We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven”
Review of A Key Encounter - CLOSED

A Key Encounter
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife theater that features three huge screens, each showing different aspects of underwater life.
Apopka, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have been to the Key Encounter a couple times. It is truly the best thing in the Florida Keys. The presentation is wonderful. The birds are great and the white bird in the lobby can't get enough love. If you planning a trip to the Keys put this on your top of your list.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Marty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great photography”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Key West Encounter was informative and uplifting. The planetarium was also interesting. All for free and provided by a religious organization so of course the attraction has a Christian message.

Relaxing and insightful a pleasant change from the obvious decadence of much of the island

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More like a Jesus Encounter”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Sham intended to get people to view their evangelical nonsense: ridiculous that they can pretend to be a nature center!

Helpful?
5 Thank sassy_savvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful photography with a message: this exhibit is free and well worth a visit.”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a peaceful place to visit in busy Key West. The three screen presentation is beautiful and speaks gracefully of creation of various creatures. The volunteers are fun and friendly, the parrots are beautiful, and the handouts are thoughtful and uplifting.

Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FUN CRUISE PORT”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Girlfriends Cruise included Key West as first port stop. Walked from the ship to Duval Street for lunch at Jimmy Buffet's Original Margaritaville, Cheeseburger In Paradise with Margaritas, the best ever! Walked on to the Southern Most Point for photo, which was a little crowded, but managed to take a few pictures. We then proceeded to The Ernest Hemmingway Home for a great tour. If we had it to do over, we would take one of the trolley tours that feature the hop on hop off service to get a better overview of the town and the places we would like to have visited. Overall, we really enjoyed our day in Key West!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MMD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Key Encounter also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing