We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Sure, it's not the Four Seasons, but in many ways, better.

The rooms were clean. They were in need or renovation, but, really. One doesn't go to Key West to sit in a hotel room all day.

It was small, quaint, clean and friendly. The bar was nice, the pool was nice and the restaurant was nice. I had a great, relaxing time at this hotel.

The people were wonderful. This property is not child friendly, which makes it even better.

It is located in a quieter area of Duval. Relaxing at the pool, one would never know that you are just steps from a main thoroughfare.

I do look forward to many, many returns to La Te Da.

  • Liked — The relaxed feel, the friendly staff, just about everything
  • Disliked — The room really was in need of updating.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ckdjr60301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    147
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
27
301
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We staid at the La Te Da after we had read all these other reviews on Tripadvisor and after we had heard about it from friends, but after having been there in person, we were disappointed. We had a superior room, which was one of the best rooms in the entire hotel. The room was equipped with a swamp cooler that barely lowered the temperature in the room. The bathrooms are out of date and needed a remodelling already 20 years ago.

The pool is dirty and needs repairs, and so do other public areas of the hotel. The staff wear dirty pants and shirts.

The rate came with a breakfast included, but the breakfast is not prepared very lovingly. Eggs and toast are served diner-style, and there is no menu to purchase additional items.

Summary: too expensive for what is on offer, seems run-down. We will not go back there, which is sad.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We have made a "trek" to Key West at least once a year since 1985. For a long time, we thought a water-front stay was a must, but we got to know La-Te-Da initially through stops along Duval for dinner or a bar visit. When a wait staff member told us the owners felt that the hotel's policy was guests were to be comfortable, whether they were there to write a book, just relax, eat and drink, tan on the "optional" deck, get a feel for old Key West, etc., well, that's what they are there for! And it's true, we wouldn't be happy anywhere else. And cheers! to bartender Mark!

  • Liked — Rooms, location, ambiance, food, landscaping, bar & especially attitude and staff, too
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

We really enjoyed the La Te Da. It is definitely for adults only. We took full advantage of the 24 hour pool. Our room was nothing special, but in Key West, you don't spend your time in your room! The restaurant was very good as well. The staff was very friendly!

  • Liked — Pool and it was private....
  • Disliked — Rooms were ok, parking is tough!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jesinjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We (two women) stayed two nights Jan 24 and 25 2007. Had a room with two queen beds just off the dining area. Bathroom was huge, shower only, great for wheelchair access or limited mobility if needed. Only complaint was that the AC had to work really hard to keep the room relatively cool. Staff was wonderful, breakfast was included and was delicious; went to the show upstairs in the cabaret one night and then had dinner and enjoyed both. More like a B&B, no children allowed, old world charm. Not for anyone who wants a cookie cutter Hilton room in a highrise. Romantic dining, fun in the bar at night, walked 2 minutes to the Old Town Trolley for our tour around Key West. Easy to find a spot off street for parking and never moved the car for two days. Good choice.

  • Liked — Old world charm and friendly staff
  • Disliked — AC struggled
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the La Te Da Hotel in Key West in mid-January. I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. From the excellent breakfast to the comfortable bed this place is phenomenal. From the moment we stepped foot on the property the staff was more than accomodating. Everyone was friendly and continually asked what we had did and if we needed any help with finding something else to do. This hotel is well worth the price. I will stay at this hotel the next time I am in Key West.

  • Liked — Friendly Fun Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank channell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I just got back from one of the best vacations I have ever had and a major part of why it was so wonderful was because of our stay at the La Te Da Hotel. Our stay was over the weekend of the 12th through the 15th of Janruary of 2007.

I decided to book this hotel after reading some of the reviews both on here and on the hotel's web site and then after talking to one of the night managers and hearing professionalism and warmth in his voice instantly, it was a no brainer to choose this place. The website also has a very cool video presentation that showcased the property and everything on the video was true to life the minute we jumped out of the car and walked up Duval and into the hotel to check in.

I cant begin to tell you how this hotel affected our vacation down there. We originally had booked for two nights (a friday and saturday) and decided to stay through sunday instead of driving back to Miami.
The hotel has 15 rooms and though we only stayed in one and our friend in another...if all the rooms were half as nice as ours...I cant imagine anyone not having as wonderful a time as we did.

The hotel manager (Danial) was nothing short of amazing in his friendliness and hospitality and in his professionalism.
He was always willing to help us with whatever we might have needed (and I am told I am very high maintance to begin so I am sure i was not the easiest guest to take care of) and without missing a beat. That kind of experience went on with the entire staff from beginning to end.

The hotel also has a wonderful little restaurant that sits open air overlooking the pool and the many porches and terraces that make up the complex. The tables are dressed in white linen and nice china and stemware and there is a centerpiece of fresh pink roses in glass vases on each table. It is a true courtyard enviroment and the restaurant lends itself to an "old world bistro" type feel that is so authentic and relaxing that one could sit there for hours.

There is a bar, which is also open air and is situated right next to the street and flows into the restaurant. It has caberet tables as well as a few stools for those who want to sit at the bar. There is also an indoor lounge with a piano that gets some decent traffic at night.

The restaurant staff (Jimmie, our server all three mornings and Juan the service assistant in particular) was all top notch and gave us the most personalised and efficient service I have ever recieved anywhere ever, and 500 % more than we had recieved during our whole time in Florida. The breakfasts, which were included with the stay,(the hotel gives you a voucher every morning with different selections to choose from) were very tasty and filling (a french toast to die for on one day and eggs and bacon with toast on the others) and included coffee and juice and everything was perfectly prepared each time.

I needed coffee to take up to our room on both mornings before coming down to breakfast, and our favorite server Jimmie set up a tray with cups and coffee and cream on the spot...I was wowed to say the least. I wanted to take her back home to work for me in my restaurant.

We didn't eat dinner there but during our stay I noticed many people dining and I talked to one lady and she commented on how tasty everything was. The menu seemed to offer a little bit of everything. I had the pleasure of meeting the chef one morning and I complimented her on her food and professional craftmanship with the menu.

The bartenders were always friendly and always had a story or two to tell, along with the best bloody marys in town and were always right on the ball. One in particular, Jason, was a "quintesential armchair psycitarist" and always had his ear ready to be bent by anyone wanting to unload their problems on him....which it seemed a few did.

While we didnt get a chance to take in any of the caberet shows while we were there, I did notice quite a few people coming in off the street for the classy entertainment eminating from the lounge. The voices of the singer and the guy on the piano accompyning her made for a very "drawn in" experience...you could see the people walking in off the street just because of the vibe that was being heard just inside the hotel.

During our stay we frequently commented on how nice it was to be on Duval street which is where all the shops and the nightlife are. The hotel is located is towards the southernmost end, which is a bit away from all the traffic and most of the shops and that made it peacefull and quiet but at the same time a very easy walk to all the shopping, food and nightlife. It was almost as if the hotel was a little hideaway from the rest of the hustle and bustle of that famous street.

The hotel is also only a few blocks from some very nice beaches and beachside pools that are parts of other complexes at the end of Duval street. At most of those resorts, one can rent a chair on the beach or by the hotel for $6.00 a day. A few have clothing optional areas if one if up for that as well.

Our room was wonderful as well. Just perfect. Fresh and clean and what some would probably consider a little dated but just right. It had a true "Banana Republic feel" to it. We had a luxery room with a king size bed on the second floor towards the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool.
Two sets of french doors and windows both in the room and the bathroom brought in the perfect amount of light and being on the 2nd floor in back, just up the stairs from the pool deck made us feel both secluded and part of the action at the same time.
The bed was very comfy with an overstuffed mattress and though we didnt sleep much, we did manage to take quite a few power naps here and there. The room was nicely appointed with a big closet and dresser and tv with mutliple selections available. The bathroom had a nice size jacuzzi, which doubles as the shower (with floor to ceiling mirrors on the wall of the tub) and a decent sized dressing area by the sink.
We also had a resident cat named Henry who snoozed on the porch in front of our room or on one of the wicker chairs just in front of the other room that shared our porch....and that alone was an at home feeling one doesnt get a chance to experience that often.

The (clothing optional) sundeck on the roof was a perfect place for a lazy morning of sun and reading and so private but yet open. You can see all the way to the southernmost point of the island from the roof and watch people coming and going up and down Duval street at all hours of the day. I could have spent an entire month of sunny days up there.

Everyone remembered our names from the get go and that alone made us feel so welcome and at home that we didn't want to leave (sort of like the old Cheer's song...where everyone knows your name) and talked about our stay the entire trip back from the Keys to Wisconsin. We will surly stay at the La Te Da again when down in Key West and will reccomend it to our friends and others without the least bit of hesitation.
If anyone wants to experience the true feeling of what Key West used to be and still should be then they should spend a few days at the La Te Da.

These folks know how to do hospitality right. And that is a rather hard thing to find these days.

A very satisfied guest from Racine Wisconsin

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
20 Thank jrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Te Da Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LaTeDa offers 15 guestrooms in a vibrant Key West style atmosphere. The whole property has been recently renovated by new owners. LaTeDa Features - A full cooked to order is complementary for all hotel guests. - Nightly piano Bar with live entertainment - Cabaret theater - Terrace bar with Duval St view. Note: LaTeDa does not offer any clothing optional areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing