We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Alexander’s has an outstanding staff that was all very attentive, yet never intrusive. It’s a beautiful, quaint atmosphere throughout the entire property. It’s also an extremely welcoming vibe for both the gay and the straight. This was my first visit to Alexander’s and I’d definitely come back. I visited with friends who have been going for the past 17 years and I understand why. It’s a tranquil setting far enough off the buzz of Duval Street, yet close enough that you could walk to just about any destination.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    55
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
679
84
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Alexander's is stylish and clean. The breakfasts are just what you need, cereals, fruit bagels etc but also some lovely french toast or other home cooked options. There is always coffee available and iced tea during the day. The pool is small but warm and the hot tub is very welcoming. I stayed in room 8 which is small and in the roof so there is lots of bending (I hit my head twice) but it is beautifully decorated: has a TV and DVD player (DVDs available to borrow from reception) The staff are exceptional, always knowledgeable about local events, bars, restaurants: they couldn't do enough for us. Happy hour (5 till 6) offers some free cocktails at the little bar area and is a great way to meet the other guests. It's great.
Key West is okay, it's gay friendly and there are some lovely restaurants. The weather is as good as you get in the USA, in my opinion. It can be a bit touristy when there's a cruise ship in. The architecture is amazing, I enjoyed walking around the old parts. Don't bother with the shops though unless you want a KW T shirt. I love the drive from Miami to KW (Stop at Bahia Honda if you can - about an hour out of KW)
For me it's a place I met friends from UK and USA and have a great time. If alexander's wasn't there we wouldn't go to KW, simple as that........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sickofusernames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Alexander's Guesthouse the week after Thanksgiving and loved almost everything about the place. Wonderful rooms, public spaces, employees, and an ideal location.

We stayed in Room 11, which was quite large and beautifully decorated (large photo of a puppy hung above the bed). Bed was king sized and very comfortable; plenty of furnishings in the room to sit, read, etc. Bathroom felt slightly dated but was fine. The only negative for me was the porch light outside the room, which bled in to the room at night, even with the blinds closed, so the room didn't get as dark as I like to sleep.

Loved everything else about the place. The front desk was warm and inviting, and the daily included breakfast was a good mix of continental items with a few additional prepared foods in the mix (quiche one day, egg dish the next). The back patio has plenty of tables to eat, and it's very peaceful in the morning. Great way to start the day.

A special shout out to Charles, who was part-time bartender and part-time concierge. He was SO charming and helpful, no matter what the question or request was. He made the trip just that much better...he's a true gem.

We loved that the guesthouse was a 12 or so minute walk from Duval Street. Far enough away from the nightly revelry but easy to walk to. We discovered we didn't have to go far however for some great meals. Two will get a mention here: Cafe Sole, a French place 2 blocks away, with an incredible Hogfish dish that you shouldn't miss. The other was The Old Town Bakery, about 4 blocks away, that had fantastic french pastries including an incredible pain au chocolate that reminded me of Paris.

I can't imagine that we'd stay anywhere else the next time we visit Key West.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyeworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned after our second visit to Alexander's. It is a top notch property, well located and maintained. Jeff Morrison and Charley Nuedling are the consummate inn keepers - welcoming, helpful and fun. Everything runs well, the clientele is friendly and the rooms are attractively appointed and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Very relaxing - we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Room 15 has great view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Spend a couple of nights here in room 10. Very nice toom with outside patio and outside bathroom. Looks very good and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly! They have a great happy hour and that is a great time to meet other guests. The only minus for me was Key West itself. There was not a lot to do. But if you go to Key West them this must be your place to stay!!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotterdamerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just a phenomenal place!!! My wife and I (we’re a straight couple) had the best time there. From the amazing staff (Charlie, Jeff and everyone else), to the fantastic décor to the wonderful fellow guests it couldn’t have been much better. The staff especially is amazing, helpful, genuinely kind and a lot of fun! I could go on and on but suffice it to say you’d be hard pressed finding a better place!

Dean & Deanna

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dprofis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed in Room # 8 Top Floor, Cute as a button, quiet and comfortable. Spiral stairs can be a bit intimidating after a few..ok more than a few Vodka Cranberrys. Great Breakfast and Great service. Have stayed there several times and will continue to go. Its the BEST !

Room Tip: Ive been 4 times and each time another room. Each of them are unique and equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrokerGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing