We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Te Da Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Te Da Hotel
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the La Te Da Hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Some of the furnishing could be upgraded (CRT TV) and the wireless was non-existent but these are minor quibbles (who watches TV in Key West anyway). The daily breakfast was delicious. We also enjoyed the piano bar and hanging out at the bar and pool. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernsie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    141
    28
    21
    14
See reviews for
23
275
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a large group of friends (14 of us) in August. The staff was so helpful and friendly, the rooms were older (as most hotels in Key West) but were clean and good sized. I loved the orientation of the rooms, as each one had quick access to the pool which is centrally located. Each room has its own sitting area right outside the room. Complimentary breakfast at the outdoor restaurant was delicious!! Great location (on the "mile marker 0" side of Duval), and just a 15 minute walk to Mallory Square. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think upgrading to the "deluxe" room was worth it. A little bit larger and better access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planekate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here Dec 2012 with a friend. There are definitely better places and better values in Key West. The best thing is the location- the quieter end of Duval. But there is still noise right outside your room due to the bar, and people going by to their rooms. There are also lots of stairs for the upper rooms. Our room had French doors for the entrance, but the curtains were pretty see-through, I didn't like that as passers-by could see the bed. The bathroom was also odd, although remodeled recently, it felt very cold and institutional; maybe it was the lighting. Whatever, it made me uncomfortable, whereas most hotels I've stayed in (even cheaper ones) have felt much nicer. I wouldn't stay here again, other places even in worse locations would be better overall.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't have the entrance looking at the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_chgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I just love this hotel. Far from ordinary and there is just a carefree feeling entering this charming place. I have stayed in Key West many times but this place is my favorite. Delightful food. Friendly staff that went out of their way to accommodate. We came right before a Hurricane hit and had to cut our trip short. The staff allowed us to stay in our room until we were ready to depart in the storm and did not charge us for the night we did not stay. I believe most hotels would have charged. My husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The La Te Da restaurant and bar wasn't bustling like I had seen in the past during my other stays in Key West (probably because of the time of year), but that was one of the reasons I thought it would be fun to stay there. That's not really a problem since there's no lack of either restaurants or bars down there! About the hotel itself...it is an older building but was clean. What was awkward is that there are two rooms (mine being one of them) that open right into the restaurant (which is outdoor with under-cover seating). So literally you could be in your bathing suit walking right past someone's table while they're eating a nice meal. The nice thing is that the room price includes a choice of breakfast items to choose from: eggs/meat/potatoes, french toast, fruit and yogurt. It also includes juice and coffee. Really good deal. Breakfast was very good. However, during one breakfast there was a black hair in the salt (they bring that in an open container on the side), so that was the last time we ate there. We had one dinner there. Portions were generous. I thought the drinks at the bar were pricey (common down there, but really, 2 gin and tonics for $19 + tip?). Both of the drag cabaret performers were on vacation, so no shows were on the schedule. The show I saw in the past was a lot of fun, so check that out if you go to Key West. The hotel is closer to the quiet end of Duval. We walked everywhere, so we got a lot of exercise. Bring comfortable shoes if you plan on going to the other end of Duval every day. The gentleman at the hotel check-in (Eric, I think) was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't open into the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terieisenhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This little gem is a must-stay for anyone who appreciates old world charm. It's casual, breezy character provides the backdrop for relaxation, but Dave Bootle at the piano bar and the Tea Dance offered some great entertainment. My accommodations in room #32 were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel is in need of some TLC, but I loved it's charm. Thank you LJ (general mgr), Eric, Chris and Daniel (concierge) for your hospitality and generosity during my visit. It was my pleasure to meet you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel itself is average at best, nothing really to rave about. It is located on the quiet end of Duval street about 2 blocks away from the ocean and a small beach. The pool is really unusable, they should just get rid of it and use it for more restaurant seating. The employees, the bar and the food make up for the lackluster hotel. Free breakfast was really good. You only have a choice of four items listed on a card they give you. The bar is a great place to just chill out and people watch. Jason the bartender is a true professional. Look for him in the evening time. Dinner was really good also, check out the daily specials. Overall it was a nice stay, my only recommendation is that they do some remodeling to spruce up the place a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightowl1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.7 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Te Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Te Da Hotel

Property: La Te Da Hotel
Address: 1125 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Te Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Te Da Key West
Hotel La Te Da

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing