We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay on Duval” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #47 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great stay on Duval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were in Key West for 5 nights, have tried all areas of the island...hotels by airport, b & b's, first stay at Pegasus. Will look no further in the future. It is right in the middle of Duval, rooftop pool is enough to cool off, jacuzzi is just right for the poolside bar in the evening. Bed was very comfortable, room size (1Q) was sufficient. Pillows make or break my night of sleep, and they were great. Little fridge & microwave, perfect for late night leftovers. We were on 3rd floor room, corner Duval & pool deck-only one night experienced noise. Pool bartender was very friendly & works the entire hotel-tip him big! Walgreens next door, keep your own beer cold in your room & have a few before you go out at night! I agree with other reviews there was no where in bathroom to put your personal items, but oh well. The front desk staff-not so friendly...but again, oh well. This is not a luxury hotel, but for sure you will want to stay when checking out the island by foot, can't get any better. Will definitely stay here again, price was right, location perfect.

Room Tip: Room #301, corner of rooftop pool & Duval, Queen. Good view of what's going on outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Great price, great location, great stay! It was our pleasure to host your stay in Key West, and to read your description of your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words! We look forward to your next visit. :)

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    215
    101
    34
    42
See reviews for
78
321
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good - located right on Duvall St, hotel parking one block away, friendly staff, decent continental buffet included, big rooms with fridge, clean bathroom with big shower, great roof terrace with bar and swimming pool.

Bad - the bedspreads!!! Straight out of the 80's I'm sure.

So basically this is a great hotel, great price, great location. Don't listen to the whingers on here :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, Nicky! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, even if you were a bit confused by our bedspreads. We always thought they gave a beach-y feel to our rooms, but we'll definitely keep your thoughts in mind as we move forward. :) That said, we'd love to welcome you back again soon! Until then, thanks for the stellar review.

Cheers,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
410 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Fairly bland, functional hotel, reasonable room size with comfortable bed although small bathroom with shower stall only. Right on the corner of Duval Street which is THE rowdy street in Key West so expect some noise. Basic continental breakfast included in room rate taken in the smallest, cramped breakfast area ever. Hotel does have a nice compact pool area with a bar though. Was bit irritated that the parking fee of $10 only covered us from check in at 3pm until check out (by 11) the next morning and we had to pay another $10 to stay for the rest of the day, despite the fact we'd booked two rooms. Didn't think the rate charged justifies what is a fairly basic hotel but all accommodation in Key West is really expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back so you are protected from some of the noise from Duval Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, Jasmine. After reviewing your comments, it appears that your experience was a bit mixed. We wish that your time with us had yielded a better impression, but we will certainly take your comments regarding our parking fees and breakfast area into consideration as we move forward. Thank you for leaving such detailed feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time you're looking to get away.

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Location is great if you want to be where the action is. However, the beds are so horrible that I would never recommend staying here. I can't imagine how old or cheap the mattresses must be. Worse than a sofa bed.
To be fair, staff was very nice, but really, really bad beds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Yes, our location can't be beat! However, we're surprised to hear that you found your bed to be this uncomfortable. That's not a complaint that we receive often, so we will be happy to look into this further. That said, we would have been happy to move you to a different room—don't hesitate to ask! Still, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to show you a 5-star experience next time you visit Key West.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

What we liked: Location is simply perfect, close to everything important (Duval street - the most busy street in the town, Zachary fort - the most beautiful beach, sunset square, shops, restaurants etc.). Room was small, but nice and clean. Parking was for 10 USD per night, wifi was for free (good connection).
What we didn´t like: We couldn´t open the window so we missed fresh air. Breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Petra182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Yes, Zachary fort is a beautiful beach! We're so glad that we're just minutes away from the waves. It sounds like you had a lovely stay, Petra. Thank you for leaving such kind words, and for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast—we'll see what we can do to introduce a bit more variety. Once again, thank you for the fabulous review. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're looking to soak up the sun!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had a really good time with the Pegasus as our home base. The owners really are vested into keeping this place up. We had a great time at the bar; Gary took care of our every need when we stopped by the bar. We hung out at the hot tub a couple of nights - they cleaned the pool and hot tub every day. This is a very reasonable place to stay; while not having all the bells and whistles of the higher end properties, we experienced comfort and rest at a reasonable price. What more could you ask for?! The only change I would make was requesting a room with a mattress topper - our mattress was so firm as to make my hands numb sleeping on it overnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OHVirginiaNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We're so glad that you were able to unwind in the hot tub after long days at the beach. We'll definitely keep your suggestion about the mattresses in mind—but don't hesitate to ask for a different room next time! :) We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel offers a good value for money with great location and comfy, clean rooms. The staff was very helpful and parking on hotel's lot was reasonably priced. Complimentary breakfast was scarce as usually, but was enough to start the day for me. The rooftop pool area is an outstanding place to enjoy the hot Florida sun. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay close to the Duval street and all its attractions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Between our pool, our location and our friendly staff, there's no better place to spend a Key West getaway! We're so happy to hear from you, Heikki—thank you for taking the time to share your words of praise. We look forward to your next visit!

All the best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Property: Pegasus International Hotel
Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing