We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met the love of my life again after 10 years together”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Met the love of my life again after 10 years together”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is by far the best hotel I've ever stayed. It was romantic, divine, relaxing and plumb wonderful. The staff was incredibly accommodating, helped set everything up for us, made delicious breakfasts, and I believe they may have even gone out and purchased a new DVD player for our room on the spot when the original one malfunctioned. All to say the experience, the atmosphere, and the community lent itself to reacquainting with the love of my life and a beautiful celebration of our 10th anniversary. Can't quite recommend this place enough!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    56
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
682
85
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Alexander’s has the art of hospitality down so well--which is nearly a dying art today. Any LGBT adult traveler would feel very welcomed (as would tolerant straight couples too--which from my experience, there tend to be Europeans). This is my third or fourth time at Alexander’s and I’ve had pleasant experiences every time. Again, they are so consistent. The rooms are clean and wonderfully decorated. The grounds are exceptionally beautiful, clean and well kept, but the staff add to the atmosphere and experience. Everyone is so pleasant, helpful and accommodating.

It’s like a little community evolves--getting to know the other guests, along with the staff at breakfast, happy hour or just by the pool. Relaxing and sunning by the pool I felt guilty for not wanting to leave during the day and go to the beach (I got over it soon). Even the front porches are wonderful places to sit and watch the world go by or talk to other guests. Staying at Alexander’s is one of those exceptional experiences that will leave you sad when it’s time to check out and leave, but leave you feeling good for the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Alexander’s for the first time last week and can’t begin to think of enough superlatives to describe our experience. From the moment we arrived we felt as if we were “home” both in terms of the welcome we received from the staff and the wonderful, cozy ambiance. The historic building is magnificently maintained both inside and out, the grounds are impeccably landscaped and the accommodations excellently equipped and very tastefully decorated. Alexander’s is situated on a quiet residential street in old town surrounded by charming period properties. A leisurely 15 minute walk will get you pretty much anywhere on Duval where the “action” is or alternatively you can rent a bicycle directly from Alexander’s. If physical exercise isn’t your thing then taxis are quickly available although a little pricey at six dollars and change before tip for the short ride to Duval. We found walking the best way to get around as you really get a chance to experience the charm of old town as you pass the beautiful properties along the way.
We stayed in “The Apartment” which was to die for. Recently remodeled it features everything you could possibly need to self-cater if you so chose and the décor is absolutely fabulous. With two private decks you also have a choice of where to take your morning coffee or pre-dinner drinks while immersing yourself in the tranquil atmosphere and tropical landscaping.
There is a great pool and patio area where we spent many lazy days in the sun plus a hot tub if you really want to be any hotter than you already are. The latter is however nice in the balmy evenings when the temperature drops to a much more comfortable level. A complimentary light breakfast of delicious homemade muffins and a daily egg dish is available by the pool and happy hour at the pool bar is a great way to meet your fellow guests, end your day and get ready for the evening.
The staff at Alexander’s are simply the best. Everybody is so friendly and cheerful and they can’t do enough to make your stay a special and memorable experience. I won’t name specific staff as that would be unfair to those I didn’t name as every member of staff deserves the highest praise.
The clientele at Alexander’s is very mixed in terms of age (no guests under 21 allowed), nationality, gender and sexual orientation. During our stay there were gay, lesbian and straight guests from several countries all of whom obviously enjoyed each other’s company as did we. Clearly everybody is welcome at Alexander’s and everybody who believes we are all one human family irrespective of our differences will feel comfortable.
We considered many different venues on Key West before we settled on Alexander’s. During our stay we saw many of the places we considered and were so thrilled we eventually decided on Alexander’s.
Finally, a big and heartfelt “thank you” to all the staff for making our stay so special. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we got the taxi to Alexanders the taxi driver asked us where we were staying and when we told her she said it was the best place to stay in Key West and she wasn't wrong. Jeff made us feel immediately welcome. Our room was light, the bathroom was small but as an added bonus we had a small private balcony.
Everyone else comments highly on the breakfast and the afternoon open bar. All I can say is that both were terrific. You get to talk with the other guests about where you're from, what you did during the day, what you're doing for dinner that night and the other guests give recommendations and you feel like you are part of a big family. A wonderful atmosphere. Many other guests we met come back every year and had already made their bookings for next year. Unfortunately we are from Australia and it's just too far to come back to, but we couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The front desk staff was amazing. We didn't have any prearranged plans when we got to Key West. At check in I mentioned that I wanted to ride a jet ski and eat great food. The desk staff made all of our reservations then called and sent an email of where we needed to be when and arranged our transportation. I didn't have to search for anything or do anything other than be waiting outside at the scheduled time. Daily breakfast was included as was a daily happy hour. My only complaint was that the resort is VERY quiet. If you want to party an drink all night, this isn't the resort for you. If you want a quiet retreat from all action of Key West, then this is a great place for you. I do highly recommend Alexander's for a high quality relaxing stay in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West, and my husband and I loved the island and our stay at Alexander's Guest House!

At the time we booked it wasn't possible to have the same room for 7 nights (due to other reservations), but Agnes worked out a schedule so we spent 3 nights in room 1 and 4 nights in room 13. Not only was it nice for her to work out a schedule to accommodate us, but it was really nice to have two different rooms (one interior in the main house, and one with its own entrance without going through the house). My preference was Room 13, which has its own little patio and overlooks the hot tub and pool area (without being too close to the breakfasting area). Both rooms were clean, modern, comfortable (great beds!), and have both air conditioning and ceiling fans to keep you cool at night.

The whole house is nicely decorated in beachy/modern whites and muted tones. The house has a modern open kitchen with french doors out onto the patio and pool deck. The kitchen is used for the breakfast buffet and is open throughout the day with water, muffins, an espresso machine, and a coffee bar just outside on the patio. The staff keeps the area clean and well stocked, so it is a great benefit!

The pool, hot tub, sun decks and pool deck are all kept neat and organized, and the bar is open from 5:00. Even when the hotel is fully booked, there is plenty of space for folks to spread out and not be right on top of each other. We spent much of the week on the sun decks with perhaps one-two other people.

We skewed on the young side for the hotel (in our 20s), but were welcomed warmly and chatted comfortably with the other guests. Perhaps due to the price point and the cost of getting to Key West, most guests were at least a decade older than us and ranged up to retirement age. Just goes to show that this guesthouse welcomes all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Alexander's for 4 days and had a great stay. We got to meet some great people, relax and unwind in a most pleasant setting. When I go back however, I would choose another room - not that inside the room wasn't great, it's just that room 7 is right by the bar and as soon as other guests get up or come down for breakfast, then you gotta get up. Furthermore, for privacy, blinds have to be closed - which defeats the purpose of the french doors. Nevertheless, most of our time was spent outdoors around the pool and discovering Key West. Cannot wait to be back!

Room Tip: Room 14 and 15 must be the ones with the best view - room 7 doors are now covered so no view from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing