We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Wait! This isn't going to be another of those straight couples raving about what a fabulous place Alexander's Guesthouse is is it? Yes! Yes, I'm very happy to say that it is!  We left today after a too short stay, met some really great guests, enjoyed the (extended) happy hours immensely, spent way too long lingering over breakfast conversing with our newfound friends and benefited from the recommendations of restaurants (Cafe Sole, Latitudes at Sunset Key, Santiago Bodega and Better Than Sex among the best) and other activities throughout our brief stay.  We stayed in Room 16 which is a really great and private suite with a private patio and Florida room but next time we won't require such a sanctuary. Jeff and Aggie are fabulous hosts (hostesses) and welcome all with open arms. Mike is a great substitute bartender as he held up through a very extended happy "hour" ( actually four hours) on our last night. And then there's Charlie! A better friend and dispenser of advice and well wishes I have never seen at a lodging facility. I guess the best compliment I heard while there came from at least two from different couples who both stated that once you've been to Alexander's Guesthouse why would you ever want to stay anywhere else while in Key West? My wife and I whole heatedly agree!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    55
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
676
84
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

On the advice of good friends I booked a short-week-of-work stay at Alexander House this month. As well, this was my first-ever stay at a B&B in Key West. I was truly impressed from my first communications with the property until my (much too soon) parting moments. There were no hitches or glitches; quite the contrary. The staff (particularly Charlie, Jeff, Agnes and Michael) were spot-on attentive and most courteous - indeed, as friendly as family!

The property is spotless: rooms, hallways, reception area and breakfast area, the pool and jacuzzi. Each day starts with a complimentary buffet breakfast including eggs, french toast, cold cereals, fruit, muffins and juices. Coffee, as well, is available throughout the day. A complimentary happy hour is hosted each afternoon at 5: great beverages and a chance to meet and share with the other property guests. The pool and jacuzzi are available 24 hours a day.

I have already booked my return for 2014. Should you decide to stay at Alexander Guesthouse I wish you the same wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and jacuzzi are likely booked before others but ALL rooms are large, clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fotosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Alexander's many times. Everything was perfect! The staff is amazing, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable. The pool and yard are quiet and relaxing. I highly recommend it while visiting Key West!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our 3rd time in Key West but just our first time at Alexander's House. Would definitely return. Friendly people. Comfortable accommodations. Great coffee and breakfast. This part of old town is quiet with lots of great off-Duval restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AASparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After staying at one of the large resorts our first trip to KW last year, we opted for something with more character this time and chose Alexander's based on the tripadvisor rating. My husband and I have traveled to many wonderful places over the past 20 years, but without a doubt have never stayed anywhere as friendly and welcoming as this. The staff were exceptional, especially Charlie, who was equal parts host, chef, bartender, and entertainer. The other guests, almost all gay/lesbian couples, were mostly professionals in their 30s/40s/50s, and were extremely warm, fun, and very friendly to us - the only straight couple there for much of our stay.

The daily breakfast was excellent and varied each morning, far better than a standard buffet. The happy hour was fun and a great opportunity to mingle with the other guests. The pool and sun decks were attractive, clean and a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

We liked the location - about 1/2 mile easy walk from Duval St, but a shorter walk to the wharf area with many excellent restaurants and bars. There's also a friendly and well stocked convenience store one the corner next to Alexander's.

We stayed in room 10, on the first floor. We liked the separate entrance from the front porch, and especially enjoyed the enclosed private patio with plantings and bubbling fountain. The room itself was nicely decorated, although not spacious - really just room for the king sized bed and a couple of small dressers. The shower was out on the patio, along with the separate half bath, which was fine for us but small, and could use some updating. This seemed like the most private room location-wise, and the patio was definitely a plus, but from the pictures on line, some of the other rooms look larger and have more updated bathrooms, so it really depends what you're looking for.

Overall, we felt Alexander's exceeded our (high) expectations, and we would most definitely stay there again. The atmosphere and friendliness were the best part, but we honestly couldn't say anything negative about the whoe experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first time visiting Alexander's Guesthouse AND Key West -- we are so happy we chose to stay here.

The property is beautiful! You could literally eat off of any surface. We stayed in Room 8 (on the top deck), which is apparently the smallest room, but we thought it was perfect! The front door opens out to the (clothing optional) deck. We aren't clothing optional girls, but we were able to sit outside late night or early morning as if it were our own private deck.

The Happy Hour is not to be missed -- you get to interact with the other guests and enjoy some free drinks. If you'd rather keep to yourselves, plenty of people took their free drinks and enjoyed them by their room. During our stay, by around 8 or 9, no one was left in the pool area, and we got to take a quiet swim.

The staff is amazing (we didn't get to meet everyone) -- Jeff is the sweetest, Agnes spent a lot of time with us -- showing us the map and where to go, and Charlie treated us like family.

We are on the younger side -- mid twenties, which is young for the guest house (we were told) but we felt totally comfortable, happy, and relaxed. I'd argue it was the best five days of my life.

Worth every penny!!! A MUST STAY.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciafosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Alexander's Guest House is a soothing yet lively respite for gays seeking to be in the majority at a vacation destination; however, if you happen to be straight, you will be just as welcomed and appreciated. We know because we are a straight couple in our late 50s who just got back from our first visit to Key West. We arrived at Alexander's after Happy Hour and thoughtfully, the staff had placed a cold bottle of Pinot Grigio in an ice bucket in our room with 1940s big band jazz standards playing on the sound system. We spent the evening floating in the heated salt water pool, enjoying the warm breezes and twinkling stars through the palms. Our room, #7, was immaculately kept the entire stay and while we faced the courtyard/pool/ice machine, we still had privacy and noise was at a minimum. Socializing was low-key and pleasant, sometimes playful and on occasion quite meaningful and touching. Key West is a great walking town. Lots to see and do; no matter if you aren't into late nights, bars and raucous clubs. Even tried 8:15 am yoga on the beach. The staff always had great recommendations-- for the best Key Lime pie, the best pasta, the best organic market, etc. We felt totally taken care of. Each guest was treated as a valued individual, no matter their age or gender. It was a treasure of a vacation for us, even though we were there for only 3 days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing