We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Charter Fishing in Key West”

High Stakes Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat yourself to a one of a kind fishing experience in Key West Florida. High Stakes Charters offers a 53' Striker Sportfishing vessel. A/C, twin engines, tournament grade tackle, 2 staterooms, 2 bathrooms, full service galley and a spacious lounge area with leather couches. High Stakes is located at Oceanside Marina which is on the south side of the island. This means we are closer to the fishing grounds allowing you more time fishing the beautiful crystal clear blue water of the Gulf Stream. Our professional crew with 35 years combined fishing experience work extremely hard to catch Blue Marlin, Sailfish, Wahoo, Mahi Mahi, Black fin Tuna, Yellowtail Snapper, Grouper, a vast variety of sharks and much, much more.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Best Charter Fishing in Key West”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chartered High Stakes based upon a recommendation from family/friends and opted for the "guaranteed" reef fishing. The boat was far more than we were expecting (to our delight). Being fair-complexioned Midwesterners we were happy to see a large galley with air-conditioning, living quarters, and plenty of shade for our ride out. We provided our own refreshments. The fishing was great with very professional, yet laid back crew.

Overall - A wonderful time with an amazing crew. We caught grouper, yellow tail snapper, barracuda, and shark. We packed a full cooler of fish and made new friends to revisit next time we are down. Well worth the money. You WILL have a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Captain/Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you guys for a great review. It was a real pleasure to have you out with us. Please please please give us a call next time you're in town we really like to get together. Please keep in touch. Hope you guys are well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Boat and Great People”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Five of us went out on August 7th with Jason and Don and were immediately impressed with their friendliness and expertise. Their boat is incredibly comfortable (and air conditioned!) for the times when bites are low and are very attentive to the endless questions of small children. The fishing was slow for everyone that morning (we were listening to the radio), but we still managed to bring home a 30 lb Mahi that they cleaned and fileted for us. A beautiful trip and a great time for first-time deep sea fisher!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bositree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner/Captain at High Stakes Charters, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you out with us. We looking forward to having you out on the High Stakes again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Deep-Sea Fishing Experience Ever!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I went out with Don and Capt. Jason today, and we had an amazing time. This outfit's dedication to their customer and to ensuring a pleasant, memorable experience is obvious from the very beginning. They were wonderful guides, extremely knowledgable and very personable. We laughed, we joked and we caught some amazing fish. We loved it so much, we booked an additional day of fishing with the guys for the last day of our vacation--something we had not originally planned. I am definitely looking toward to more time on the water with these two gentleman!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Captain/Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you Nancy and Jay for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you out with us. We looking forward to having you out on the High Stakes again. I think another dessert double date at Better than Sex us in order. I hope you guys are well. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family Fishing Trip”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family of 5 had great success fishing with High Stakes on August 1st. We caught a bunch of Mahi including 2 that were over 4 feet long and around 30 pounds. We also hooked, fought and lost a sail fish. The boat is very nice and comfortable and the crew knew exactly what they were doing. Would highly recommend High Stakes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Captain/Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you Bill for the great review. You and your son rocked it! It was our pleasure to have you out with us. We looking forward to having you out on the High Stakes again. We hope you guys are well. Please keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Highly recommend High Stakes!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had an incredible afternoon of fishing on July 26 with my two brothers and two sons. Captain Jason and Don are a great team - professional and lots of fun! We caught lots of different fish - barracuda, shark, and of course the keepers - yellowtails and a big black grouper.

The boat is so comfortable, and the equipment top of the line.

Thanks, guys, we loved our experience, and look forward to many more!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceWrapSr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Captain/Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you Bruce for the great review. It was our pleasure to have you out with us. We are looking forward to having you out on the High Stakes again. Please keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Stakes Charters also viewed

 

Been to High Stakes Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing