We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a La Te Da time”
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Had a La Te Da time”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

This was a very nice hotel. Stayed with my wife on our first time to Key West. Room was plesant and clean. The hotel is located on the south end of Duval St. and walking is a must if you want to hit the action. The nice part is that when you want to leave the action you are still on Duvall street. We loved the room except for no coffee maker and windows are old and cracked. The breakfast that is included in room price is top notch as is all their food and drinks, We will stay again, great staff, great atmosphere. Thanks for the memories. Peace

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigceiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    147
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
27
301
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This is a cute and unique small hotel and the friendly staff really sets them apart. The rooms are somewhat basic but comfortable, the pool is heated, the complementary breakfast generous and the cabaret show is wonderful! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

stayed at LaTeDa for a vacation in July, service was excellent, staff was very friendly, great breakfast included with room, would recommend restaurant, place has lots of character and is located on the south side of Duval Street, not as noisy as the north side, had fun at the Cabaret, rooms need some TLC, bldg. is over 100 years old so we didn't expect an immaculate room but furniture was old and headboard was crumbling, beware if you are a nonsmoker - all rooms are smoking and cigar smoking is big here, room did not smell, but cigar and cigarette smoking is big at pool and bar area

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimeyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had a great time in this hotel. Came in late at night, had a great welcome from Mark, the bartender, who helped us to our room, but first we got a welcome drink from the house!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at LaTeDa June 27th-June 29th and had a great time!
Booked through Travelocity and when we arrived, were upgraded to a luxury room (#28) on the 2nd floor.
Room was very nice & hugh! A/C worked fine, but did run constantly.
Service from check in to check out was excellent! Much better than we are accustomed to in south Florida.
Breakfast was very good and again, the service, excellent!
Pool was smaller than it appears on the website, but refreshing!
Would not hesitate to stay here again!
Had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncleroyhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My recommendation to any review reader is to take into account when the reviewer stayed at La Te Da. We stayed from Memorial Day (May 25th) through May 29th. This is the quiet season in Key West. There were only about 4 to 5 other couples staying at the house with us.

Room
We stayed in Room 27, which faces out to the pool on the first floor. It is nicely furnished and the room was clean. If you are one to look at details (like I am), there are things that need upkeep. For example, there was a gap at the top of our room door. And with the mosquitoes all around Key West, you don’t want to give them access to your room. The room could use a paint job.

Pool
One of the previous reviews were dead on- there is cat hair ALL OVER the pool lounge chairs. There are two cats that live at the guesthouse and meander about the pool, restaurant and kitchen areas. If you get Room 27, you have two Adirondack chairs on your mini patio so you don’t have to use the lounge chairs. There is also a sundeck at the top of the house, which is clothing optional and has chairs without cat hair.

Bar & Restaurant
The room rate includes daily breakfast, which is served from 8:30am-10:30am. There are three breakfast options, and includes coffee and juice. The options are good starters for the day. We had dinner there one evening, which was very good. Portions aren’t big for the prices, but full of flavor. The bar faces Duval, so it is great for people watching. The bartenders are friendly and the bar atmosphere is fun.

Location
Like other reviewers have said, it is on the quiet end of Duval. If you are a walker (like my husband and I are), you will have no problem getting from one end of Duval to the other.

Recommendations
-Check out the Ernest Hemingway House (best house to tour in Key West).
-Check out Shipwreck Museum (for interesting Key West history).
-Go to Dante’s on Caroline Street- half price raw bar from 4-8pm.
-Go see the sunset at Top Bar (on rooftop) at the Crown Plaza on Duval.
-Make the effort to walk down to the marina- a bunch of untouched restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Stayed here for our wedding. My mom loved this place so much. She bought a shirt the day we left. The rooms are homey, and tropical.

The property is beautiful, but the pool is not very welcoming because it's right next to the restaurant. The breakfast (included with the hotel stay) is delicious. The breakfast staff is attentive.

Would stay again? Yes, because we stayed there for our wedding. Yes, even if we didn't stay there for our wedding.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brunswick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Te Da Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LaTeDa offers 15 guestrooms in a vibrant Key West style atmosphere. The whole property has been recently renovated by new owners. LaTeDa Features - A full cooked to order is complementary for all hotel guests. - Nightly piano Bar with live entertainment - Cabaret theater - Terrace bar with Duval St view. Note: LaTeDa does not offer any clothing optional areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing