We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic private, friendly guest house!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's LGBT Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic private, friendly guest house!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Alexander's Guest House made our Key West vacation! We were impressed by the modern, clean facilities on the property, the friendly and helpful staff, and the happy hour with complimentary cocktails. We had such a great time lounging by the pool and meeting the other friendly guests.

I won't think twice about where to stay if we return to Key West -- it'll definitely be Alexander's Guest House.

Room Tip: Each room is fairly unique. We stayed in room #3, which is smaller, but has a spacious bathroom. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doncdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    57
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
692
86
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Terrific location, excellent service with attention to detail. Like visiting old friends. First visit, won't be our last! Most other guests we met there have been returning for years. Now I understand why.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJLovesSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was one of the most relaxing and fun trips I've ever had in Key West. The main reason was because I stayed at Alexander's Guest House. Everything - the rooms, the Staff, the ambience, the Happy Hour - was for the pleasure and enjoyment of the guests. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, it was as close to 'home' as one can get. Also, meeting new people from across America and across the globe was an added pleasure. Alexander's will always be my 'go-to' place in Key West.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main House, 2nd Floor, facing the Pool, are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My Partner, and I just returned yesterday from a 9 night/10 day stay at Alexanders. We ended up arriving the earliest ever since we started staying here 6 years ago (around 11am). Our room was ready to occupy shortly after our arrival, so we were able to settle in and start our vacation!

As always, we were greeted by name along with a smile and hugs from the staff (Agnes, Laura, and Jeff). It truly felt like we were coming back to an old friends house to visit. There were also new staff members (Elise & Michael), that were so engaging and approachable once we met. We miss ALL of you already and cannot wait to see you guys again!

Our room (Room 8) is located in the main house (exterior) on the third floor sundeck. As usual it was spotlessly clean, and a nice new addition was the jazz music playing on the TV which added a very classy touch! This room though has a low slanted ceiling because it is part of the attic of this house, but don't let that discourage you unless you are tall. The room has most of the wonderful features that the other rooms offer; Spa quality toiletries (Shampoo, Condtioner, Body Wash, Body Lotion, and Bar Soap all by H20), Hair Dryer, Plenty of towels, Hand towels, and washcloths for two people, Bath Robes, Chaise Lounge, Refrigerator, Ice Bucket, Corkscrew, Wine Glasses, IPod Docking station with alarm clock, Flat Panel TV, Luggage Rack, Small area to hang clothes, Ceiling Fan, VERY comfortable mattress with Down Comforter, and Plenty of pillows (I need to find out what mattress this is). I slept very good during our whole stay. Each time we return there are always improvements made to the property and rooms!

Breakfast is served by the pool daily from 8:30 - 11 am, so if you like to sleep in you can still get some breakfast! The breakfast is continental style with Bagels, Artisan Bread, Cereal, Hard Boiled Eggs, Fresh Fruit, Yogurt, Juice, GREAT COFFEE, muffins, and depending on the day the hot item would be Quiche, Egg Casserole, or French Toast, which are all very good. I would like to add that if you are an early riser (before 8:30) Alexander's can arrange to put a coffee maker in your room, and Old Town Bakery is a short walk from the guesthouse if you are hungry early in the morning.

Happy Hour is one of the greatest highlights of our trip while at Alexanders, it gives you a chance to meet other guests, most which have been loyal customers for years like us! We have also met a few new people during this trip which we now consider friends. They have a generous pour during happy hour which is really nice, and they keep the bar open til around 8pm. Drinks are complimentary the first hour (5-6p) and then half price after that. They also serve Specialty frozen drinks for half price the first hour. Get the frozen Fruit Loop! YUM!

The grounds offer plenty of places to lay out in the sun or shade including sun decks on the second and third floors which are clothing optional, but only in those areas. The main pool and hot tub decks swimwear is required. This Guesthouse offers plenty of areas where you can keep to yourself or be sociable. Staff is always available to offer Conciere Services and will be happy to make reservations, and recommendations to the best that Key West has to offer!

We cannot say enough good about Alexander's and we will be loyal guests for years to come. We have already booked for next year and we cannot wait to return! We love and miss you Laura, Agnes, Mike, Jeff, and Elise!

Alexander's will give you a LGBT vacation like no other with Excellent Customer Service and Great Accomodations that would rival any Chain Hotel on the Island!

One last thing, this is a Gay Resort for Men and Women, so if you are straight and are cool with that then definitely check it out!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 9 have a low slanted ceiling over the bed, and the comode room does not have a full do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I had one night in Key West on a recent trip to South Florida. We knew from the reviews that Alexander's would be a beautiful property and great facilities (the pool and the sundecks were even better than advertised!). And thank you Jeff at the front desk for your hospitality and helping us to arrange a beautiful sunset cruise to maximize our one night in Key West. Although on the face of it my wife and I were not the target demographic for Alexander's, we felt welcomed with open arms from the staff and other guests and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdC724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On My second trip to key west I had to fortune of staying at Alexander's guest house. As some of the other reviewers have said this place in phenomenal, and the staff go above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel at home.

I Came down on a down for a buddies Milestone birthday trip and we all stayed at different hotels, and I must say I got the better end of the bargain. My hotel imho was the best of the 5 places to stay and I WILL be back to paradise on earth.

Ideal location, lots of places to lounge out in the sun, the other guest were great. it really is such a welcoming guest house that I will make this my must go to place when visiting the Keys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Your really can not describe how nice Alexander Guest house is, until you have been there yourself. It's a little Oasis and a treat for any one who walk's in to lay their head down.
The rooms are stunning and offer a little bit of luxury and every detail is thought of, from the hairdryer to the complimentary spa care in the bathroom.
The place is spotless and only down side is you do not like cat's they have them walking around much as I am not a fan of the feline creatures it did not bother me. The other guests where charming and unlike other gay resorts , they kept their clothes on and it was a classy and fun atmosphere.
The Happy hour starts at five and a generous all you can drink bar is on offer and was really great fun . Michael the bar tender treated us like old friends and could not do enough to give us advise on where to go and what to see. As did Daniel the receptionist who booked dinner for us.
The breakfast is to be believed starts a little late at 8.30 ( do not expect bacon and eggs) .But home made warm corn bread , fresh eggs, spinach quiche lashings of coffee and every yogurt and other breads you can think of, fresh juices and fruit.
I actually tried to stay an extra night I was so content and in love with the place. Just charming and can not wait to go back..

Room Tip: i loved room 7 it can be noisy as it opens up to the eating area. But as i am up at six most morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asksteve2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's LGBT Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's LGBT Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's LGBT Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, 1118 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's LGBT Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing