We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is our 2nd time for staying at the Pegasus. Our stay was amazing. The room we chose when booking was the right choice. New mattress, newly remodeled, right by the pool and we could not hear a thing going on outside when people were out there. The parking was $10.00 per day and well worth it, because they have a camera on the parking lot as well as other places to ensure security of the hotel. The stairs are steep, but have grip tape on them, so no problems and I am pretty clumsy on stairs. The elevator was broken while we were there, but they were working on it in a timely manner and it just gave us an excuse to do our exercise while on vacation by using the stairs. :) My husband and I enjoy the peaceful nights watching the street of Duval from the upper deck, however, the cushions for the chairs were not out the whole 4 days or nights of our stay (except for the ones right up to the bar). They kept the cushions locked up in a deck box for the rest of the chairs, wasn't quite sure about why they have them and not let us use them. But we will stay here again. This was our second visit to the Pegasus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pyratzwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review, and for you understanding about the elevator maintenance. I apologize for any inconvenience, but it sounds like you made the best out of the situation! It sounds like you and your husband had a nice relaxing time people watching and enjoying some deck time. I'm a little surprised to hear the cushions weren't out for you, but we are always happy to make you more comfortable, so please just mention your concerns to one of our staff. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Key West!

Sincerely,

Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 735 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

the best thing about the Pegasus is the location
and I thought our room was of a reasonable size
parking $10.00 per day was cheap but you do have to park
on the next street but it was reasonably secure
roof top bar going through some repairs but barman not very informative or chatty
well one thing I and my wife can say is we enjoyed our 1 night stay and we would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willow59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

It's wonderful to see that our location could make for such a great trip! So glad you and your wife got a chance to stay with us, and we hope it won't be too long before you're back in our neck of the woods.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I will say this is about the only place you can stay for just 1 night with kids in Key West. It's cute, boutique and clean. Checking in was easy. Stairs are super, super steep. Don't try them too drunk. Elevator takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r. Location on Duval is perfect! Walgreens, pizza and Starbucks very close.

Room was on the smaller size, but not unbearable. We had 2 double beds. There were 4 of us, 2 were under 18. The bed was hard as a rock. I know some people like.. but we didn't. They also were covered in pillows. I am not kidding.. Like 8 pillows each bed. With a smaller room, we had to stash the "fru-fru" pillows under the bed! Our room was right near the sun deck, but never noisy from people or music.

The pool area was small, but nice. The sun deck was great. Music was playing, but not too loud that you can't hear yourself think.

Every time we walked past the front desk, the receptionist was on her cell phone. She just wasn't friendly.

The breakfast area was tight and small. Breads, juice and 3 cereals to choose from. Fantastic coffee though! But at 9:24am on Sunday, they were shutting everything but the coffee down.


We were leaving on the Key West Express and requested to leave our bags with the hotel until departure time. I asked if they would be secure, and they said yes. However, they were left all day in the breakfast area, unsecured.

We probably won't stay here again... but the price was reasonable and we could only stay 1 night and this is the only place we found to do that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kc7294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

We're so glad to hear you and the kids had a great stay with us! However, we're sorry to hear you thought the bed was uncomfortable -- that's not a complaint we've heard before, so we apologize if it put a damper on your stay. That said, it's great to see that our location and accommodations could make for such a fun family trip, and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in the area.

All the best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We paid 169$ for night with parking! and was worth it because of the great location. The hotel is located on southard st which is practically on Duval st, close to Walgreens and a really nice coffee shop.
The room could have been cleaner, but thats the only minus for my opinion.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Reut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

There's nothing more important to us than making sure you feel welcomed and comfortable. I'm sorry to hear that your room could have been cleaner, Reut. Don't hesitate to let us know if there's ever an issue -- we'd be happy to send a team member up!

That said, it sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Key West, which is great. I hope to see you next time you're in town!

Best,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The location on the corner of Duval and Southard can't be beat. However, the great location makes checking in a royal pain. The hotel parking lot at $10.00/night for guests only may be the best bargain in town. Drop off luggage, park in the lot and then check-in.

Our party of five, 2 adults and 3 teens, we're very comfortable and not cramped at all in Suite 2. The room, bathroom and shower are the biggest I've seen in the Keys.

Room Tip: May sleep a little better in a room that doesn't face Duval.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

It sounds like you and your family had a great vacation, Mary! Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Key West. The next time you visit, don't hesitate to request a room off the street -- we'd be happy to take care of that. Hope to see you soon!

Take care,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Pegasus Hotel. The location is perfect if you want to be close to Duval. We couldn't hear the noise from our room but we were right on it. They have a great upper deck with seating, bar and pool. We were able to sit and watch the people on the street below. The rooms were updated, clean but small and had a strange layout. The refrigerator was a great thing to have. Overall we were very pleased with our long weekend stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

It is wonderful to hear you had such a lovely weekend in Key West! We're sorry that the layout came across as strange, but it's fantastic that you thought the rooms to be quiet and were able to take advantage of that refrigerator. We hope that if you're ever in the area, you choose to stay with us again. It'd be our pleasure.

Best wishes,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Well-worth the money we money. It was a great location in Key West. The staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs. The room was very clean, comfortable, and we truly felt like comfortable in this hotel. If I ever go back to Key West, this is the place I'll be staying at.


  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelson l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Manager at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2014

Helpful staff and comfortable room? Sounds like we're doing something right! Thank you for the vote of confidence, Nelson. Don't be a stranger!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $197 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing