We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location & helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal location & helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The Pegasus International Hotel is in a convenient location on the main st only a short & interesting walk from the must see Mallory Sq sunset. Rooms are clean & adequate. Pool area is small but suits your needs for chillin out in the water or round the bar and also has a balcony area for doing a spot of people watching. All the night life in Key West is only a short walk away with lots to see & do. A nice continental breakfast is also available.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Yes, you can't miss those sunsets! We're so glad that you loved your stay. Thanks for making us a part of your trip, and please keep us in mind next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    216
    104
    38
    47
See reviews for
84
327
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

very nice, continental breakfast could have a better selection, sugary cereal same flavor muffins and bagels everyday.. overall very nice. staff very accommodating. Very convenient location to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debiannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for making us a part of your trip! We'd love to have you back next time you're in Key West, but until then, we'll keep your suggestions in mind!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Key West is the last place in the USA end of the road but if you venture down to the keys for a good time and be close to the action then the Pegasus Hotel is where you should stay.... Mis way down Duval and Southard streets it is the perfect location
Now the rooms are quite large but old but clean and tidy and beds are good. There is a lift as this building has 3 floors , there is a pool and a sun deck for that afternoon drink before heading out
Parking can be bought on on booking your rooms parking is just down the street 300 ft away easy
Rickshaws are in the street for your return later that night. For me I will definitely stay here again and so should you.

Room Tip: Select a room at the back as front rooms can a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nutcracker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
That last sentence says it all! Thanks for making us your go-to spot here in Key West. We can't wait to have you back for more, and we'll have a cocktail waiting for you!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a great time in Key West. Vacations always start when you check into your hotel. This hotel is being updated. Our rooms were just finished. Rooms 309 and 310. Carpet had been removed and faux hardwood floors were installed. Perfect for Florida because of the humidity. LED televisions in the rooms and remote control A/C as well. Mini fridges were great addition for cold drinks for the end of the day. The staff was always around and willing to help out in any way. Breakfast was nice for a start. Anyone working there lived around there and pointed us to the greatest restaurants in the area even some off the beaten path. There is a lounge on the second floor by the pool that was open in the evenings serving beer an wine and tappas. Pool and whirlpool looked clean but did not get in. There is a Walgreens in the same block that was convenient. The hotel is smack dab in the middle of the action on Duvall. I will stay three on the next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
You're too kind, Greg! It was a pleasure to host your trip, and to read your kind words. Thanks, and please come back and see us next year—or sooner!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Pegasus International Hotel for 7 of the 8 years we have attended Fantasy Fest. You are in the middle of all of the action of Duval and several of the rooms have great views of all the crazies on the street. The pool and deck area are great. The staff is always pleasant and willing to help. We even ship items ahead of time which they hold until our arrival. We look forward to returning in 2014 for another fun=filled time in Key West and Pegasus

Room Tip: We have stayed in Room 301 which overlooks the pool and Duval and 210 which overlooks Southard with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We really are right in the middle of all the action! Glad to hear that you and your husband have always felt at home with us, Linda. We can't wait to have you back again next year, but until then, let us know what we can do to make your next visit even better!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is an old hotel owned I’m told by the same owner for a long time. While significant improvement efforts have been made, it remains a budget property with cheap rates by Key West standards. For 2 people, we paid $134 + tax per night Sunday thru Wednesday nights for an Executive Suite, really just a larger room with 2 double beds, 3 pieces of other bedroom furniture, a futon, a wobbly table with 2 worn chairs, a microwave, a small fridge, a big screen tv but no guide access (a major inconvenience), several old lamps, dated window blinds, a small closet with no door and a renovated bathroom with large shower but no tub or vanity space. And there was not a kitchenette as was advertised when the room was booked. We were not impressed. The hotel is very well located in the heart of Key West. Off street parking is only $10 + tax per night, a big plus. The bed linens were very nice and the bed and pillows quite comfortable. The towels were good. The hotel consists of a main building and 3 or 4 adjoining buildings with only the lobby and rented out retail on street level. Additional rooms, a pool and a pleasant, large deck area with lots of furniture have been constructed on top off the added buildings. Getting to our room involved walking along a catwalk, down 2 steps, carefully manoeuvring along the narrow pool ribbon and down another 2 steps. The room had security card access but the room door was only 2 feet wide. Very odd. Did feel safe at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. If one can also overlook the other issues such as clean if one does not look too close, hot water that takes a while to arrive, low water pressure, taps and light switches that are wrongly installed, loose wall plugs, a wall unit air conditioner that is noisy, internet that cut off and had to be reset by hotel staff several times per day (a repair person was called in on our last day), very dated decor, an unheated pool and a free but very minimalist breakfast, then this hotel can be a choice worth considering.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westgateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback. After reviewing your comments, it's clear that there are indeed some areas in need of improvement, but we know that your words will only help us improve. Hopefully your next stay is worthy of the five stars you deserve!

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've stayed at the Pegasus for several years now and the staff remembers me and they are so friendly and helpful. Quiet, clean rooms appeal to us as the location is wonderful. Svetlana and Sandee are very nice and informative. Will certainly stay and this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Svetlana and Sandee will be delighted to read your kind words! Thanks for leaving them, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even better!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Property: Pegasus International Hotel
Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing