We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep smart sleep the Pegasus!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sleep smart sleep the Pegasus!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not only do they give u parking at a tiny fee ur entire stay but the rooms are great, theres a bar by the pool and ur in the middle of Duval street so u can party up in walking distance. The staff is super friendly and they sell beer at the hotel desk. They are all ready and eager to help you find the activities you desire and even give you coupons for certain attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miche'le F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Great tip, Miche'le—we do have beer for sale at the front desk! It sounds like you had a fabulous time in Key West, and it was lovely to be a part of it. Thanks, and come back and see us next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    216
    105
    38
    47
See reviews for
84
328
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I read alot of reviews and finally settled on the hotel with reservations about the trip. When I made the reservation and when we arrived the front desk person Karina (spelling) was fantastic! accomodating and nice.
The room was overlooking Duval and the street was quiet(er) as it was not Spring Break. The hotel also has a balcony overlooking Duval where we sat one evening and people watched.
The parking lot is secure and has plenty of space, it is about 1 block away.
OK the rooms and the hotel are old but they are clean and our room was maintained. The bed does leave something to be desired as it was a little lumpy but overall I didn't feel that would stop me in the future from reserving again. We did not get up in time to visit the continental breakfast that many reviews slammed but there is a great coffee shop next door. the AC worked fine and that was important as we visited in August and it was extemely hot outside.
The pool is cute and has alot of deck seating for sunbathing or just sitting and reading. the deck was immaculate and welcoming.
Overall I would recommed this hotel for location and parking.

Room Tip: The end rooms overlooking Duval have extra windows for views but you may get street noise, But that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Yes, it's pretty hot out there! We're delighted that you felt comfortable in your room, and that you loved our location, too. Thanks, Debbie! We'd love to welcome you back next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The front desk person was not friendly and her attitude set the tone for our stay.

The pool was okay because it was empty. It was smaller than most backyard pools so it would've been awkward with more than two people. And the rooftop is pretty junky in general.

We picked this place because we wanted to be in the middle of everything, I didn't want to stay at a chain hotel, and all of the B&Bs we liked were booked. The location was very convenient and the rooms were fine, but I wouldn't call it nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We wish that we had been able to show you the five star experience you deserved. It's really disappointing that our clerk's tone made you feel uncomfortable, but rest assured that we will certainly discuss this with the whole team later, as well as your additional comments. Thank you, and we hope you'll give us another chance to wow you next time you're in Key West.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location, Location, Location. Great Location. Walk to everywhere! EZ! Stayed in July 2013, four nights. All were friendly. Had coffee and breakfast right next door. Nice little pool! If you're spending a lot of time in your room, your in Key West for the wrong reason! LOL! Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: the room was amazingly quiet.........of course, after a day and night on Duvall, you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
With all the fun of Duval Street and the gorgeous ocean just steps away, it's hard to beat our location! It sounds like you had a lovely time here in Key West, and we're thrilled to have been a part of it. Thanks, Hank, and come back and see us next time you're in Key West!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of Duval Street, so right in the heart of Key West. I have slightly mixed feelings though. I think the hotel was great value for money, however, I thought the beds were a bit tired. We had two rooms, and one had a big cockroach in it. My room was spotless, but the a/c units are pretty loud. The complimentary breakfast is pretty spartan, but it is totally fine for what it is. Wi-Fi is also free. I really loved having a late-evening swim and jacuzzi though. The pool and deck are pretty small, but great for a dip after a really hot day. The bar, deck furniture, and decoration were all very nice, especially the lighting in and around the pool. I'm not sure about the "Indian tapas" menu. Maybe a bit too ambitious. For a night or two in Key West, despite the downsides, I think the Pegasus is a winner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Although we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay, we wish that we had been able to offer you a five-star experience, Andrew. We do everything in our power to prevent pest issues, and we will certainly discuss your findings with our maintenance team. We'll keep your comments in mind as we move forward, and we hope to have another chance to wow you next time you need a little sunshine!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As soon as we got to the hotel we were checked in by the less than friendly front desk manager. I think she was the manage, but first impression was that she was rude and she didn't make us feel welcome at all! This kind of put a damper on how we felt each time we returned to the hotel. The rooms were a good size and the location was great! There weren't many people staying there at all so the pool and bar was mostly empty! Apart from the boring hotel, and rude staff, key west was great!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We want our guests to feel welcome and well cared for at every turn, so it's upsetting that we fell short. First impressions are the most important, and as such it's totally understandable that our front desk team's attitude made you uncomfortable. We apologize, and we know that we can do better. Thanks for your candor, Karen.

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, however the hotel itself was average. The room was fine, nothing special. The air conditioning made a very loud and annoying noise when it was on and therefore had to turn it off to sleep, which isn't ideal in the July heat! Breakfast consisted of toast, jam, coffee and orange juice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
While we appreciate your rating, we wish that we had been able to show you a five-star experience, Nadia. We apologize for the noise of your AC, and we'll certainly look into it, as well as improvements for our complimentary breakfast. Thanks for your candor. We hope to have another chance to wow you.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Property: Pegasus International Hotel
Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing