We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catching, not just fishing”

High Stakes Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat yourself to a one of a kind fishing experience in Key West Florida. High Stakes Charters offers a 53' Striker Sportfishing vessel. A/C, twin engines, tournament grade tackle, 2 staterooms, 2 bathrooms, full service galley and a spacious lounge area with leather couches. High Stakes is located at Oceanside Marina which is on the south side of the island. This means we are closer to the fishing grounds allowing you more time fishing the beautiful crystal clear blue water of the Gulf Stream. Our professional crew with 35 years combined fishing experience work extremely hard to catch Blue Marlin, Sailfish, Wahoo, Mahi Mahi, Black fin Tuna, Yellowtail Snapper, Grouper, a vast variety of sharks and much, much more.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

These guys are great! We had a group of 5 and for two of us it was our first time offshore fishing. We had a blast. The captain went out of his way to ensure we all caught and landed several fish each and we ended up finding a few schools of mahi. I highly recommend anyone wanting to have a good time and catch some fish to book a trip with these guys ASAP. I will be back, no doubt.

Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to spend the day with you guys. I look forward to our next adventure on the open ocean!

-High Stakes Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Captain Jason and his first mate and father Donnie rocked it out again. They found the fish early and stayed on them the entire time. We didn't catch any wall hangers this time but the fun was second to none. We caught a ton of fish and enjoyed them at dinner at the legendary Hogfish Restaurant that only locals know about and it is amazing in itself.

What you will get with High Stakes is first class boat second to none in key west. Two legends who have fished the waters for many years. You also will get to hear stories about the largest treasure find in the history of the world. The Atocha, and Donnie lived it and will share the stories.

They are great people and great to fish with. The A/C is a god send and worth the extra cash.
We had two coolers full of Mahi and stories to last a life time. Its my second trip in 8 months and already planning my next.

Do yourself a favor and book this charter. You wont regret it. Google the Atocha before you go and you will get a special treat with that. Captain Jason will find the fish. Trust me. Captain Donnie will provide the stories

Thank BRYAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to spend the day with you guys. I look forward to our next adventure on the open ocean!

-High Stakes Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the best and truthfully the only way to go deep sea fishing. Capt Jason and Don Juan were excellent in their fishing methods. Doing their absolute best at giving our group of six the best chances of getting what we were after. We signed up for the all day trip and it was worth every penny. We caught beautiful fish, the best topping about 30-35lbs Mahi Mahi, and in between the reeling-ins the air conditioned quarters was a welcomed sight. If you ever thought about going out into the deep blue, these two gentleman are the ones you want out there with you. From their combine years of experience to the way they help you keep the line in check, Jason and Don are the best in the business. We will be doing this again!!

Thank 7Marlin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to spend the day with you guys. I look forward to our next adventure on the open ocean!

-High Stakes Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Capt Jason and Mic delivered a great experience for four adults on the high seas. The comfortable boat interior was appreciated, especially during rough seas in the morning. Jason was tireless in his effort to seek out spots where the fish would bite. We caught a dolphin family, the bull and cow each weighing 25+ lbs. Great eatin'! Once a fish was on the line, the crew really helped motivate and encourage our fight to reel in our catch. During down times, it was great to chat up the guys on their knowledge of fishing and the keys. Truly felt like hanging out with a couple friends. Absolutely recommend High Stakes Charter for your next trip. I know they'll be our first choice!

1  Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to spend the day with you guys. I look forward to our next adventure on the open ocean!

-High Stakes Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a 3/4 day and had a very nice time. Jason and Mick were great hosts, and very knowledgeable and professional. My 54 year old mother set the bar high when she caught a 20lb Mahi Mahi as our first catch of the day. We also caught a Black finn tuna and another Mahi Mahi. I did a lot of research on what company to choose and I am very satisfied that I picked High Stakes Charter!

Thank whitney r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighStakesCharters, Owner at High Stakes Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to spend the day with you guys. I look forward to our next adventure on the open ocean!

-High Stakes Charters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Stakes Charters also viewed

 

Been to High Stakes Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing