We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander's Guesthouse
Save
You added Alexander's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sanger, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at Alexander's and nothing changed! Still the best place to stay in Key West by far! The rooms are excellent and breakfast is excellent, but what makes Alexander's stand out is its staff and what happens when you stay there. First, the staff, starting with Charlie and Laura down the the people that clean your room they become family. But the most valuable thing that happens is that during your stay the entire guesthouse becomes a family! You may visit as a single or even a couple, but you will leave as a family member!
Thank You
Dick Paduchowski

Room Tip: Any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    54
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
642
82
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have stayed at Alexander's 3 times now and can honestly say that the experience keeps getting better. The facilities are always immaculate and the staff is amazing. Anything you can conjure up - a jet ski excursion for 16 people, chartering a sail boat for 22, making dinner reservations for 4, or even setting up a volleyball net over the pool - they do it all and they do it with a smile and very graciously. Happy Hour at the Monkey Bar with Charlie and Amy mixing up the drinks is always a hit. Breakfast is always yummy and the entire staff are always doing whatever they can to make the place and your stay wonderful. I highly recommend this place for gay and lesbian travelers. You will not be disappointed! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 10 is very unique. Room 15 is wonderful and sort of removed from the hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maizeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you’re used to staying at hotels when you travel, staying at a guesthouse requires a change in mind-set. There may not be a 24-hour front desk, or a valet to bring the car around whenever. But, be prepared to sacrifice the anonymity of a cookie cutter chain for a more intimate, personalized experience. The very best guesthouses deliver a superb experience with top notch service and leave you wondering what you ever saw in a hotel anyway. And Alexander’s Guesthouse is the cream of the crop at delivering a superb experience.

The very visible front desk employees deliver extraordinary personal service. They know your name, what room you’re in and engage with you as you come and go, offering help with any need along the way. They take your pleasure personally and feel it’s their responsibility to ensure you have a good time, with helpful suggestions catered to your travel personality. Maps, tour tickets, bike rentals, dinner reservations, excursions – they do it all. When Agnes heard that the guided cemetery tour wasn’t happening one morning, I had a printed copy of the self-guided tour almost immediately. They are a font of knowledge that you won’t get at a hotel chain. It’s not quite Anna Madrigal, but you will feel like family. Kudos to the employees I interacted with the most: Agnes, Jeff and Charlie.

Guesthouses also have a personality. Alexander’s is one of peace and quiet, inclusiveness and relaxation. Everyone is welcome. Period. And that sort of welcome allows everyone to be themselves, to relax and enjoy their vacation. It’s a job they do well.

The rooms are well decorated and cute, the expanded continental breakfast is delicious with a little individual touch each day and the hospitality is unparalleled.

There’s a reason Alexander’s is rated at the top of the travel listing for Key West. It’s their dedication to providing you the best experience possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Alexander's for our wedding week, and couldn't have been happier!! What a BEAUTIFUL B&B. Not only is Alexander's unbelievably clean (and smells like clean laundry 24-7), but the decor is fabulous and the staff is amazing. Everyone is so happy and nice, and they all made our stay so special. We stayed in Room 3...it was inside the main house. The room was SO cute and even though it is considered one of the smaller rooms, it was super cozy and more than enough space for 2 people. We loved the built in closets with shelves so all of our stuff was always put nicely away and the room stayed spotless all week. The pool was warm and we enjoyed night-swimming...The fresh-brewed iced tea that seemed to always be waiting for us on the kitchen counter was delicious. And what could be better than FREE happy hour from 5-6 every day??!! The location was great…we both love to walk so we walked to Duval every day, a few times a day…we felt safe and relaxed…could ask for NOTHING more!!! I would recommend staying here to anyone…we both can NOT wait to get back!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 was cozy, clean and perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Alexander's Guest House is truly and amazing place. We visit several times a year and it feels like another home to us. The entire team there treats you like family. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The guests that stay there are friendly, and respectful. It's the perfect get away.

Room Tip: I prefer the suites, but every room there is beautiful. We've stayed in 5 or 6 different rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I have been to Key West many times and this is our second stay at AGH. I would highly recommond AGH! The staff truly makes you feel at home and the service can not be beat. I can not say enough good things about AGH. We wanted a sun set cruise for 18 people and they did the rest and when the number increased to 21 they took care of that, the best. HAPPY HOUR! Did I mention Happy Hour! The rooms are very clean, nice decorated, fresh towels and the breakfast is up scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Key West! From the moment you arrive you are treated like family. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful in finding places to eat and things to do. I enjoyed the company of the other guests at Breakfast and happy hour. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Guesthouse

Property: Alexander's Guesthouse
Address: 1118 Fleming St, Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse, Key West, FL 33040-6910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander’s Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse is proudly gay –owned and operated. Our guests can enjoy complete freedom and a little peace of paradise. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West’s famous Historic District, Complimentary expanded continental breakfast served poolside and complimentary evening cocktails. Two sundecks are also available for sunbathing. Each room is uniquely decorated in a contemporary style, in addition to the basic rooms, Alexander’s offers deluxe rooms, suites and even a full apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing