating. Great room, great breakfast. The staff were all so helpful to us. The manager... I think her name is Laura... but I cannot remember for certain -- she was great. I arrived with a horrible abscess tooth and she set me up with a great dentst, right down the street, who mercifully pulled it! She also didn't charge us for laundry, because the laundry service had failed to pick up our clothes that day. Probably saved us $30! Truly, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. If I am ever in Key West again, I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Loved the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ;:;:;:;:;:
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This really is a special place.

There is nothing wrong with Alexander's; it's perfect.

Our room was beautifully designed and spotlessly clean - number 14 right by the pool area; would really recommend this room.

Staff are wonderful; special mention for Geoff and Shannon.

You can chat with the guests, or keep to yourself; it's pretty relaxed.

Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at Alexander's, and we can't wait to return! We have traveled to Key West many times over the years, and now that we have found Alexander's, we would never stay anywhere else! The guesthouse and grounds are beautiful, and the staff is top-notch! Thanks, Alexander's, for a wonderful trip and great birthday for my husband!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBABMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a wonderful ....relaxing...weekend....Alexander's is beautiful. The staff is amazing...on top of everything....making sure your stay is an enjoyable one..I'm not sure I've been a place where the staff is so friendly. The breakfast was wonderful....the happy hour was so nice....met some very nice people. Would return at any opportunity. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had room 5...which was wonderful...opened up to second deck....nice and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing